We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simple+ Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Simple+ Hotel
Ranked #109 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Pros: New, clean, big shower, nice bath tub, friendly and knowledgable staff, short walk to MRT station, washing machine/dryer, free laundry detergent, water dispenser.

Cons: Biggest room in hotel was small, extremely dim lighting in the room, shower drainage poor, cigarette smoke smell in room, taxi drivers unaware of location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    84
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
45
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights. It is a few mins walk from MRT station. 7-11 is just round the corner, so location wise, it is not bad. Wifi signal is very strong. They provide free breakfast, but should be improved. It doesn't harm the receptionists to smile more. Overall it was not too bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gho24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for few times. It is time to write a review for them

Pros
Location were great! Only 3mins to the MRT station. If you want to walk to the East District it will take you approx 15mins. Room were great! Perfectly clean and tidy. Staff were super helpful, if you are new to Taipei, you should ask them for their advise.

Cons
Breakfast were not good enough and sometime it could be a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Normal the room were great! No recommendation could be given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stay there for 4 nights during a holiday trip in Taipei, as I'm a solo traveller, what I love is a comfy bed whenever I end a day of outing. The bed is very comfortable and I really love it a lot. I stay on the fifth floor and the wifi signal is very strong throughout the day. It was a less than 5 mins walk to the mrt station too ! 7-11 is right at the corner and fast food is very near too ! The only thing was that the price could be alittle cheaper, then it would be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashtorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

They do not have central heating and I was unfortunate to be staying there during a cold front in late Dec last year. I had to beg them for a portable heater, otherwise it was really unbearable as the cold air kept going into the room. It was less than 10 degrees outside at night. The location was OK, about 5 mins walk to the subway with plenty of food options around. Room was also generally dark as they do not have much lighting within the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scumdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights. The room is nice - simple and clean. I love the balcony of the room, even though we did not get too much time to sit outside and enjoy the balcony. Staff are friendly and polite, but not very helpful. Like what the previous reviews say, the room is very dark and the hotel should consider putting some lamps inside the room. Very close to the subway station (although the station is not on a main line), and it is easy to arrive at the hotel from the airport (1 bus ride - Evergreen bus).

We emailed the hotel a week before arrival to ask for a quieter and brighter room. Their response is quick and polite. They arranged us a room on the top floor. Very quiet and the room is very bright with natural sunlight in the daytime. We stay in a bigger room, so size is pretty ok for us.

However, the wifi signal is really weak inside our room, we can barely get connected. We told the front desk on the first night about the wifi problem. They apologized and said they ran out of router, and they suggested us to use LAN (wired) connections. Their suggestions did not help at all, as we were using Ipads and smart phones to stay online. We told them and they said they would try to reset the current routers and it might strength our room's reception. No improvement at all. We asked again on the second night, and they again said they had no more routers. They apologized again, saying that the weak wifi signal is due to the design of the room. Then, we asked again on the third and fourth night, and we ended up opening the door and standing in the hallway to check our emails. We do appreciate the staff's politeness and patience, but staying there for 4 nights, I would expect them to give me a router at least on the final night. As we observe, most people stayed there for only 1 or 2 nights. The hotel should therefore be able to give us a router when someone checks out. I felt like I have paid for the wifi service (as part of the hotel fee), and I could not get the service even though wifi is almost my most important criterion when choosing a hotel.

The price is ok, although you can find way cheaper options in Taipei. We went there around the Chinese New Year, so I would say the higher price would be reasonable as well.

Room Tip: Avoid the x05 rooms if wifi is really important for you. The 05 rooms are bigger than the others, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CisiW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

I am trying to find the good hotel in Taipei I can use when my family/friends visit me. Simple Hotel is "Almost" perfect.

Considering their price, amenity, room, breakfast… their quality is more than enough.

One minor problem is, they don't have the parking lot. I think this depends on your style how to use this hotel. There is one parking 50m far from this hotel (but it closes at night and open in the morning around 9am. If you want to leave the hotel early, you can not use this option.)

One major problem is, their air-conditioner is very noisy. So my sleep experience was not good…

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mucchiyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Forward Hotel - Songjiang
#144 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
HOTEL QUOTE Taipei
#37 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel B Taipei
#112 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Horizon Inn
#63 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Songshan District
Brother Hotel Taipei
Brother Hotel Taipei
#115 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simple+ Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simple+ Hotel

Property: Simple+ Hotel
Address: No.52, Ln. 4, Dunhua N. Rd., Songshan Dist.,, Taipei 105, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Simple+ Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The all new independent hotel brand from the Taipei forward Hotel group. we created a brand-new hotel image with a style of being young and free. We also hope to fit the word " simple " in your journey and " + " is to enrich your experience while you are here. Simple+hotel has been working with the humanistic art groups to bring you a new way of thinking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Simple+ Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing