We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Okura Prestige Taipei
Ranked #30 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights on business and I can recommend it highly. I would have given it five stars but the wifi was slow and I was struggling to work remotely on a couple of occasions. Service good , gym equipment excellent and could not fault the room. I found the location to be good and it is situated on one of the nicer parts of Taipei.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Sfd1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

For this trip to Taipei, the Okura Prestige was the second hotel that we stayed at. My wife is from Taiwan and has family/friends that live there, so we made the decision to stay here based on recommendations, reputation, and price.

This hotel has excellent service and is still relatively new. It is very convenient to some high-end shopping if that's what you are looking for. Bring the correct expectations and you will be fine. If you plan to travel out during the day and want a nice place to relax at night, then this hotel would be a great choice. We were on a higher floor, but didn't have a great view due to hotel location, but the room was top notch. The rooms are fitted with the latest technology (master controlled shades, lighting, etc). WiFi was included (wouldn't have expected otherwise) and worked fine for us. We stayed in a "Prestige King". The room had sliding (shoji-like) doors that allow you to section off the two bathrooms from the bedroom. It also makes it super quiet. The room also had all the amenities including automatic toilet and television in the shower. The bed was very comfortable and seemed to be wider than a regular King sized bed. The breakfast buffet was good with quite a few choices, but it didn't compel us to try it more than once.

Room Tip: Although it wasn't really an issue, you might request a room on a higher floor to minimize traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rljung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Currently staying here at okura for 3 days with my family, we have 2 rooms, the rooms are spacious even for their basic ones, toilets are state of the art. Employees are friendly and always smiling :).Facilties such as gym, sauna and pools are very well equipped. Love that hot milk after gym and pool. If you plan to swim often make sure you have headcaps. Else you have to purchase a headcap from them.

Pros: good for family. My parents thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

Cons: the beds and room facilities is too good you just wanna stay inside and not get out.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank wirisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Please don't get confused: The Okura Prestige in other cities are completely different compared to the one in Taipei. We chose this hotel after a long business trip in Taipei and thought this would be kind of a luxurious hotel to relax at the pool side. Unfortunately the pool is not mantained at all. It's next to the big hotel wall and there is no decoration that makes you feel comfortable. The 3 sun lougers they offered were old and dirty. The pool is definitely a sports pool only. They charged us 65 TWD for a bathing cap which should have been included. Since we didn't have a relaxing time at the pool we went back to our room and decided to continue working. But WIFI didn't work! I called at the reception and their only comment was that the hotel is not completely booked and that Wifi should work. They didn't offer help at all. The rooms were ok, but also not impressive. We had a balcony which was unfortunately closed. Breakfast was not included. Location is ok but also not the best in Taipei. It's quite far away from 101. I also can't help to think that Okura is writing some of the Tripadvisor comments themselves. Otherwise I can't explain their high ranking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lajulie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The typhoon hit during our stay. Hours before the typhoon was to hit central taipei, one of the staff checked every room to ensure that the torch was in working condition - thumbs up! They also locked the balcony door the day before the typhoon hits. Also, there was barely any noise (you can slide the doors so that there is another partition between the entrance and the sleeping area). There was a very slight rattling noise at the windows when the typhoon passed.

Service was great. When I first arrived at the hotel, the staff handed me a card indicating the car plate of the taxi, in the event we accidentally left any of our belongings in the cab. There will always be someone pressing the lift button for you / opening the taxi doors and standing at the door until the door closes / taxi drives away.

The bakery downstairs was lovely. Go have a try!

Loved the room decor. They provided ample shower facilities and you can also watch tv while soaking in the bathtub. Bring your own bath salt to enhance the experience!

Another perk is that you can walk through the underground shops at Zhongshan Station all the way to Taipei Main Station! There are also some good massages shops and little cafes around the area to check out. Also, there is a huge departmental store for those interested in luxury goods: the restaurant at the 8th floor is pretty good.

Will definitely come back to this hotel when I am back in taipei!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Penguinvhp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We chose 4 different hotels for our taipei trip, which is Okura, FX, The landis and Royal Seasons hotel. Okura was the best. Service were excellent. The staffs were very helpful and nice. The room were great. They have separate room for shower and toilet. While you were taking the shower you can watch the TV in the same time. The hotel also can allow you to leave your luggage with them for few days after you checked out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idahe112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Okura Prestige is a newly renovated hotel, clsoe to Chung Shan subway station, nearby has department store, Starbucks and McDonald. The hotel staffs are friendly and helpful. The room I had is Prestige King, the sleeping bed is comfy. The toilet bowl is the high-tech, "no touch" design from Japan. The cover will automatically open, flush and close after use. Toilet is separated from the shower. There is rain shower and bath tube in the shower room. The room we had is spacious and in light and comfortable tone (not the typical business executive room in dark wood and silver tone). The spa, gym and a lounge on the top floor for guest use. I enjoyed work out in the gym with a holistic Taipei city view and took a spa afterwards. Overall experience is fantastic, excellent. I did not try out the restaurants downstairs except the bar on the ground floor. Choices of drink is limited and very crowded at night, but price is standard.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlehse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Regent Taipei
Regent Taipei
#17 of 578 in Taipei
2,208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
Hotel Royal-Nikko Taipei
#53 of 578 in Taipei
916 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Taipei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Far Eastern Plaza Hotel Taipei
2.8 mi away
W Taipei
W Taipei
#18 of 578 in Taipei
2,502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Grand Taipei Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Okura Prestige Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Okura Prestige Taipei

Address: No.9 Nanjing E. Rd., Sec. 1, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £148 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Okura Prestige Taipei 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orange Marketing Services, Japan Co., Ltd., Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Okura Prestige Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing