We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Ranked #31 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel a week ago and got the rooms at a very attractive rate. The rooms are excellent. Clean, well maintained, spacious and luxurious. The bathroom was especially good with a nice rain shower and a large bath tub. Service at the hotel was exceptional. The staff are always ready to assist you in every way, be it opening the doors, hailing a cab or helping to carry heavy bags of shopping. The best thing is that they do it with a smile and you can surely feel their sincerity. Location wise, it is located within walking distance to Zhongshan mrt, taipei main station(slightly further), a Misukuoshi departmental store and a relatively small night market which i did not get to visit. Food choices in the vicinity of the hotel consists mostly of japanese restaurants and some chinese restaurants. I believe this is so as the area seemed to be populated mainly by the japanese. All in all, this is a great hotel in Taipei and I would definitely consider this place again on my next trip to Taipei.

Room Tip: Pick a larger room on a higher floor. The view of the mountains is really nice and the rooms are big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bkba90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

The rooms are excellent, large, quiet and very well equipped. The spa area with hot water pool, two saunas and cooling pool were an extremely relaxing way to spend my afternoons. The rooftop swimming pool was free of charge here and everything in perfect condition. The staff was absolutely courteous; however there are some minor communication problems in part because some of the hotel staff doesn’t have great English skills. The breakfast is extensive and of high quality, but it is more geared towards Asian flavors. The place is extremely accessible having a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tranto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I've never seen a luxury room going to this level, and managed to (largely) not go over the top. The room is beautiful and spacious. There is a small tv by the tub, computer controlled everything (toilet, drapes, lights). The rain shower is strong and pampering. The toilet and tub/shower are separate rooms. Nespresso machine. They even placed a pair of scissors and a stapler at the desk in case you need them while travelling for work. The parquet floor and carpet makes sure your feet doesn't get cold. Really thick blankets and comfy beds. There's even a slot build into the entrance to hold the newspaper. They are that attentive to detail. The only quirk is that there is no safe in the room.

The second-storey restaurant serves a good spread for breakfast, and the lunch spread is even more amazing with good quality sashimi, Taiwan and international fares.

Location wise the hotel is pretty central and within easy walking distance to the Zhongshan malls and some luxury brand shops. And folks here are really friendly. I didn't use the gym and swimming pool, but the pictures of these look really good.

I would come back again if budget permits the next trip to Taipei.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if you can. It's apparently bigger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

A wonderful new property, in a great part of Taipei. Rooms are beautiful, with all amenities and even a balcony in some. Espresso machine is very welcome, light colours for the furniture and accents means that this is always a cheerful place to return to after work. The Buffet restaurant is always well attended with a lot of choice. Chinese one is excellent too, especially for business. Sadly they did not wish to credit any Airline miles to my stay, something to do with the rate I booked at.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJamesGreatLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Recently tried the Okura for the first time during a one night business trip to Taipei as my usual hotel was fully booked. Excellent staff at the front desk, quick and efficient and most importantly friendly check in. The hotel is still very new and feels immaculate. I was surprised at how spacious the hotel was, wide hallways and surprisingly large rooms. Rooms are very nicely laid out with separate toilet and bath. The bath in particular was nicely done, with a shower/bath wet room. I ate dinner in the japanese restaurant which was also very nice, with delicious food and attentive service. I'm happy to have found another option in Taipei and will definitely choose to stay here again on future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kthongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Even having stayed at many nice hotels throughout the world, we were still very impressed by the new Okura Prestige. Upon entering you will see the beautiful chandeliers in the lobby and be greeted by the friendly staff.

The hotel has elegant decor as well as a modern feel. Even the standard bedrooms are very spacious and well-appointed. There are wall dividers that you can use to make the bedroom more private from the bathroom. The curtains and lighting are controlled by remote. The toilet is separate from the bathtub and rain shower, and it comes equipped with a Japanese style bidet. The king sized bed is comfy, and you can watch TV in bed or in the shower.

The hotel also has an outdoor rooftop swimming pool and Japanese style spa that are complimentary for hotel guests. The wifi is also free throughout the hotel.

Overall, a wonderful hotel with many amenities and great service. Highly recommended as one of the best hotels in Taipei.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank trojanlili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This was our first visit to Taiwan and decided to stay at Okura after reading the comments on tripadvisor.

From the airport: We took Kuo-Kuang Motor Transport Airport bus #1819. It was about an hour ride and cost NT$125.
The bus stop is Ambassador Hotel so from the Ambassador to Okura was about 5 minutes walk.

From the hotel to airport: We took a taxi going back to airport which was NT$900.

Around hotel: - Approx. 5 mins. walk to subway station.
- Seven Eleven convenience stores behind the hotel
- Several massage stores open until late

Hotel: A room was very clean and spacious.

We loved Hotel Okura and definitely this hotel is our choice if we visit Taipei again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Littlesheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#17 of 578 in Taipei
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#50 of 578 in Taipei
916 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
2.8 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#19 of 578 in Taipei
2,495 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Taipei

Address: No.9 Nanjing E. Rd., Sec. 1, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £147 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Okura Prestige Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing