We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in Taipei: Rido AKA Waikoloa”
Review of Waikoloa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikoloa Hotel
Ranked #211 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I had stayed at the Dandy Hotel Da An before and was disappointed not to be able to stay there again on leaving Taiwan. So I checked out the Waikoloa, apparently now known as the Rido (Japanese ownership-- in Taiwan that is usually a good sign), and reserved a room there instead-- it's less than a block from the Dandy. I was able to reserve a room on a high floor with a view of the park. As it turned out, it was a very nice choice and just as comfortable and well-managed as the Dandy. The personnel could not have been more considerate, capable and helpful, the room was spacious, spotlessly clean, the bathroom luxurious and the bed very comfortable. All the amenities were there. The view was also lovely. I did not have breakfast there so I can't say how that was.

The location is great-- two long blocks from Yongkang Street, with all its restaurants and boutiques, and the metro is there. There is also a brand-new metro about to open up across the street, and buses east and west run in the center of the street. The Da An forest park is large, safe and beautiful across the street, the 101 skyscraper and its mall are down the road and the Flower, Antiques and Jade markets are one block away on the weekends. It is walking distance (about 20 minutes) from the Chiang Kai-Shek memorial Shi Da, the teachers' university, and a short bus ride from Tai Da, National Taiwan University.

The only things I didn't think were A+ were the decoration, which is a bit over-the-top, and the fact that the staff I encountered didn't really speak English very well. It was fine for me and I had no problems, but a complicated situation or any kind of problem would have been harder to handle. As for the decoration, it suffers from gaudiness, trying too hard to imitate elegance of the Hyatt Regency style: the large "European" murals on the atrium wall, which you see as you go up in the elevator, remind me a bit of the Haunted House at Disneyland, and there is a huge flower arrangement as you walk in from the street that overpowers the very small lobby. The rooms (I was able to see four of them) are all different. Some are in Chinese style with lots of red and dark wood; mine was complete with a Napoleon-and-Josephine type of chaise longue. I'm not complaining because it was all very fun and comfortable! But it was a bit of a Las Vegas version of Europe.

I would certainly recommend the Rido to anyone looking for a comfortable, conveniently located, not too expensive hotel in Taipei. I was very happy with my choice and congratulate the manager!

Room Tip: Have to recommend the rooms with a view of the park-- really puts you in a good mood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettyr408, 客戶關係經理 at Waikoloa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

DEAR SIR

Thank you choosing taipei waikoloa hotel as your accomodation in taipei .Thanks to your response and positive rating .We sincerely appreciate your positive comment .and looking forward to see your in the near future

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

My friend and I have had the absolute pleasure of staying at the Waikoloa Hotel for 5 nights, starting 11 November 2010. The room was great: very clean, cozy, comfortable, welcoming, with a huge tv and a variety of entertainment channels. The aircon was bliss, as we weren't used to the humidity outside. We especially loved the fresh fruit we got every day, as well as the free bottled water and other extras in the room. The service of the housekeeping staff is excellent! We went down for breakfast one day and when we got back, she had already serviced the room! All the staff are very friendly and professional and do their best to accommodate any request you have. The lounge area is very comfortable and their coffee is divine! Breakfast is fantastic. They give you a choice between an american style breakfast (western) or an oriental breakfast. Both is very tasty and filling. The fresh fruit and yoghurt spoiled us silly every morning! We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McDeePretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettyr408, 公關經理 at Waikoloa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Gusets,
Taipei Waikoloa Hotel and all my colleagues in the future will be more efforts to improve service quality, to show appreciation for your support. We pray for a happy and healthy! Best Regards, Taipei waikoloa hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

My brother and I stayed at the Wailoloa Hotel for 6 nights, from December 23rd until December 29th, 2008. Indeed, the rooms are a good value—quite spacious, comfortable, and plenty of amenities. We each stayed in a Deluxe room.

However, we were disappointed by a few things. First, we had contacted the hotel in November to make a reservation, request quiet rooms on a high floor, and to inquire into the possibility of construction noise. (See the preceding review.) Here is part of the reply we received:
------------------------
Thank you for the reservation.

1. Noted that your brother and you need separate room.
2. We do not have jacuzzi bathtubs for Delicate rooms. For your reference, there is jacuzzi bathtub for Deluxe room (room rate NT$3040) and Honey moon room (NT$3200).
3. Noted that both of you need High Floor.
4. There is no noise for the construction. Please do not worry about it.
-------------------------------

However, when we arrived at the hotel (quite late due to the flight), we were given rooms on the 3rd floor (the hotel has more than ten floors) at the front of the hotel, which is street-side and quite noisy. We immediately requested quieter rooms on a high floor, which we had initially requested. They didn’t have adjacent rooms, but they put me on the 10th floor and my brother on the 8th floor. They also gave us a free upgrade for that night only, putting us in Deluxe rooms (apparently, Delicate rooms were not available) at the back of the hotel.

Then at 7:30am the next morning, we were woken by construction noise!! This was the greatest disappointment, as we had been assured (from the confirmation above) that there was “no noise for the construction” and not to “worry about it.” We realized that there was probably no room in the hotel where one could escape some form of noise—there was either the traffic noise in the front of the hotel, or the construction noise on the east side of the hotel. Nevertheless, we requested quieter rooms. For some reason, they showed us “Delicate rooms” on the east side of the hotel which directly faced the construction site!! This was worse! We then tried to negotiate a reduction in the room rate, considering that one of their staff was clearly dishonest regarding the construction noise. One of the supervisors at the hotel wouldn’t budge. They refused to accept any responsibility and seemed to minimize the amount of construction noise. One receptionist even asked, “Aren’t you going to leave the hotel?” We finally requested that they reduce the room rate for ONE of the Deluxe rooms we were presently using, and they agreed to this. The construction noise continued unabated every day, from 7:30am till evening. Incidentally, the construction project looks massive. I would surmise that it won’t reach completion in less than a year. The reception staff at the Waikoloa also spoke very limited English, and it was tough to communicate at times.

Please be warned that construction noise will likely continue there until 2011. Apart from this, I would recommend the hotel for its quality rooms and convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tokyosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettyr408, 公關經理 at Waikoloa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Guests,
Thank you for choosing Golden Palace Waikoloa Hotel. We do apologize for the mistake about our room attendant. We feel deeply sorry for the inconvenience cause and we would improve the mistake right away. We do promise it would not happen again. Hopefully we could have opportunities to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

We were in Taipei for my brother-in-law's wedding and booked the room simply to avoid being stuck in an over-crowded apartment. We were definitely blown away by the hotel. My parents came last year and stayed at a hotel that was twice as expensive, but not nearly as posh.

Each room in the hotel is decorated uniquely and with such careful thoughtfulness. There were so many details to appreciate - from the trim framing the curtains of the wall-length window to the cove lighting accenting the crown molding to the etched glass in the door that served as a private entry to the bedroom. Also, all the "incidentals" that hotels generally try to make a racket off of were included with the room (bottled water, sodas, various teas, an amazing fresh fruit tray, small snack packages, and an unsurpassed assortment of bathroom toiletries).

The bathroom was absolutely incredible! (and completely westernized - for those who are familiar with Asia and the areas that are not so much...) Floor and walls were a gorgeous marble. The jacuzzi tub was large enough for a party.

One other reviewer mentioned that the location was not too good, but I believe that the ever developing Taipei has definitely changed since their stay. The hotel is located in the up and coming Dazhi district with the high-end Miramar Mall visible from the room's window. Currently the lot directly across the street from the hotel is empty, but looks like they are preparing to build. The (also included) breakfast buffet was great and included traditional Taiwanese choices as well as some pastries, cereals, etc.

Overall, the stay was relaxing and entirely exceeded our expectations. We appreciated each thoughtful detail provided by management and the polite, courteous staff.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lintaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettyr408, 公關經理 at Waikoloa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dear Gusets,
Taipei Waikoloa Hotel and all my colleagues in the future will be more efforts to improve service quality, to show appreciation for your support. We pray for a happy and healthy! Best Regards, Taipei waikoloa hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2007

this is a hotel which located in a small alley where you will never find it if you are not a local.
the interior is luxury and new, the marble-curved bathroom will definetly take your breah away!
you can find thoughtfulness of this hotel from details; showergel and lotion are quality products, you can even find sanitary napkins prepared for women.
The Waikoloa hotel could be put on the botique hotel list by its name and self; yet you might find the location is not very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank ontheroadTp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettyr408, 公關經理 at Waikoloa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Dea
Thank you for your response and the positive rating. We are greatly honored of your positive comments and pleased to know that you were satisfied with our services.
Your support is the motivation for us to continue trying to be the best. We sincerely appreciate your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at waikoloa Hotel in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2005

This is the best, quiet yet subtly glamorous hotel I have ever stayed in, and what a wonderful find in the middle of Taipei! The only downfall I can say about the Waikoloa may be its distance from the Taipei MRT station (about a 10 min walk) which was only slightly inconvenient.

The breakfast which is included in your room rate is wonderful, in plush & cushy chairs & carpeted cocktail room, with pleasant table service. The rooms are spacious and gorgeous, with every bathroom amenity you can think of needing. The cleaning service is impeccable. When we first walked in the room there were fresh lilies perfuming the room. The furniture, you can see in the photos, were beautiful antique-y without being overly gaudy. The bathrooms are marbled with deep japanese bathtubs & standing glass showers.

Don't expect large crowds or tourists in this hotel. The majority of guests are couples and business travelers. For me, that was a treat in such a busy city. Others may disagree.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank travelbugNewYork_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bettyr408, 公關經理 at Waikoloa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2016

Thank you for your affirmation Taipei Waikoloa Hotel colleagues, it would be a great encouragement to our positive forward momentum!
We are glad you had the chance to stay with us and do hope that you will try us again soon.
Best Regards,
Taipei waikoloa hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.2 mi away
Green World Mai - Nanjing
Green World Mai - Nanjing
#223 of 585 in Taipei
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beauty Hotels Taipei - Roumei Boutique
1.5 mi away
Rido Hotel Taipei
Rido Hotel Taipei
#95 of 585 in Taipei
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Meadow Hotel
Meadow Hotel
#498 of 585 in Taipei
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capital Hotel Nanjing
Capital Hotel Nanjing
#354 of 585 in Taipei
32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#164 of 585 in Taipei
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waikoloa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Hotel

Address: No.187 Chang Chun Road, Taipei 187, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £50 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikoloa Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Waikoloa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing