We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very central, excellent service, but tired. OK for 4-star (just)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Want Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
San Want Hotel
Ranked #87 of 557 Hotels in Taipei
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very central, excellent service, but tired. OK for 4-star (just)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel is located in downtown Taipei, in the middle of the premier shopping district, close to the subway. Location-wise, it cannot be surpassed. The service is excellent and fast. Breakfast is good, but the selection of western food relatively meager (especially bread and fruit). The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable and big. Toiletries are ample and varied. What drags the hotel down a bit is that its decor is rather tired, and the bath/shower showing clear signs of age and wear and tear. The hotel is due for modernisation. Our Air-con was rather weak and a bit noisy, but we were lucky that the weather was fairly cool (Nov.). This could prove a problem in the summer. WiFi is free, though we found connection intermittent. Overall, a reasonable 4-star (at the lower end of this category)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeleschziner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    304
    115
    22
    6
See reviews for
127
65
46
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed three nights in San Want last month when we visited Taiwan. The hotel is in a very convenient location. The subway station is just one block away. There are also very clear sign in the subway indicating the exit to the hotel. Many shops and good restaurants around, including Ding Tai Fong. As far as the room itself, I could only say it is an average room. Probably a three stars hotel, not even comparable to an average Holiday Inn or Hampton Inn level. The bath room tile had some mildew. The cleaning crew needs to pay more attention to it. We had a two queen beds room and it is very small. Wi-Fi was free but sometimes signal was weak. We had to ask serviceman to fix the router in our room. The front desk staffs were very helpful and serviceman very efficient. The staffs spoke fluent English and Japanese.
Breakfast was included in the room rate. The food was OK with many Chinese and Western choices, but nothing special. It is very easy to get good foods on the street in Taipei. If I had a choice I would rather explore different eating places than eating in the hotel every morning.
The registration was on the fourth floor and the first three floors were restaurants. We did not get a chance to try the restaurants but the menu looks good. The bakery down stair was very good. If you need gift to bring back home, the pineapple cake was one of the best after tasting several famous bakery stores.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Orien2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
242 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Pros: Great staff, super friendly, speak fluent English, eager to help in every way. Free Want Want crackers and sweets, and tea in the lobby lounge all day. L'Occitane amenities and fluffy slippers. Hotel very near good restaurants, supermarket just across the park. Free wifi in hotel. Love the free fruit peeling service. They also prepared breakfast for one morning when we had to leave super early to catch a train.

Cons: Road works right outside the hotel for 2 months (I just returned after a 2 week stay and the road works just started) - a bit of noise (I could hear jack hammering from 9am on the 7th floor) and inconvenience because if you are arriving by cab, you have to stop behind the hotel. Rooms on the small side and towels a bit worn -- fraying at the sides. Location a bit far from subway station - about 800m (pleasant walk if not raining). Gym is but a store room - 2 treadmills, 1 cross trainer, 1 bicycle, and 1 stepper - closes at 9pm. The hotel is non smoking throughout but there's a perpetual smell of smoke in our room.

Conclusion: The staff make us want to return...

Room Tip: Pick room on high floor, away from elevator, facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SG_Travelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We are10 nights here,very well located to shops,malls MRT Station.Upon arrival well greeted promptly dealt with.BUTour original room 1210 was VERY ordinary,upon advising them of the issues we were promptly moved ,but room was smaller ,but good for sleeping great bed .Hotel has buffet breakfast which is mainly Asian orientated and is very good for what is offered.Very friendly staff .STRONGLY suggest to book Deluxe Room if you like space.Would we stay again YES you should try its not "POSH" but worth a try

Room Tip: ch eaper rooms are small rooms with great beds,book deluxe for plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the San Want Hotel for three days in October. Hotel is located on a busy street with many shops and eateries nearby. Plus the MRT station is like 10 steps away!

I reserved a deluxe suite, which has a separate living room. I checked in very late, as my flight arrived at 10:00pm local time, but my reserved room was still available and ready for me when I checked in.

Door man was always very nice when I came and went, always saying "ni hao"!

Front desk staff was very nice, and helped me in securing transportation back to TPE.

Room on 12th floor, faced the main street, but on the end and it was very quiet. The best part about the room: the bed. Yeah it was a little hard, but it was huge! Big bathroom with tub, shower and toilet all in same room, with a separate sink.

Not sure what people are talking about in regards to the old TVs, the TVs in my room were both flat screen and new. The decor was typical of a Chinese or Taiwanese hotel, not that big of a deal. If you're somewhere on vacation, why should it matter what the decor of your hotel room is?

Buffet breakfast was ok, I'm not much of a breakfast eater anyway, but there were a decent amount of choices. Fried egg, sausage, sandwiches, fruit, yogurt, juices.

Good hotel, great location, decent food choices. Recommend!

Oh and the bakery next door (go out, turn left, it's before you cross the street), is really good. The cheese garlic bread is delicious!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank goalie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
228 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Had 2 nights here when staying in Taipei. The hotel is central and a 4 star meaning the breakfast was included with a buffet setting. The room i got when i arrived dident meet my standards, it was mold in the ceiling and i changed it quikly for a room that had clean air. Noe thing i have learned from travelling is to be more critical when it comes to what You par for. Mold is dangerous and should be avoided at all times. I asked for a room on the higher levels to have a better view and this i got when i came, the reception straff where vert friendly and helped me out when i needed guidens. Would go back here if i come back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gobystolsvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location [Taipei's dong-qu) and you have all your popular resturants such as dazzling cafe, dintaifung, shin-yeh etc around the area. The subway is maybe 10 steps to exit 4 and 20 steps to exit 3 of zhongxiao dunhua stop.

Hotel reception is located on the 4th floor of the building.

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel - the service was excellent from the conceige on the first floor, to the reception on the 4th floor. Nothing was too difficult for them. I had requested for them to make some last minute reservations to some very popular rest and they did it very willingly and when the slots are all taken up, they had assisted on some alternatives.

the downside was the hotel looks tired but the rooms are clean. Think they would do great with some renovations. The other thing is that if you are taking the airport bus from san want to Taoyuan airport, you would have to go one stop to zhongxiao fuxing.

ps they have an excellent rest on the 4th floor which i tried the previous time i was in taipei called sumie - very very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaplace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Eastin Taipei Hotel
Eastin Taipei Hotel
#194 of 557 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Want Residences
San Want Residences
#12 of 557 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
Howard Plaza Hotel Taipei
#74 of 557 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Taipei Hotel
Park Taipei Hotel
#56 of 557 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Green World Hotel - Zhongxiao
0.3 mi away
Royal Palace Hotel
Royal Palace Hotel
#151 of 557 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Want Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Want Hotel

Property: San Want Hotel
Address: No.172 Section 4, Chung Hsiao East Road, Taipei 106, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 557 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — San Want Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Fastbooking and Booking.com so you can book your San Want Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Want Taipei
Hotel San Want
San Want Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing