We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Taipei
Ranked #71 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Napoli
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic position on the hill dominating the city, great view. The style of the room is antique but too boring to me, the furniture and toilette pieces are old. By the way, the rooms are large, and the terrace very large. Good service at reception but poor english. They are pushing in the morning at breakfast when they have to close (at 10!?). In a so big hotel why they don't have a spa and pool? Okay stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe68Napoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    363
    141
    38
    24
See reviews for
277
163
59
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Staying at The Grand Hotel is a wonderful experience. Its a very spacious & well laid out hotel in very picturesque surroundings. The Breakfast is excellent , though the fare for vegetarians is limited.The rooms are large & well furnished The only drawback is communication--very few staff are fluent in English & this can make things a bit tedious. The gym is rather small & ill-equipped for a Hotel of this size. Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay & would love to return. I would recommend this hotel, unhesitatingly!!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious but the mountain facing rooms are quieter. The rooms facing the main gate off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunter1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

First when i came to this hotel, i feel a great ancient and culture herritage around it, nice and warm person, good hospitalty, nice view surrpunding it.. we can see the Taipei 1010 tower, the second tallest builing in the world... The food is very tasty, the taste of Asia... The room is very clean and comfortable...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yopie230480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I could never forget the smell of the hallway, it smells something like.. Cooking oil? I know other would say it's bug spray, but to my nose it smells like cooking oil and the humid air of Taipei makes it more convincing that you're actually staying in a big wok.

Nevertheless, it's indeed a grand experience to stay in such historic (might be a bit creepy for some) place.

To go to places, it takes a bit of effort, you'd take hotel shuttle (scheduled) to the nearest bus stop, you'll then take a bus or walk to the MRT station to go to anywhere in Taipei.

If you want to go by taxi, remember to take the hotel's business card. You'll have a hard time trying to explain that you're staying at Grand Hotel. Try to say it in chinese 'Yuanshan da fan dian' with your foreign accent will only confuse the taxi driver more.

Room Tip: You'll want to stay in the rooms at main building if you don't like to walk, as the rooms in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applecart3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

With a name and majestic location like GRAND HOTEL, you would think this place is worth checking into.
But this hotel (although dates back to the Song Sisters era) is in need of a refresh... from its ghastly overdone heavy red pillars in the lobby, to the rooms with 70s like decor.

Service in the place is ghastly, with reception staff taking too long to check guests in efficiently.
If you are in a group, you are in for a long wait.

The coffee house / breakfast food is edible, but service is very poor.
The pool is located down the driveway, and nearly 10minutes walk to the Clubhouse.

Rooms in are laid out in a squarish long hallways. If you are given an internal room, you will have a tiny room with no windows (they cannot open into the hallways). For those fortunate enough to have outside rooms, you will have better view of Taipei City, but be ready for walk down long hallways, if your room is far from the lifts. Beds are hard, but then that is a personal preference... Toilets are huge and tiled, so will be cold floors during winter months or cold nights.

Internet access is expensive, and very slow too.
Location of the hotel is too far from everything. You will need to take their shuttle to the nearest Metro subway station, or ride the cab to get anywhere to/from the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose outside rooms, not internal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm not sure what the English name of the Chinese restaurant was called that was located within The Grand Hotel, but stay elsewhere; there's better bang for your buck at something not as tourist-y.

Come here though, for the Dinner Buffet or the Afternoon Tea Buffet.
It's amazing variety of food, everything from Soba and sashimi to like a zillion types of cake, and a ton of coffees and teas and you can get the barista to make anything you want coffee-wise. It's really beautiful, and the food is a good price.

Another awesome buffet is Xiang. I'm not sure what it's called but there's one at the mall right above the Taipei station, at Q-Square. Xiang was the best bang-for-buck buffet during my entire two weeks at Taiwan.

Stay-wise, I actually think that staying at B&B's is better. I know they're significantly harder to find, but there are B&B's and they are cheap and offer local cuisine. Plus really, breakfast in Taiwan can be found within like a 2 block radius of any place in Taipei. Hell you could go to 7-Eleven and pick up an awesome breakfast with tea eggs, Kimchi-Udon, plum juice tea, and coffee. o_O! But B&B's are nice because you get like a trip-advising person while you're at it, it's cheaper than the hotels by far, and a good way to learn more about the culture.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ILikeNapsAndGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Checked into this hotel cause I thought it would be heritage and historic. It's just old - not even old charm quality though. Good views. But, I think the hotel needs a major upgrade asap.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. That's the best you can get for your buck. The rest is just old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thechilibuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
3.0 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#22 of 574 in Taipei
1,960 reviews
3.2 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 574 in Taipei
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caesar Park Taipei
Caesar Park Taipei
#98 of 574 in Taipei
1,493 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#47 of 574 in Taipei
891 reviews
2.1 mi away
Palais de Chine Hotel
Palais de Chine Hotel
#42 of 574 in Taipei
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Taipei

Property: Grand Hotel Taipei
Address: No.1 Section 4, Chung Shan North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#37 Family Hotel in Taipei
#42 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel has served multiple purposes from the past 63 years: developing tourism, supporting international diplomacy and promoting Chinese culture to the West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing