We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed my stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beitou Hot Spring

Beitou Hot Spring
Book In Advance
More Info
US$51.99*
and up
Yangmingshan National Park and Hot-Spring Half-Day Tour from Taipei
Ranked #11 of 546 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed at Forte Beitou Hot Spring Hotel, and I really enjoyed myself. There was a private hot spring in my room, and it was super relaxing to soak in the warm tub every night. Would come back to Beitou if I visit Taipei again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    820
    268
    42
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hot Sping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Tried the hot spring downstream from where the Thermal Valley is. It's free and the water is warm to touch, but do it at your own risk as the water might not be clean.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiamsiapboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Private room - fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

If you go to Beitou, you must try going into the hot springs. Otherwise, there is no real compelling reason to come here.

After getting out of the Beitou MRT stop, you will see signage that points you toward the public hot spring area. On the way there is a free museum where you can see an old bathhouse, and then the Beitou Thermal Valley, where the water is bright blue and scalding hot, and you can buy 'tea eggs' from local carts in which they hard-boil various types of eggs in the water.

After this area, the trek uphill becomes noticeably more arduous. There is no reason to continue walking up, unless you plan to get a private room at one of the resorts in the area. We had no reservation and simply walked into one of the hotels and asked for an 1 hr hot springs room. It was less than $80 USD for two people and a great experience to soak in the water in privacy.

My suggestion would be to take a taxi up to the resorts, and then take their shuttles down. You will miss the thermal valley and the museum but they are not a long walk from the MRT station.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank robinsena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beitou Hot spring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Tried the public outdoor hot spring(TWD 40), single-gender hot spring house (TWD 100) and private room hot spring(400 or above)!!! (actually the price just reveal the interior decorations~) while for first time trial, all of them are fresh and nice experience!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank marnlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pay the money and get a private room or don't go on a Monday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I arrived to stay a Monday and a Tuesday night this is Beitou's quiet time where the museums and thermal valley are closed. Luckily I had paid in advance for a private room so I had a excellent time. We caught the MRT to Shilin and had dinner at the street market and came back and relaxed with a few beers and chu hi's in our private tub.

The second day we had our buffet breakfast had a post breakfast hot tub and went to Tamsui for the afternoon and dinner (its really not far on the MRT) then we headed back for another evening spa.

The water is amazing and I definitely don't regret going even though I went on a quiet day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Nikki669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Beitou Hot Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing