We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My best experience in Taipei!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banana Hostel
Ranked #30 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My best experience in Taipei!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

I had total three visits in this hostel. Stayed in the 16-bed dormitory. All beds have private curtains, so they felt like large capsules. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. Good location near a transfer MRT station. And free bananas, of course.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamWombie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexiHuang, 業者 at Banana Hostel, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Thank you for the nice words and high rating, we appreciate that so much! Hope you have enjoyed your trip to Taipei and come to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
11
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stay here for only 1 night, but the atmosphere is nice with friendly staff :)
It's very close to train station, prefect location for people want to eat around in Taipei.

I stay in a 16 peoples dorm room, it's little bit scary when I made the booking, but it's surprising me the room is not bad, everyone having private space inside the 16 people dorm room, but it's feeling like a coffin lol... but it's lot stable then bunk bed, I don't need to worry the people moving around on downstair or upstair :)

The bathroom is nice and whole hostel with nice air condition, it's important for such weather in Taipei

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexiHuang, 業者 at Banana Hostel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Kelvin, thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Absolutely love this hostel, great location - just 5 minutes walk from Dongmen Station. Love the layout of the room, feels very personal and clean. And of course, free bananas every morning to start my day! Definitely will come back here the next time I am in Taipei!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexiHuang, 業者 at Banana Hostel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much Katherine! We appreciate what you mentioned about our place, and look forward to seeing you here again:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

An excellent choice for youth on backpacking trip. Despite the shared facilities, hostel staff make it a point to maintain the facilities' cleanliness. It is very comfortable for stay with the individual cubicle curtain and also a locker for temporary safekeeping of lockers. There are a few flights of stairs but this shouldnt not pose any issue for young people. Beautiful decorations and nice, welcoming owners. Just 3-5 mins walk from dongmen (exit 3) station. A value for money stay !

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexiHuang, 業者 at Banana Hostel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Pauline, thank you so much for reviewing us. We glad to host you and hope you have enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was the second time for me to have stayed in Banana. As I had wonderful days there for my holidays in last Dec, I decided to book it once again with no hesitation in this May.
All staff are super friendly and helpful, every room was always clean and also very stylish!
And one of the best things of this hostel is its location where I could get around everywhere from, because it is only less than 3-4 MRT stops away from almost any attraction and other famous places. Yong Kang St. where there's a lot of nice restaurants and cafes is just 3 mins distance away by walking. While many of boutique hotels are located in Xiemen where is crowed and noisy, Banana is in Dongmen where is much more laid-back and quieter than xiemen.

Room Tip: Any room is good. I had stayed both female dorm and mixed dorm. there's a privacy curtain by ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 차민 홍
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexiHuang, 業者 at Banana Hostel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you dear, that's very nice of you. We are looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Although Taipei was an addition to my plans the stay was one of my trip highlights. The hostel itself is fantastic. It is wonderfully decorated, clean with great service and the rooms are more than expected. Adding to that a great location to walk to main sights or use the metro right next to it. If I come back, will certainly be the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexiHuang, 業者 at Banana Hostel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Karl, thank you so much for giving us those sweet words! You are so nice, friendly, and also always keep smiling. Hope you like our country and city, and maybe come back to explore more:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I love banana hostel sooooo much! The location is very convenient! I stayed in the deluxe double room. The room is clean and comfortable. The bed is huge! I will probably spend my stay in banana hostel next time when i visit taipei!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chooow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LexiHuang, 業者 at Banana Hostel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for the review! We appreciate you choose our place to stay and expect your next stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen
Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen
#133 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Uinn Travel Hostel
Uinn Travel Hostel
#3 of 240 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meander Taipei Hostel
Meander Taipei Hostel
#2 of 240 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Taipei City Home
Taipei City Home
#5 of 240 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.8 mi away
JV's Hostel
JV's Hostel
#10 of 240 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dongmen Hotel
Dongmen Hotel
#206 of 565 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Hostel

Property: Banana Hostel
Address: No.7 Section 2, Jinshan South Road, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 240 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the most cozy and lovely place you can stay in Taipei!Banana is a whole new, cozy, and home-like small hostel located in the central of Taipei and welcoming all travelers.We love traveling and have stayed in some nice hostels and B&B, so we wish to provide a better accommodation to travelers like us and share the traveling experience with each other.We have diffirent room type for diffirent traveler, big common room, clean bathroom, and everything contained kitchen. You can stay here with reasonable price. Hope you'll enjoy this vibrant city and lovely BANANA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Banana Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing