We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service, great location and attention to detail”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Ranked #100 of 568 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service, great location and attention to detail”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip. Spotted the hotel after researching on trip advisor and was not disappointed, so asked office manager to book this one. The Evergreen hotel chain is owned by the Eva Airways holding company so there were also shuttle coaches from the airport. Centrally located with the nearest MRT subway station about 4-5 minute walk right out of hotel.

On arrival, walked into reception area which was air conditioned with marble decor and a grand piano in the middle. Reception was on the right, with 2 staff who were very attentive - despite it being close to midnight. After check in, we went to our rooms which were on the 14th floor served by 2 large lifts.

We had been upgraded due to overbooking and I was not disappointed. The room was large, air conditioned, very clean and well kept with kingsize bed, desk with free wifi or ADSL access, fax machine and most useful, international multi plug sockets for both 110 and 220V systems. Large flat screen TV on wall with DVD/Video opposite bed. Sofa and table in room with fresh fruit and there was also a table area with mini bar and tea making facilities. Bathroom had jacuzzi bath, shower (pressure was very good) double sink and toilet with electric gadgets such as heated seat and bidet feature. Overall all mod cons.

Breakfast was very good and held in spacious restaurant area on the 2nd floor. They had a plentiful choice of English, continental or Far Eastern, lots of staff available to assist with coffees etc. Newspapers were available if you did not have a complimentary paper by your door each morning.

There was a gym on site, but unfortunately did not try this out. However I would expect it was to a good standard as everything else was.

There was no official bar however you only had to ask reception and they brought you drinks out to your table which were a side part opposite reception.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. They are in a very good location and have addressed all the fundamentals a westerner would expect when travelling. I found the Taiwanese in general were very customer service minded and the staff here were no exception.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taylor339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    131
    36
    7
    2
See reviews for
70
56
41
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The room here is nice and clean. There is a supermarket and 7-11 convenience store beside the hotel. A taxi trip to the Taipei 101 Building is about NT200. The nearby malls are Sogo and Breeze. Breeze has most of the luxury brands. Beside the hotel is a 24 hour foot massage place called "teacherdeng". A taxi trip from the hotel to the Taoyuan airport is NT1,200. So there you have it, a Business Hotel that has nice clean rooms (mine has a Jacuzzi), near to the Malls, near to 7-11/supermarket and a place to wind down. The staff speaks acceptable english and they are friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BigHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Stayed at Evergreen Laurel a few days ago when in Taipei. Great location. Easy 10-15 min walk to major Blue line subway. Inexpensive taxi rides around the city. Rooms were fine. Breakfast (included) was a buffet and excellent also - both western and chinese/japanese dishes. Staff was very helpful in making arrangements and suggestions for us. All in all I would stay here again and recommend this hotel. They have cards with their name in chinese characters but ask them to write it out larger for the taxi. we showed it to our cab driver and he couldn't read it and took us all over the city. Especially at night.

Room Tip: None of rooms have view so any room is about the same. Amenities galore. from slippers and robes t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
169 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The hotel is very convenient when using the Evergreen Laurel bus from Taoyuan airport as it stops outside and costs just NT150 one way.

On arrival we we given a key to one room. As soon as we walked in the door the phone went and it was reception telling us someone had already checked into this room and we had to go to another room.

The room itself was large enough and clean. The decor was a bit old-fashioned and had a fax machine in the room (very 90s)!

There is free wifi throughout the hotel but have to keep entering the login and password everytime you use it. Tea, coffee, fruit and water provided daily too.

There is a decent gym on the lower ground floor next to a spa. The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from SongJiang Station and with cheap taxis all of Taipei is accessible.

If you can get a good deal it's worth staying here, if not, there are better value hotels elsewhere in Taipei.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taff in Transit
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Although on a business trip, this hotel, although not next to the Taipei 101, was perfectly placed for my business needs, it was quiet (although the street outside was very busy), close to the MRT and a short Taxi ride to local pubs - my other place, Saints and Sinners and Carnagies desrve a mention

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Admiral_R06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Evergreen is a typical Taiwan style hotel. It is located just 3mins walk from MRT Songjiangnanjing station. There is airport bus stop next to the hotel. Therefore, transport is pretty convenient.
We booked standard room. Although it is in 12/F, the window is nothing. They use a curtain to block outside view (because opposite is another building which is just 3 metre distance). Thus, no view at all. Anyway, the room is comfortable. There is free internet connection and in-room fax service. Good for businessmen. But the bed and pillow are too hard.
Buffet breakfast is so-so. Not many choices. I tried there Being Spa in B2, which is very nice. However, the charge is quite expensive even they offered me 30% discount off.
There are some good cafe nearby. We like "King of Milk" cafe so much and tried 4 times at all. There are also 7-11 and Wellcome nearby. So you can buy some drinks direct from there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bird-Bird-Blogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

This is one hotel which you really can't find fault with. Everything is perfect.

The moment I entered the hotel, I was greeted by the conceirge staff with a great smile on his face. I was led to the front desk and the guest relations officer checked me in promptly and professionally without being too 'clinical'.

There was initially a problem with the room type allocation but that was quickly resolved by the manager-on-duty, Alex Jong. I was then given the room type I had booked - which is the Deluxe Suite.

The Deluxe Suite was really big in size and came with full amenities and furnishings, from a 4-in-1 work machine to a plasma TV to a walk-in wardrobe. The water faucets were gold-plated and imported from Italy! The jacuzzi bath was nice to soak in after a long day out in the open shopping, eating and sightseeing. The bed was comfortable and the entire room was well-maintained.

Breakfast was appetising and had a good balance in the supply of Western and Oriental food items. The staff at the cafe serving the breakfast were warm, friendly and helpful.

The location is prime as it has an airport shuttle bus station right outside the main entrance. It's also within 3 minutes walking distance from the new Sungchiang Nanking MRT station on the Luchou Line (Orange Line). Basically, you are minutes away from major attractions like Taipei 101, Shihlin Night Market and Hsimenting if you choose to take the MRT train.

All in all, a perfect choice for both the business and leisure tourists. You'll not regret staying at this boutique-style 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgkel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
The Landis Taipei
#51 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
San Want Residences
#12 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taipei Garden Hotel
#19 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Miramar Garden Taipei
#88 of 568 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
The Sherwood Taipei
#47 of 568 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evergreen Laurel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evergreen Laurel Hotel

Property: Evergreen Laurel Hotel
Address: No.63 Sung Chiang Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Taipei
#49 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#49 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Evergreen Laurel Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Evergreen Laurel Hotel (Taipei) is situated in the heart of Taipei’s business and financial district. The 100 spacious rooms and suites feature a soundproofing system that reduces ambient noise levels to below 40 dB. The fitness center offers modern health-club facilities including an assortment of Spa treatments. The elegant Evergarden serves a variety of Chinese cuisine for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evergreen Laurel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evergreen Laurel Taipei
Hotel Evergreen Laurel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing