We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very strategic hotel for first timer to Taipei”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Ranked #30 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked a family quad room. The room is small but It has 2 double beds. You basically will occupy most of the room's spaces for your suitcases. The bathroom is small as well as the bathtub, which is most likely to be used as shower box rather than a tub. It should be re-modeled as a shower box for safety and ease. The amenities are limited. You get big bottles of conditioner and liquid body wash that is functioned for hair wash as well. The pillows are hard and they only have one type of pillow. The hotel's cleanliness is questionable as I found a strand of hair on the bathtub and my husband was bitten by bugs during his sleep on the first day. But, the plus side of this hotel are Mr. Kevin who is very helpful, informative and speaks good English, the modern and automatic bidet, the two USB plugs that are available in the room, meaning that you don't have to worry about type of plugs to bring, the free water bottles that are replenished daily by the housekeeping, and the hotel's location. If you are to visit Taipei for the first time, this hotel is highly recommended as it is super convenient. It is basically in the center of everything you need; subway, regular train, high speed train, bus station and shopping centers. Taxi fare is reasonable too from here to airport, ximending or other Taipei's attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noviantii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Novianti I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with many aspects of your experience. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping and related departments as it is clear that we did not double check after maids had done their cleaning. We always encourage our guests to contact the front desk if they would like to make a change. We are happy to accommodate our guest as long as we have the availability. As for the shower box, I am sincerely sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. I appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future renovation.

On the other hand, I am glad that you were impressive with our room amenities and superb location as well as helpful service. We gladly welcome both positive and negative feedback as we always seek to continually improve our service and amenities.

Thank you once again for your valuable comment. We do hope that you will once again choose Cosmos Hotel Taipei in your next trip to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

714 - 720 of 3,584 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good front counter reception and concierge service. However breakfast selection and services located on 3rd floor were poor. They do not stock up adequate selection after 9.30am and were more interested to prepare for lunch menu. Fruits, tim sum and sunny side up eggs were down at around 9.40am and were not stock up despite request from some guests. Might as well announce that breakfast stopped at 9.40am. Our room aircon was hot, despite adjusting it to the highest fan level. Toilet was small too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Jeffrey T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered. We always pride ourselves on providing exceptional guest service, so I regret to learn about your experiences with breakfast and with the room amenities. As for the air-conditioner issue, I am sincerely sorry that we did not resolve it right away for you. We always encourage our guest to contact the front desk if they need any assistance so that we can make it right. I have shared this feedback with the respective departments, and also will definitely use your comment to retrain our staves as we always strive to continually improve our service and amenities.

Once again, I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations regarding your accommodations. We hope have another opportunity to welcome you back and make a better impression.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

While the hotel is slightly old-fashioned in terms of infrastructure and decor, the amenities and rooms are generally clean and decent. The breakfast that comes with the room can be described similarly, with a fair range of cereals, bread, fruit, hot food and noodles/porridge.

Some things to point out: Room service gave us disposable spoons when I rang them for spoons. Not sure if it's got to do with previous visitors pilfering spoons. There were some toenails on the carpet the first night I checked in, too.

That said, the hotel is highly convenient. It takes less than a 5min walk to get from your room to Taipei's main train and bus station.

Room Tip: Don't take it as a given that all rooms have actual windows. Economy rooms were built along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephTng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear JosephTng,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. First of all, I am glad that you were impressive with our cozy room and diverse breakfast. It is our pleasure to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyful.

However, I regret to hear that there were some issues to inconvenience you during your stay. Regarding the spoon, we usually provide metal cutlery when the guest order room service. But for safety considerations, we provide disposable spoon when the guest ask for the cutlery for the other purpose use.

As for the toenails issue, please accept our sincerest apologies for it. I can assure that this issue was certainly not typical of what our guests normally experience. We take it very seriously and we are thankful that you shared your experience with us so that we can prevent it from happening again.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Cosmos Hotel Taipei in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

really good location
right nxt to one of the metro entrances
a convenience store is just a block away too

bed is comfy, amenities are standard

only gripe is a little bit cramped for the party of 3 people in my group
but otherwise, worth returning to!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank awwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear awwj,

Thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you were impressed with the comfortable room and our superb location which is right on the railway station and within walking distance to a variety of shops, restaurants, and entertainment in the downtown.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We can not wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you intend to stay near the Taiwan Main Station, then this hotel is a pretty good option. While there are other hotels in the area that cater to the commuting traveler, this hotel stands out for having a decent room size comparatively speaking. Taipei Hotels, it should be known, are fairly cramped, particularly at you get closer to the center of town. The Cosmos Hotel is a bit older but fairly well kept, and the rooms do have more of a "old-style" decor that are getting harder to find, with hotels now trending towards the modern and sleek, if not modular and dull.

This is one of the few hotels with a great location where we were able to fit our entire family (2 adults, 2 children) in a single room, by either booking the family quad or a suite. We opted for the junior suite which provides a living area with a sleeping sofa.

The services are not the best trained and they tend to veer towards being formal and stiff, rather than hospitable and friendly. Still, you cannot beat the fact that you are walking distance from the main train terminal, making it very convenient for those staying overnight before catching a train or even staying a couple of days visiting the area. (Note - For longer stays, I much prefer staying at a high-end short-term apartment rental, which there are plenty in Taipei (we stay with Opohills) and are much better suited for a family.)

For food and services, all one needs to do is go to the Taipei Main Terminal, where there are plenty of choices in the 2nd floor (Breeze Center), the ground floor or the subway basement.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite, if travelling with family. The additional space is well-worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear EZS10,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It sounds like that you took advantage of our decent room and convenient location. As you mentioned, our location allows our guest quick access to the airport and other famous landmark as well as nice restaurants. I am glad that you were impressive with it.

However, I regret to hear that you have not received our typical service. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service to every guest. This certainly is not the typical service that we generally provide and for that I apologize. Thank you for letting us know this issue so that we can understand what aspect we still need to improve.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We can not wait to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in early July and we highly recommend it for the following reasons:
- great price with daily breakfast which includes many delicious choices
- great location next to Taipei Main station which is a great place for food and shopping
- trains departing from Taipei Main Station travel to many tourists' spots
- service was great with staffs attending to requests and details. They also suggest good tours to join.
- room was of a good size with stylish and tasteful decoration (and super clean!)
- facilities in the room include fridge, safe, and snack bar
We will definitely stay here again when we visit Taipei!
Additional point: Make sure you book early to avoid disappointment. Also take KuoKuang bus from Taoyuan airport to Taipei Main Station and NOT the other buses!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Laura T,

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad to hear that we have met your expectations. Our success is built on several factors like location, cleanliness, and our service. We take a lot of pride in making guest feel at home and this is the reason we have such a high percentage of repeat guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We can not wait to welcome you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I chose this hotel for the location - next to two MRT lines (the MRT is brilliant for tourists, going to most attractions). It is also next to the intercity train station and bus terminal.

Checkin was efficient, as I was waiting, concierge staff gave me a map of the MRT and how to get to the top 10 attractions. Rooms are small, but modern and well designed. I stayed a night here a week after my first stay and was upgraded (thank you!) to a vip room with a view and a spa bath. Score! Breakfast was included and had eastern and western dishes on the buffet.

Great value, great service, brilliant location - it exceeded my expectations. Highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Driftergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Driftergirl,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time during your stay. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations and I am happy that we reached our goal.

Thank you for your recommendation. We always welcome feedback as it helps us continue to strive for excellence. We can not wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Caesar Park Taipei
#105 of 585 in Taipei
1,583 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#22 of 585 in Taipei
1,898 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#37 of 585 in Taipei
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#5 of 585 in Taipei
1,501 reviews
Hotel Relax I
#36 of 585 in Taipei
873 reviews
YoMi Hotel
#51 of 585 in Taipei
1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Address: No 43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road | Zhongzheng Dist, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing