We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks and smells old”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Regal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regal Hotel
Ranked #481 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Looks and smells old”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

If you're on a thight budget, this place may be the perfect choice. But if you can extend your budget a little bit more, try doing so. The staff are courteous but the place is ill-maintained. Rooms smell like old carpet and the free breakfast is not recommended unless you're really hungry (one spoon I got still had some peanut butter on it). On a positive note, they have free wifi, though not in our room at the second floor. Wifi signal extends to some rooms though. Location is almost perfect because it's just a 3-minute walk to the nearest train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_Ayalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    39
    23
    11
    14
See reviews for
20
8
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Booked into this hotel for 1 night (our last night of our holiday) en route back to the UK from Japan. Despite the other bad reviews, we picked it solely because it was it was the cheapest hotel we could find in Taipei online at short notice, as we'd pretty much ran our of funds by the end of our trip. In hindsight, we both regretted this decision: this is an old, dank, out-dated hotel and as soon as you walk into the lobby the musty smell is overwhelming.

Our (double) room wasn't much better - it stank, and looked as though it hadn't been updated since the 1960s or 70s! Horrible carpets that I didn't even want to walk on in bare feet, and old fashioned "music" controls on the walls. The room was also really noisy - it's on a main road, with the MRT running opposite, and the walls are also really thin (we could also hear our neighbours in the shower!) Our shower took ages to even get warm, and the ceiling was low and covered in mildew. Urgh.

We strongly recommend you don't stay here! For an extra £20, splash out and stay somewhere clean and modern (we can highly recommend "Just Sleep", close to the Main Railway Station).

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScratchmyItch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taipei hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Check-in was mediocre. The english was passable, but not great. We were quite a bit early (we flew in on the red-eye). They didn't have any rooms available, but they did manage to get us rooms in about half an hour. It's very old fashioned and family run. No key cards and computer at their check in desk. (And when they say desk, they mean an actual desk). They stored our luggage in the lobby downstairs. We asked for single beds but they apparently only have a few rooms of this type.

The hotel itself is quite old. The lobby is an atrium that extends to the first floor above ground. Above that is the rest of the hotel with another atrium going up to the top floor. I'm not sure what Taiwanese fire codes are (I assume that this hotel meets it all), but I felt a little iffy there as there was 1 stairwell and the fire doors that stayed open all the time.

The rooms were okay sized for Asia. Some of the rooms we got were really small, some were okay. The rooms were all very dated and humid. The air conditioning doesn't work very well at all. The humidity inside was worse than outside. They had a dehumidifier in my room and I found myself empty the tank every 4 hours. The carpets were dirty so make sure you use the slippers. I found it ironic that the "drinking water faucet" had a do not drink sticker on it. They gave complimentary bottled water instead. The free wifi is weak and spotty, but they do have wired internet (the jack is on the bulkhead ceiling for some reason...)

Bathroom was clean enough, albeit very very lacking in privacy. There's a frosted glass wall/door that separates it from the room. You can see inside with it closed and hear everything. The whole bathroom is the shower room so be careful not to get the toilet paper wet.

The breakfast was not that useful. Choice was "meh" and the hours are short.

The exercise room is a joke. Tiny, incredibly dirty, hot and the equipment didn't work.

The coin op washer works. Laundry detergent is complimentary. Dryer is free, but it only works sometimes at best.

Overall the hotel was disappointing. It was economical, so for the price I paid (for a last minute booking at that) it was passable.

Room Tip: Bring a map. The locals don't really know where this hotel is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grounded500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

First time to book at this hotel due to the hotel I intended to booked with was full. My expectations was more of a professionally run 3-star hotel as per their website but apparently, the hotel seems to be a bit old and like a mom-and-pop operation. The lobby, concierge, reception was all in the same place. Although the room that I got was large for its price, I experienced some quirks on the first two days of my stay like the airconditioning takes a bit longer to cool down the room, the bathroom light was busted and replaced the following day & there were mosquitoes in the room. The only thing I appreciate with the hotel is the location. Since I was on a business trip, the hotel was a walk away from the train station and there were several places to eat nearby (or maybe Taipei is a place where places to eat are abundant?). Maybe if I were to stay longer, I would'nt mind these inconveniences for the price. Things could've been better if the hotel exerts the extra effort but I guess they are comfortable with their current target market.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saglim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

The hotel was near a subway station, and there were a couple of nice eating places around the hotel. Some of the staff were helpful, in particular the cleaning crew and the manager with the pony tail. The price is cheap but the hotel is rundown, very rundown. The carpet was smelly (old carpet smell), and the place is also very dim, with little light and no windows. The fridge was not working, and remain so even after we mentioned it to the hotel staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationBears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel looks old, which can be seen directly from its interior both in the lobby and inside our rooms. I understand the hotel tries to look as a classic victorian style hotel, but I personally am not fond with the design. Staffs were helpful and pretty quick during check-in. Breakfast was located at the 9th floor, we need to go to 8th floor by elevator and then walk up the stairs. The breakfast room was petite, small, and they did not offer much variations of meals, which is still acceptable for their rates. The location is not that nice, especially when you take the Metro since we had to walk 10-15 mins to the Metro station, and nearby shops and sightseeing were not that interesting for us. The laundry room is of no use since the machines are broken. One negative note is that both in our two family rooms, the door to the bathroom has a slight blank spot that people from outside the bathroom can see inside, which is not comfortable for everyone in my group.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The hotel location is good-fushing north road, very near to the songshan airport.So if you are travelling to any domestic locations it is easy..MRT station is also a few blocks away.Hotel has a small gym .The complimenteray breakfast was OK. hotel does not have any restaurant inside but it has many restaurants nearby. The plus point about this hotel is their staff- Excellent service,found them pleasant and willing to help,more over many of them speak English.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank una_shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
Songshan District
Tai Hope Hotel
Tai Hope Hotel
#335 of 565 in Taipei
29 reviews
Songshan District
Delight Hotel
Delight Hotel
#153 of 565 in Taipei
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taipei URTRIP Hotel
#258 of 565 in Taipei
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hotel

Property: Regal Hotel
Address: No.307 Fushing North Road, Songshan District, Taipei 105, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei > Songshan District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #481 of 565 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Executive Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing