We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, easy access anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Ranked #30 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

stay one night only. Although a tranditional hotel, denfinity great location! Convenience. I have a room has good view..watch taipei train station. Althoght see the busy road, still silient. Hotel offer us drink coupon, we enjoy our juice at 17 floor...watching the night view of taipei...enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenHK_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear karenHK_88,

Thank you very much for your warm compliments. I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy our downtown location, and that you were able to enjoy the best view. Your feedback is very much appreciated and helps us to continue maintaining our efforts to offer every guest an exceptional stay.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. We do hope that you will once again choose Cosmos Hotel Taipei in your next trip to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 3,639 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

This hotel is not new, and its age shows, so if you are looking for the kind of boutique hotel type, this is not the hotel.

But other than that, the hotel is great. You cannot beat the location of Cosmos; it is right next to Taipei Main Station, which houses both the MTR, HSR and other local trains that get you to anywhere in Taiwan. In fact it is so convenient I never had to change trains when using the MTR from the hotel to get to any other MTR stations I needed to go to. From Taipei Main Station, just take exit M3, walk like 50 steps and you are there at Cosmos.

The room itself though is admittedly small, but that is to be expected I guess with big cities. But it has all sorts of amenities you need in the room and it is very clean, so really not much to complain about. The breakfast buffet had a decent spread and the free wireless internet was amazingly fast. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Only drawback: The lifts were extremely slow and always packed when it finally arrives.

Finding food to eat is no problem at all, as there are eating outlets everywhere you turn. There's a Tim Ho Wan dimsum place just opposite the street which had snaking queues everytime I looked over. The Taipei Main Station itself is also full of restaurants (though more Japanese than anything) and it also has the ubiquitous Starbucks. Be prepared to queue for quite long at the restaurants though, if you are there around meal times.

Overall, I'd definitely stay at Cosmos again if I'm in Taipei.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank applemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear applemy,

Thank you very much for choosing Cosmos Hotel Taipei and the detailed feedback on tripadvisor.com! We appreciate this very much and we are glad that your stay was enjoyable . That is exactly our promise to the guests, from service to amenities and product.

However, we are very sorry for the issue you experienced with our elevators. We know that especially around noon time it can get a little bit crowded due to many guests checking in and out. Thank you for your valuable suggestion, and we will take this into our consideration for future improvement.

We can not wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very conveinent to get to from Taipei train station take either exit M3 or M7. Lots of shops nearby and eating places. Can get to the hotel conveintly on the coach/ buses by the airport ot could get taxi.

The room is spacious and comfortable.

Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Good variety breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livelaughlove88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Dear 558winnie,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review. I am happy to read that you were able to enjoy our downtown location, comfortable room and helpful staff as well as diverse breakfast. That is exactly our promise to every guest. Your review is very much appreciated and helps us to continue maintaining our efforts to offer every guest an exceptional stay.

I can not wait to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Location: Situated right at the Taipei Train Station, which is a one stop terminal for the MRT, HSR (high speed rail) and the usual speed trains, an extremely convenient location.

Room: slightly small in size but putting that aside, I would say that the other aspects of the room surpassed all expectations. clean and well-stocked in terms of amenities.

Breakfast: the stay comes with free breakfast every morning. but the selection of food available, while considerably varied, was the same throughout the four days i was there.

Service: great front counter and concierge service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nick_foo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear nick_foo90,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am thrilled to read your praises of various aspects. That is exactly our promise to the guests, from food to amenities and service. I am especially glad that you received such kind service from our staff. We pride ourselves on delivering the highest level of service and I am happy to hear that you had a memorable experience during your stay.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. We do hope that you will once again choose Cosmos Hotel Taipei in your next trip to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I booked a family quad room. The room is small but It has 2 double beds. You basically will occupy most of the room's spaces for your suitcases. The bathroom is small as well as the bathtub, which is most likely to be used as shower box rather than a tub. It should be re-modeled as a shower box for safety and ease. The amenities are limited. You get big bottles of conditioner and liquid body wash that is functioned for hair wash as well. The pillows are hard and they only have one type of pillow. The hotel's cleanliness is questionable as I found a strand of hair on the bathtub and my husband was bitten by bugs during his sleep on the first day. But, the plus side of this hotel are Mr. Kevin who is very helpful, informative and speaks good English, the modern and automatic bidet, the two USB plugs that are available in the room, meaning that you don't have to worry about type of plugs to bring, the free water bottles that are replenished daily by the housekeeping, and the hotel's location. If you are to visit Taipei for the first time, this hotel is highly recommended as it is super convenient. It is basically in the center of everything you need; subway, regular train, high speed train, bus station and shopping centers. Taxi fare is reasonable too from here to airport, ximending or other Taipei's attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noviantii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Novianti I,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with many aspects of your experience. I have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping and related departments as it is clear that we did not double check after maids had done their cleaning. We always encourage our guests to contact the front desk if they would like to make a change. We are happy to accommodate our guest as long as we have the availability. As for the shower box, I am sincerely sorry for any inconvenience caused to you. I appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration for future renovation.

On the other hand, I am glad that you were impressive with our room amenities and superb location as well as helpful service. We gladly welcome both positive and negative feedback as we always seek to continually improve our service and amenities.

Thank you once again for your valuable comment. We do hope that you will once again choose Cosmos Hotel Taipei in your next trip to Taipei.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Good front counter reception and concierge service. However breakfast selection and services located on 3rd floor were poor. They do not stock up adequate selection after 9.30am and were more interested to prepare for lunch menu. Fruits, tim sum and sunny side up eggs were down at around 9.40am and were not stock up despite request from some guests. Might as well announce that breakfast stopped at 9.40am. Our room aircon was hot, despite adjusting it to the highest fan level. Toilet was small too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Jeffrey T,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered. We always pride ourselves on providing exceptional guest service, so I regret to learn about your experiences with breakfast and with the room amenities. As for the air-conditioner issue, I am sincerely sorry that we did not resolve it right away for you. We always encourage our guest to contact the front desk if they need any assistance so that we can make it right. I have shared this feedback with the respective departments, and also will definitely use your comment to retrain our staves as we always strive to continually improve our service and amenities.

Once again, I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations regarding your accommodations. We hope have another opportunity to welcome you back and make a better impression.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

While the hotel is slightly old-fashioned in terms of infrastructure and decor, the amenities and rooms are generally clean and decent. The breakfast that comes with the room can be described similarly, with a fair range of cereals, bread, fruit, hot food and noodles/porridge.

Some things to point out: Room service gave us disposable spoons when I rang them for spoons. Not sure if it's got to do with previous visitors pilfering spoons. There were some toenails on the carpet the first night I checked in, too.

That said, the hotel is highly convenient. It takes less than a 5min walk to get from your room to Taipei's main train and bus station.

Room Tip: Don't take it as a given that all rooms have actual windows. Economy rooms were built along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephTng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CosmosGuestRelations, 業者 at Cosmos Hotel Taipei, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear JosephTng,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay. First of all, I am glad that you were impressive with our cozy room and diverse breakfast. It is our pleasure to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyful.

However, I regret to hear that there were some issues to inconvenience you during your stay. Regarding the spoon, we usually provide metal cutlery when the guest order room service. But for safety considerations, we provide disposable spoon when the guest ask for the cutlery for the other purpose use.

As for the toenails issue, please accept our sincerest apologies for it. I can assure that this issue was certainly not typical of what our guests normally experience. We take it very seriously and we are thankful that you shared your experience with us so that we can prevent it from happening again.

Thank you again for your comment and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Cosmos Hotel Taipei in the near future.

Sincerely,

Kevin Tseng
Captain of Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Caesar Park Taipei
#106 of 587 in Taipei
1,601 reviews
Taipei Garden Hotel
#18 of 587 in Taipei
1,982 reviews
Palais de Chine Hotel
#40 of 587 in Taipei
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#8 of 587 in Taipei
1,526 reviews
Hotel Relax I
#34 of 587 in Taipei
927 reviews
Hotel Eclat Taipei
#13 of 587 in Taipei
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosmos Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosmos Hotel Taipei

Address: No 43 Section 1, Zhongxiao West Road | Zhongzheng Dist, Taipei 100, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 587 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £73 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cosmos Hotel Taipei 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1979, Taipei Cosmos Hotel is located right next to the M3 Exit of Taipei Main Station and has a great geological advantage as it is a transport hub where MRT (Mass Rapid Transportation), THSR (Taiwan High Speed Rail), Taiwan Railway, bus, and public transportation meet. Dedicated in offering friendly, thoughtful and professional services for many years, Cosmos Hotel Taipei is preferred by international tourists and businessmen and a designated gathering place for many organizations and agencies with its stable and committed food and beverage quality. Tourists or businessmen will feel right at home while staying at the Cosmos Hotel Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cosmos Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing