We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!!”
Review of Via Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Via Hotel
Ranked #50 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Another nice hotel I stayed in Taipei!

Located at the shopping alley from Starbucks in Ximending, it is just one street behind the famed A-Zong Mian Xian shop. Very convenient as there are many shops just downstairs - food, shopping, coffee, malls, cinema etc. Excellent location! Leave at exit 6 of Ximen Station and walk towards Starbucks, then turn right. Look out for the sign to the hotel's lift (somewhere between 2 clothes shop); reception is on the second floor.

There is a 24-hr pantry just in front of the reception - free food and drinks! There are some small packets of snacks, cup noodles, biscuits, coffee/tea, drinks and pastries/baos are placed on the table. A plus point! We could bring them back to enjoy in the room. But of course, do remember to bring the cups out to return.

The room isn't too spacious, but it is nicely decorated and cosy. Bed was large and comfy! We were given the room with bathtub and had a glass panel (with curtain) which could look into the TV of the room. There were lots of channels on the TV! Everything nice I read about this hotel was real! Glad to have selected this hotel during our trip this time round.

The only bad thing: some guests gathered with their travellers in the room next door and chatted and giggled loudly late into the night at 2am! It might be good if the hotel can remind other guests to be more considerate and keep their volume down when it is night time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piggogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for Via Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having read the reviews in tripadvisor really helps. The hotel is not very conspicuous from the street as its lobby is located on the 2nd floor, and the ground floor is occupied by boutiques that sell clothes and bags. When you are coming from the main road, if you are on the right street, just look out for the sign VIA in between the signboards of the shops.
However, once we got up to the 2nd floor, everything was pleasant. The small lobby with cozy sofa, little dining table and snacks was our favourite place to loiter, in the morning for quick bites and evening time to fill the little tummies. We were there for a week, and stayed in the family room. It was big enough for 3 adults and 2 children. The hotel management had kindly accomodated our request by providing an additional bed, so that we didn't have to sleep separately. The bathtub was big and my children were delighted to have it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is right in the centre of ximending. Going everywhere is convenient. Overall the hotel has made our trip to Taiwan a memorable and wonderful one.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with bathtub
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jmom09_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Look past the dingy appearance of the hotel building, once you step into the hotel lobby on the second floor, it is like heaven on earth, and a home away frm home. Location is of cos fantastic. Its snack bar just beside it's check in is also snack heaven for kids and kidults-- offering chips, pastries, candies, hot and cold beverages 24/7. The room was even better. We picked a room with a bathtub. Boy, was the bathtub big. We din try but it could definitely fit three grown persons comfortably. Bath salts were also thoughtfully provided.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I visited VIA Hotel last week with my family and we had the wonderful stay experience. The staff of front desk is very kind and provided many useful information. The room is in well condition, not big but enough to us (a couple with 7yrs old boy). The bed is great and I like their room design.

Also I like the snake bar in 2F.

The hotel is at the good location of XiMenDing so very convenient to everywhere(shopping, subway, bus station)

The only thing I don't like is that the hotel is difficult to be booked for weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel is situated near exit 6 of Ximending MRT. Turn right upon coming up the escalator exit 6 and walked past Eslite and KFC before you turned right upon seeing 7-11.

We stayed for 4 days at Via and booked the deluxe room with japanese bathtub. I love the japanese bathtub and did not experience the flooding which appears to be an issue for the smaller rooms. The room that we were allocated had no windows which was alright for us since we were mostly out. While the room was not huge, it was sufficient for us to move around with a suitcase and a backpack. I love the contemporary design of the room and the sealy bed was incredibly comfortable. There were minibar, room safe and room slippers provided. There was no wardrobe and only a few hangers with a full length mirror was provided. The bathroom does not provide adequate privacy with curtains built outside of the bathroom which may be an issue for friends staying together. We did not have any issues with the wifi.

The service staff were very helpful and polite. The map provided was excellent and the staff would gladly answer your queries. The hotel is very popular with Asian tourists and appears to be fully booked daily. The only gripe I have is the slightly inadequate sound proofing. Due to the close proximity of the rooms and families shouting across their rooms with doors opened, it can get pretty noisy at times. The housekeeping staff were also loud during their cleaning duties but I suppose it acts as a good wakeup call for us to explore taipei earlier.

I would not stay again mainly due to the location but would definitely recommend this hotel if
you wish to stay at Ximending.

Room Tip: Opt for higher level rooms further away from the lift.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ladylenn l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Despite the fact that VIA hotel has a lot of positive sides about it, my partner and I thought the unprofessional and amateur staff could ruin the entire experience.

Positive
1.Location: Though hard to find, it's right in the center of everything if you are into young and vibrate life
2. Snack bar: 24/24 hrs bar serve some snacks and drinks.
3. Design: The details of the hotel are well done, I specially like the glass bathroom.
4. Bed: It's really comfortable, wow!


Negative
1. No window: being in such location, they have to compromise
2. Lighting: too dark
3. Staff: How do I even start? I feel like most of the staff lack of enthusiasm doing their jobs. Since it wasn't easy to be found, we phoned them asking for direction but I thought the staff was a bit impatient on the phone.
Furthermore, we asked about room rate for further stay. The staff got busy with other things but didn't even get back to us. We decided to let go. WIFI had some problem and the staff that came to help wasn't smiley.

It's really pity though because I really liked the bed, ha. And for the room rate, I will pick somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: get one with bath tub
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ting P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel location is awesome, just a short walk away from Ximen MRT exit 6. Just right around the corner of the hotel is a 7-11 (which can get really crowded at night especially on weekends) and a Starbucks next to the convenience store. I don't think the hotel is hard to find at all, even though the signage could probably be missed by those who don't have a clue what to look out for.

We stayed in a deluxe room with japanese styled bath, and the bath was awesome for soaking tired legs after walking for the entire day. The room is probably small for those who did a whole lot of shopping, but for my partner and I, the room size was adequate. We both had big luggages, but we still have room to move around.

Visitors from Singapore need not worry too much about bringing too many travel adapters, as Via hotel rooms have one power outlet (at the working table) which already acts as a travel adapter. You can just use any of our 3 pin or 2 pin power plug with it. However, the bedside power outlets will require a travel adapter.

The room is clean, and the fridge cools rather fast (considering electricity was cut off once you remove the room card from the electricity slot). The Sealy bed is awesome, and so was the bath (or did I mention this already?). Only four hangers were provided, and there were limited places to hang your clothes/towels. I've brought foldable travel hangers with me, so that isn't too much of a problem. Sound-proofing wasn't as bad as expected - I couldn't hear conversations from next room, but there was one night when an inconsiderate "neighbour" switched on their Chinese TV channel so loud that we could hear the entire TV programme from our room.

Although the hotel does not provide breakfast, you are welcome to stock up on the granola bars, biscuits, bread, and even instant cup noodles (they will have them out by 3pm in the afternoon everyday, and once they are gone for the day, they won't be refilled). They have a coffee machine which produces decent Americano, as well as a soft drink dispenser. All in all, I couldn't fault their pantry at all, considering its open 24 hrs and all's free for guests.

The hotel staff, from the reception to the cleaning ladies, are also always very helpful and approachable. Nothing is too troublesome for them. Bathroom amenities that were provided are: toothbrush, toothpaste, shower cap, razor and comb. Of course there's the obligatory shampoo and shower gel, as well as a packet of bath salt everyday (if you book the room with the japanese bath).

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are fine. They weren't particularly noisy even though it's close to the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rainne_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Swiio Hotel
Swiio Hotel
#29 of 574 in Taipei
689 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityInn Hotel Plus - Ximending Branch
0.1 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#14 of 574 in Taipei
1,280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Via Hotel Premium
Via Hotel Premium
#66 of 574 in Taipei
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westgate Hotel
Westgate Hotel
#57 of 574 in Taipei
1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Via Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Via Hotel

Address: 2F., No.17, Lane 114, Section 1 Chunghua Road, Taipei 10843, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £52 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Via Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Via Hotel welcomes all travelers, short haul or long stay, for business or for fun, single or group... whoever comes with open heart, big curiosity, and fixed budget. We serve you with world-class Sealy Posturepedic mattress, stylish bathtub, free self-servie laundry, 24hr traveler cafe, and friendly staff always ready to help you plan the trip. We are here for you. Welcome to explore Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Via Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing