We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the wrong side of Taipei”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel Taipei
Ranked #91 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great hotel and amenities likewise 5* accommodation. Kind of far to main tourist and shopping area but for the price you paid I will give A recommendation for this facility. All greeting and check in agents are very helpful and professional.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Planetluxury,

Warm greetings from The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking your precious time to share your comments. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated. We are continuously striving to meet and exceed our guests’ expectations. Also your feedback is definitely motivated us to improve.

We are really pleased to know that you have enjoyed your comfortable stay and most of all have met your satisfaction. In the future, please let us know that if you may need any transportation to assist you travel, I believed our concierge staff would always welcome to service you. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel. Have a nice one!

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed for 3 nights in December at Ambassador, most of the hotel stuffs are very polite, attentive and able to converse in English, Chinese and Japanese very well. I been upgrade to the executive floor, which the room been newly renovated and I do enjoy the stay here with clean and neat room in design.

The hardware: The room size is relatively small for a 5 star hotel, however the materials, amenity provided are in good quality modern design and nice. My room are located on side of the hotel with no external window view, which is depressing.

The software: The hotel overall service level are high and good, when I asked for a direction to a restaurant the stuff will take an effort to print out a few pages of Google map direction to me and every step are taken to ensure I reach there on time.

The location: The main activity of Taipei city in term of leisure, shopping, hip new restaurant and bar are now mostly located at East side of the city, so I found myself been travelling on taxi in a couple of occasion in a day toward the East part of the city. Perhaps should stay at East section in next trip to Taipei?

Room Tip: ask for room with external window view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yoong w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Yoong W,

Warmest greetings from Taipei. Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated.

I am glad that both hardware and software of The Ambassador Hotel Taipei are fulfilled your satisfactions. Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here a few nights in December. The facilities are nice and the exec rooms look like they have been updated recently.

Only real complaint is the hardness of the bed. Like most Chinese hotel chains the beds are too hard for my liking and leads to a poor sleep for me.

Breakfast is included and is good but geared more towards the Chinese Diet.

Other than that the staff are great and he location is good too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank BD700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear BD700,

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated.

Regarding the bed issue, please let me suggest that may ask housekeeping to assist you to add extra blanket or foams on your bed, in order to make you have a good sleep if possible. I am very happy to know you like our executive floor very much and really enjoyed your stay in The Ambassador Hotel Taipei. I will share this comments to colleague and it will encourage them very much.

Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Not widely advertised, but this is pretty much a Japanese businessman's hotel. We stayed on the exec floor and the staff there told us about 80% of their guests are Japanese. So, if you have stayed at local upmarket chains in Japan, you will know exactly what to expect: spotless, minimalist rooms, zany robotic toilets, everything a little small, everybody exceptionally polite, zero actual service, great location.

Western buffet breakfast in the lobby or exec lounge was fairly awful - to be expected of course - but the Japanese bits were indeed nice. Good Japanese congee. Reasonable croissants and coffee. Lots of rules and do's and dont's, of course. "Happy Hour" is from 5:30 to 7 in the lounge, and don't for the life of you expect it to be even a minute earlier or later. Ditto breakfast. "Finished at 10:30" means exactly that. On. the. dot.

Staff could not field even basic requests in English, but chatted amiably to Japanese guests in accomplished Japanese. Horses for courses, natch.

Wasn't disappointed per se, but also was not expecting to be staying in a Japanese chain hotel in Taiwan. Problem is for most travelers that Taipei isn't very English-friendly to begin with, and typically you may have stuff you need your 5-star hotel to take care of for you in a foreign country - which is after all why you pay the $ for 5-star hotel service - and these guys just aren't gonna do it. Provided you don't need any service, it's great, but then again for the same price you could stay in in the Westin or Hilton or whatever and actually get the full package that a western guest may need.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank HKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear HKguy,

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous comments and suggestion are highly appreciated and it is important to us. I will share this comments to colleague and it will encourage them very much.

Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I'm going to check in tomorrow and stay for 5 days. The reservation was made based in the reviews here and needless to say I have great expectations.
If everything pans out plan is to make this the default for everyone from our office in Boston.
Fingers crossed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mentor561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Mentor561,

Greetings from The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

Thank you so much for writing comment before you stay at the The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

We can't wait to see you and welcome you as the Ambassador.
May you have a wonderful trip and have a safe flight.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. This is a large international style 4.5~5 star 416 room hotel on Chung Shan North Rd, Zhongshan District.
We arrived at the airport, went down to the ground floor at arrivals and brought a ticket on the bus. This travels from Taipei airport (Taiwan Taoyuan International) to Taipei Main Station, The Ambassador Hotel is the 4th stop and the hotel is across the road. The cost is NTD125 pp one way and takes about 40-50 mins. I actually missed the Ambassador Hotel stop and had to catch a taxi (rank across road from bus stop) back to hotel (NTD 75).
There are Standard Floors (Room types - superior 27m2, pool side, premier 39m2) and Executive Floors (Room types - executive 27m2, executive premier, executive suite / business suite / deluxe suite / ambassador suite) and suites (Presidential).
We stayed in an executive room on the 11th floor with access to the executive lounge. This offers free breakfast (6-10 am), with scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, and the usual breakfast fare. There is an automatic expresso machine. (I note the Executive room is the same size as the Superior Room).
Also happy hour (5.30-7.00) pm with a small selection of free hor d'oeuvres, beers, wine and cognac. Free wi fi in all the rooms as well as the lounge, not fsst but at least it's free.
You can also help yourself to tea, coffee, selection of chips, coke, sprite, tomato juice and some fruit juices.
Check in at lounge on the 11th floor. Late check out till 4pm depending on availability. Normal check in is 3pm and check out is 12pm. Complimentary daily newspaper. Business Center is also on 11th floor.

There are 2 Chinese restaurants (Szechuan Court and Canton Court), a bistro-steak house (A-CUT), Ming Court for international buffet, ahmicafe Coffee Shop on 1st floor (6am-1am) and Aqua Lounge. There is also an a bakery / cafe shop. 1st floor is the same as Ground floor.
We only dined at the Canton Court - the food was OK nothing special.

There is a 7-eleven close by but no supermarkets (get your milk here). Starbucks is close by.
Shuanglian Subway station is about 100 metres away, The main shopping district is about 300-400 metres away,

The room was modern with a double bed and lovely soft pillows. Sony Bravia flat screen TV ( I think about 40" - with 3 English channels that I could find- CNN. BBC World and Channel NewsAsia). Geneva stereo system, in room safe. Jug but only Chinese teas. There are 2 coffee sachets (but only small tea cups). We were given 2 bottles of complimentary water each day. The most unusual thing is the bathroom. This is open to the rest of the room but can be closed with 2 sliding doors (makes the room appear spacious). A very nice large square white ceramic hand basin, good sized tub with good shower over the bath. I think quite a few Japanese stay here as there is a Toto toilet-bidet with all the bells and whistles. Evening turn down service. Nice touch was the welcoming free fruit platter.There is an outdoor pool, small gym with a couple of treadmills on 4F.
I caught a taxi from hotel to airport (NTD1200). The hotel shuttle is NTD1890.

What to do in Taipei - I did an Amazing Race type challenge and visited 4 sites in 1 day - The National Palace Museum to see the art treasures from China (catch a taxi - about NTD 300), Taipei 101 (shopping and super tall tower), National Chang Kai Shek Cultural Centre (check out the guards) and Shilin Night Market (try the Fried Milk balls). The last 3 can be reached easily by the efficient MRT.

Pros: interesting food, a cross between mainland China and Japan. The people are very friendly.
Cons: Can I get a proper sized tea cup and some milk please !!

Room Tip: Go for the Executive floors if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mirroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Mirroden,

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. Your generous and kind compliments are highly appreciated.

I am glad that you really enjoyed your stay in The Ambassador Hotel Taipei. I will share this comments to colleague and it will encourage them very much.

Once again we sincerely appreciate your feedback so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel room is relatively small. There's no night stand
next to the bed. Instead, they put a desk next to the bed.
The desk is much higher than the bed.
The location is good.
We like the strong water stream of the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Worldadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhillLee, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Worldadvisor,

Greetings from The Ambassador Hotel Taipei.

Thank you for staying at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel and taking your precious time to share your comments with us. We have always being thankful to every guest and each comments.

We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may serve our guests better in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Ambassador Taipei Hotel.

Best Regards,
***************************************
Philip Lee
The Ambassador Taipei Hotel
General Manager
***************************************
Integrity. Team Work. Innovation . Social Responsibility

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#45 of 587 in Taipei
961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#502 of 587 in Taipei
2,547 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Sherwood Taipei
The Sherwood Taipei
#50 of 587 in Taipei
985 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.8 mi away
Caesar Park Taipei
Caesar Park Taipei
#106 of 587 in Taipei
1,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel Taipei

Address: No.63 Section 2, Zhongshan North Road, Taipei 10446, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Taipei
#39 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#42 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#50 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £100 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambassador Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central Zhongshan district of Taipei, Ambassador Hotel Taipei features 402 comfortable guest rooms and suites. The recently renovated executive floor rooms and suites offers modern comfort, and an exclusive executive floor lounge for breakfast, evening cocktails, and all-day refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambassador Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Ambassador Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing