We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel”
Review of Homey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homey House
Ranked #12 of 258 Taipei B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel seems quite new. Modern design is clearly implemented on the bathroom, and the room was very clean.
Even though it's around 10-15 mins to MRT, quality of stay was good enough to redeem the distance.
Not to forget, the breakfast was yummy too.
Highly recommended (if you don't mind the walk).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGlobTrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Homey House. Service from the team at the front desk was great - they were able to advise us on places to see and how to get around. In the morning they help out to get you drinks over breakfast.

The rooms are very 'homey' with plush carpet and a big bed. The rooms are very modern and well thought out. Only thing I would comment is that it would be great if there were a couple of additional hooks in the bathroom.

The breakfast each day is prepared fresh and is something different. We had Amercian Breakfast, Seafood Porridge and Seafood pasta. Each were good and came with bread, salad and some fruit. There is a sink with drinking water tap plus small fridge on each floor that is restocked with water bottles each day, very convenient!

The location is good, about 10min walk to the MRT but lots to see along the way. Taxi drivers were all able to find the hotel easily - we used the 'map' on the back of the free tissue packets at reception to show the drivers in Chinese. There is a cinema just nearby, a Family Mart, 711, famous dumpling restaurant and a couple of tea shops.

Definitely recommend Homey House!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back (not facing the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sempanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Nice hotel with clean and cosy rooms. Rooms are quite spacious compared to the rooms in Ximending. It's a good 10-15 minutes walk to the MRT, but location is good, near shops, 7eleven etc. Breakfast is al right, nothing to shout about. The lobby is cute and the staff are friendly. It was a good stay, we recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

It was very convenient located. It looked like the room was newly renovated. People were friendly. We were told by the taxi driver that the hotel located at the red light district. However, we felt completely fine. There were tons of massage places along the street, we even had great massage and then went straight back to our room to sleep after a long haul walking in the city. Fabulous! Don't have too much expectation in the breakfast but just to fill you up. I will definitely recommend this hotel to people

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ikatfloral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

ABout 10mins walk from Zhongshan MRT, this boutique hotel is awesome. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, Nice attached bathroom, with sauna feature. The staff were very helpful in giving directions to where oyou want to go.

WHile there are no gyms in the hotel, fitness buff can opt to go to the community sports centre down the road.

Breakfast was decent. But if you are picky, there are lots of eateries around the area. The Family Mart next door stocks a lot of nice food too.

Complimentary beverages and small snacks are provided in the room. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sha_Lee_Raja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Our family stayed over at homeyhouse during the chinese new year. Below are our experience during the stay:

Location: pretty alright, many convenience stores and mobile stores for your needs once you touch down. Nearby Zhongshan station is a 10min walk away.

Room/amenities: room size is pretty ok. Nice modern design with nice bed. Amenities like a heater in the bathroom and a bidet were very welcome.

Staff: service is typical taiwanese. Friendly!

Breakfast: to be fair, they did their best in varying the menu. The younger ones were ok. My parents got sick of the western breakfast pretty quickly.

Others: bar fridge along the common area with complimentary drinks was a good touch. The coke and sprite were hot items..


Conclusion: a nice place overall so long as you do not set your expectations overly high. Recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The location of the hotel is great, although faraway from metro station. There are lots of choices of bus lines to everywhere. Familymart and 7-11 are just closed by, so very convenient to get some snacks/beverage even in the mid-night.

Facilities are new, bed comfortable, shower water warm and strong. But rooms are not sound proof. You can hear noises from the road or next door...

Cleanses is my most concern - I can see hairs in bathtub on my arrival, strong smells of smoking with the fact that this is a non-smoking room. Cleaning staff is not helpful, she asked me to open the window and turn on air-con to reduce the smell?! What did she do in 5-6 hrs between last traveler's leave and my arrival on 5pm?

Lobby is tiny and here is where people take breakfast. One of the front-desk lady looks so serious and it's a crazy idea that people should leave the room key there when they leave the hotel and take it back when back to hotel. In another word, there is no privacy coz they would stare at everyone in and out - I believe there is a balance between security and privacy, but obviously they are not on the right point. They are 'managing' rather than providing service to my personal feeling.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unsersein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#48 of 585 in Taipei
1,861 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colormix Hotel & Hostel
Colormix Hotel & Hostel
#1 of 258 in Taipei
264 reviews
1.0 mi away
RE-Change Hotel
RE-Change Hotel
#13 of 258 in Taipei
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NYS Loft Hotel
NYS Loft Hotel
#8 of 258 in Taipei
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Via Hotel Loft
Via Hotel Loft
#28 of 585 in Taipei
458 reviews
1.0 mi away
Just Inn Taipei
Just Inn Taipei
#9 of 258 in Taipei
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homey House

Address: No.56 Changchun Rd., Zhongshan Dist., Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 258 B&Bs / Inns in Taipei
Price Range: £48 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Homey House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Homey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing