We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the cafe”
Review of The Riviera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Riviera Hotel
Ranked #48 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Hi please see earlier review of hotel this is for cafe - excellent and great cakes and coffee - some of the best in the district ! I'd suggest you try it. You can see by the pictures the quality of the cakes. Not the best ambience around but the good makes up for it !!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
6  Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Very Nice Hotel and Well Placed for the late night shopping. Lots of little bars and restaurants near. Everything in the hotel is very functional and works and the staff are attentive. it's not a 5 star but we did not pay 5 star money.... It is a very good tourist/Business hotel and if you accept this and the rooms are huge! then you will be very happy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We read all the reviews on this hotel, and it was highly recommended by users. However, coming to this property was hugely disappointing. The decor, the amenities, and the furniture are definitely not 5-star quality! Everything looked so old and outdated. I would say that this is 3-star hotel at best.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schoonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I arrived at the hotel in heavy torrent, was greeted at the door by a staff with an umbrella in his hand, and checked into a room that has a separate working area. Although the working area wasn't dead silent, the sleeping area was extremely quiet and well shielded against daylight.

Connectivity is great, 20ms ping within the city (pretty bad compared to other parts of the world, but pretty good compared to the rest of the country), 40 to 60 ms within southeast Asia, 20 mbps down and more than 3 mbps up. I have not seen any visible drops during my stay and there is no captive portal over Ethernet. There’s a separate Ethernet jack close to the flat panel television alongside with a great selection of inputs — 3.5mm audio, HDMI, component video. There must be other inputs I’ve forgotten. I wholeheartedly laud the hotel for keeping its connectivity smooth and sound with minimal fuss.

Unfortunately, my iPhone 4S constantly shows no bars and would drop in and out of 3G. Multiple callers complained that I sound terrible when connected over cellular. This issue might be more or less pronounced if you’re using a different handset.

The hotel uses traditional keys instead of access cards which makes keeping track of them a bit difficult.

Staff is fabulous. Breakfast is fabulous. I can practically ignore all incoming phone calls just to stay here and get things done. This is also one of the few hotels I’ve stayed at in the city that does not call a bed composed of two twin mattresses a double bed; at Riviera, a double is a double.

Room Tip: Uh, I stayed in a room whose location is pretty bad, but it’s still quite good…
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evadne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed for a week with wife n daughter. Arrived at a ridiculous hour of the morning on a rainy day. The cab was greeted at the door quickly by staff with umbrellas. We knew our rooms would not be ready for another 3 hours but the staff arranged somewhere comfortable for us to chill out and relax.
Our rooms were well appointed and well up to standard. Hot water pressure and volume very good. Beds are comfy and TV entertainment good too. Walls are solid enough that the neighbours can't hear me snoring. The price for accommodation was half of what we would typically to pay in western countries but in terms of service definitely bordering the next star rating up! The hotel is not very big (3 or 4 floors) when compared with other city hotels but as a base of operations to see the city from and close to may modes of transport it's perfect. Plenty of eateries (budget and upmarket) in walking distance. In house restaurant is good. Breakfast is very good with a wide selection of east west choices!
The complimentary shuttle to some of the local tourist destinations was a bonus as it gave you an opportunity to meet other hotel guests you could pair up with if you are alone of with a family!
The staff were friendly and keen to put their best foot forward to help. There were some language barriers but I've learned (in visiting foreign countries that don't speak English as a 1st language) I need to speak basic English as if I am are addressing a young child and leave out slang and kiwi expression.
The hotel would be more suited for business stay but my family and others I saw seemed to very happy!
We spoke to some of the staff who shared some of their personal backgrounds with me. A lot have worked there for over 10 yrs and spoke of their jobs as an honour working there and spoke loyally to the hotel owners who had looked after them! One guy who'd immigrated from China along time ago was already at retiring age, the wife has passed away and the son had moved abroad. He spoke of the hotel as his 2nd family. It was touching words and reflected in the way the Riviera runs.
Well worth staying here. a rustic warm homely feel lies beneath the surface of this little classic hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halfpie_job
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This hotel is my favourite in Taipei as it is a Western style hotel with excellent facilities (e.g. iron and iron board) and a good location, many western TV channels, english newspaper etc.
The hotel is a typical business hotel and therefore quiet and very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We stayed at Riviera Hotel for three nights in May 2013. very attentive and friendly hotel staff, great breakfast buffet with many choices. Takes about 7- 10 minutes' walk to metro station, but you can easily get a cab and it's not expensive. Like the 'roof garden', it's more like a mini herb garden, but very cool and nice view from the top of the hotel. Will come back if we visit Taipei again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XL2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 578 in Taipei
808 reviews
The Landis Taipei
#57 of 578 in Taipei
859 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#24 of 578 in Taipei
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gloria Residence
#38 of 578 in Taipei
227 reviews
Tokyo International Hotel
#25 of 578 in Taipei
499 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 578 in Taipei
1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Riviera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Riviera Hotel

Address: No.646 Linsen North Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Taipei
#22 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#32 Business Hotel in Taipei
#38 Family Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £90 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Riviera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riviera Hotel Taipei is proud to be the First and Only hotel in Taiwan to receive our LEED Gold Certification in November, 2012.Situated at the business hub of bustling Taipei city stands an international traveler oasis of serenity and refinement --- the Riviera Taipei boutique hotel, has 112 rooms; a Mediterranean Steak House restaurant, a Yacht Club restaurant, and a banquet room that can seat 240 people banquet style.The Riviera Taipei boutique hotel is designed by the world-renowned French architect, Mr. Gerard Jardonnet, with the theme of cordial sophistication of southern France, punctuated by the mystic authenticity of the Orient. Apart from the traditional accommodation service, the Riviera Taipei Hotel offers to her room guests quite a number of additional benefits completely free of charge. Internet Wired and Wireless Internet Access completely FREE of charge ANYWHERE within the boutique Riviera Taipei Hotel.Free Shuttle To MRT Yuanshan Station, CKS Memorial Hall, Yongkang St, Taipei 101, Confucius Temple, Shilin Night Market, CKS Shilin Residence, National Palace Museum and Taipei World Trade Center / Nangang Exhibition Center during Major Trade Shows in fixed period of time. The Riviera Taipei hotel is adjacent to Taipei Expo Park.Nearby attractions are Shihlin Night Market and National Palace Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing