We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but in serious need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leofoo Hotel Taipei
Ranked #183 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location but in serious need of refurbishment”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

A business acquaintance recommended the hotel and since it was peak season, we went ahead to book the hotel as the price was quite cheap. We arrived at the hotel and check in took around 20 minutes as there were groups of tourists ahead of us. Everything about the room is dated and very antique. Bathroom is small but water pressure is good. The bed was the hardest I've ever slept in a hotel and I didn't sleep very well. Breakfast choice was plenty ie mainly chinese but pretty bland. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is the location as the train station is just right in front of it. If i were to be back in Taipei, I will NOT stay in this hotel again. There are plenty of better hotels within the price range.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    186
    168
    33
    12
See reviews for
141
55
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Leofoo (in Pinyin it would be Liufu - 'the 6th happiness') is a very basic hotel. The rooms are small but clean--the sheets and towels were impeccably white, for example--but the mattress was absolutely the hardest I've ever had to sleep on (problem solved by sleeping on top of the comforter and rolling up in it like a sleeping bag). There's a/c (but no refrigerator, room safe, bathroom amenities nor hot water kettle--but there are free hot water and ice cube dispensers in the hall). Bathtub with built-in shower had excellent water pressure and hot water. Internet via cable (but too old/large for the newer thinner laptops/ebooks; no WiFi) for a fee. Rack room rates very reasonable: NT$2000 for a single room (US$65); slightly more for a double. In short, nothing to write home about BUT for convenience you can't beat having a 7/11 off your main lobby (where a cold can of Japanese beer cost NT$32 or US$1), and a Burger King and McDonald's steps outside the front door. Staff pleasant and reception helpful. An OK breakfast buffet was included (mainly Chinese but also boiled eggs, toast, some fruit, coffee). Would be OK for families with children. If you're just looking for a very reasonably priced, safe, basic hotel, this could be it. It's very popular with tour groups.

Room Tip: Despite Taiwan's 'no smoking in hotel rooms rule' it seems more flaunted than followed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I like to stay in Leofoo hotel because it's very clean, quite, affordable price, convenience to go anywhere/to eat anything although it's quite small room. I will stay there again if i go to Taiwan in the future. Now... i think there renovate it... nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank cklong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2008

I agree with the other reviewer. This hotel was nothing but a series of disappointments. I rated it 2/5 only because the staff was nice and seemed to try, but that did not make up for the horrible conditions. This hotel is old and you can see it in the rooms. They do not feel clean. The carpet is slightly sticky when you have socks on and there was actually a blood stain on one of the bed sheets. The sheets looked like they had been washed, but still. The management changed the sheets when we reported it, but did not offer to discount or comp the room.
One reason we picked this hotel was the free breakfast buffet, which was not impressive from a Western or Chinese point of view. You could spend less and buy a better breakfast from street vendors. There are only 4 or 5 free channels on the TV, none of which include a local news and weather channel. The other channels are pay per view. The last morning we were there, a hotel staff mistakenly called us at 6:30 am about someone else's laundry. This hotel is NOT in close walking distance to any subway station.
Of all the hotels in Taipei, there are many better options at this price range.

  • Liked — there was an attached 7-11
  • Disliked — everything, see review
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ivydturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taipei hotels

LA
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

The room is very small. The funitures are old and tired.
Bathroom is old and tired. I felt I've been riped off. Too expensive for what I got. Nothing good about this Hotel.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank WoodenSnake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.2 mi away
Santos Hotel
Santos Hotel
#128 of 576 in Taipei
409 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel
First Hotel
#302 of 576 in Taipei
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emperor Hotel
Emperor Hotel
#211 of 576 in Taipei
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taipei Gala Hotel
Taipei Gala Hotel
#93 of 576 in Taipei
331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Taipei
Imperial Hotel Taipei
#66 of 576 in Taipei
793 reviews
0.3 mi away
Linkworld Hotel
Linkworld Hotel
#219 of 576 in Taipei
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leofoo Hotel Taipei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leofoo Hotel Taipei

Property: Leofoo Hotel Taipei
Address: No.168 Changchun Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 576 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leofoo Hotel Taipei 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leofoo Hotel Taipei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taipei Leofoo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing