We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good for functions, ordinary rooms”
Review of Grand Hyatt Taipei

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Taipei
Ranked #29 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, good for functions, ordinary rooms”
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Stayed here for the weekend to attend a friends wedding.

The staff and facilities to hold a wedding were pretty good.

Rooms were large but felt empty. I would not call the rooms tired but definitely heading in that direction. all the usual in room amenities were present.

For some reason I did not sleep very well, dispute being exhausted after a 10 hour flight.

Great location, opposite the 101.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigeldiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    690
    160
    63
    19
See reviews for
341
289
171
1,180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our holidays. Booked it as a package from Cathay Pacific holidays. The hotel is one of the nicest hotels we ever stayed (and we travel a lot). Very elegant hotel, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The most memorable was the breakfast, one of the best, if not the best breakfasts ever. We always too a lot of time there, since there is such a huge selection and the best quality. The location is very good, right next to 101 tower and by metro to various sights. Really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsinki1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Good location, right next to Taipei 101. The hotel room was pretty big, nice view from the window. But the king-sized bed was more like a queen-sized bed. Bathroom was pretty big, looked a bit old though. Service was TERRIBLE if you rate it according to 4-5 star hotel standard. We stayed there for three nights during our five nights in Taipei, and didn't enjoy it at all. The gym was OK, a bit small, but opens 24 hours, and the staff in the gym were very friendly unlike their colleagues in other departments.

A few days after we checked out, our asian friends told us that most people in Asia know that the hotel was haunted. We didn't encounter anything weird, but my husband joked about it and said "maybe the hotel is just haunted by bad service"

Would not stay there again next time I go there for biz trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lxdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

Location: Great location, right next to Taipei 101. However, you've to walk about 7-10 minutes to the nearest subway stop.

Overall: Hotel provides great staff and service. But the rooms feel dated, a bit 80s. But everything is clean and bed was very comfortable which is the most important part for a business hotel. They need to do some major face-lift for it to be really called "Grand" Hyatt.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

The Grand Hyatt Taipei is absolutely amazing -what really impressed me was the service. All the staff are super friendly, and many of them speak english well. The staff are always looking for ways that they can help you, and if you call room service or house keeping and ask for something they are always very prompt in attending to you. I loved having a view of Taipei 101, the footbridge which connects the hyatt to the Taipei 101 mall is also very handy. The Grand Hyatt is in a great location for those on business as its just through a (open and safe) alleyway from the International Convention Centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earthie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I always stay at this beautiful hotel when I am in Taipei - it's huge lobby area give the sense of being in a magnificent hotel, and the rooms are really beautiful and comfortable!

Afternoon tea in the mezzanine is a favorite of mine, with the four piece string quartet playing in the background, and a sumptuous spread of sandwiches, dim sum, cakes and strawberries in a huge buffet.

The restaurants are all five star and range from traditional Chinese decor to modern western, the breakfasts are both western and Chinese and the buffets are excellent!

For the night owls there is a dance club and nightclub - again one of the best I have experienced.

I cannot say just how wonderful this hotel and the staff are - just the finest in service.

Highly recommended for business or pleasure!

Malcolm McLean

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm_mclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

I spent 5 nights in the Grand Hyatt in Taipei for work. Sadly there is nothing special or charming about this hotel. It is the perfect hotel if you like the big commercial hotels in the 80s.

Hotel:
The hotel itself is huge and there are always lots of ppl talking (really loudly) in the lobby. Ppl seem to just hang around the huge lobby area all the time. The rooms are old and not very comfortable.

Service:
The service staff are very helpful when requested to do something, but they sometimes do lack the initiative to go that extra mile. I particularly find the peak hours at the front desk difficult. There are always long queues and lots of unruly customers who cut queues. Staff should be trained to turn away customers who do not queue!

Food:
Its was a really really long week, I had several meals in my room. The standard for food was quite bad. Breakfast was one of the worst eggs benedict I have ever tried. The other meals were better but not great for a city famous for their food. The choices are also very limited, with many items not

Overall:
For the price that they are charging, I would not consider it value for money. The hotel is greatly in need of a renovation. There are many other hotels in Taipei that are just as good or better charging a lot less.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheChubbs9123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#9 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
1.7 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#25 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
0.4 mi away
Humble House Taipei
Humble House Taipei
#56 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Taipei

Property: Grand Hyatt Taipei
Address: No.2 SongShou Road, Xinyi District, Taipei 110, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei > Xinyi District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Taipei
#11 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#26 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#29 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hyatt Taipei 4.5*
Number of rooms: 853
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Taipei is a luxury Taipei Hotel which anchors the city's most vibrant commercial centre in the Xinyi district. Adjacent to Taipei 101 Mall and Financial Tower, this Taipei 5 star hotel is conveniently linked to the Taipei World Trade Centre, the Taipei International Convention Centre and the Exhibition Halls.The grandeur of the atrium lobby, entrance and driveways projects the luxurious image of Grand Hyatt Taipei, where the design concept is centered on embracing the local culture. while also offering grand, luxurious and innovative style.The hotel's guestrooms and suites have a residential ambience offering scenic views of Taipei 101, the mountains and Taipei city, while our Grand Club rooms provide added luxury and personalised services. The residential, apartment-style suites on the top floor of the hotel provide distinct and exclusive accommodation, as well as stunning views over the city. Grand Hyatt Taipei is a city hotel that offers a variety of culinary choices in its multi-cuisine restaurants and bars. Food and beverage options include Chinese seafood and grilled US prime steaks. Visitors can also unwind in relaxing and luxurious bars. Grand Hyatt Taipei is home to extensive meeting and event facilities, including a magnificent pillar-free Grand Ballroom and the grand residence, Taipei's unique residential-style multi-event venue. All venues are professionally equipped and the hotel can host any event, from a private seminar for eight to a large convention for 1,200. Grand Hyatt Taipei also offers the best in luxury hotel recreation, including two 24-hour gymnasiums and an outdoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Taipei Hotel Taipei
Taipei Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Taipei
Taipei Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing