We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maokong mountain

Maokong mountain
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Private Taipei Night Tour: Tea Cuisine and Culture Discovery in Maokong
Ranked #18 of 547 things to do in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: The Maokong gondola stops at Taipei Zoo, Zhinan Temple and the Maokong station. The Maokong station stop at the top of the mountain offers a panoramic view of the city and visitors can try delicacies like noodles with tea oil and glutinous rice with bamboo shoots.
Beijing
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a great place to go and unwind. Take the cable car, or take a taxi or bus, and find one of the many tea houses. Yaoyue is one of my favorites. Make sure you order Wenshan Poucheng Tea ("wenshan baozhongcha).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Moezeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    350
    155
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seongnam, South Korea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A great place to spend a day.^^”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Great place to visit.
Cable car ride was lovely, fast and cheap.
Tons of cute tea houses. I ended up buying a ton of tea while here. Not only that but it was a great view!
If you walk around a bit there are some temples and a free tea museum.
***IT IS CLOSED ON MONDAYS!*** Don't be like me and try to go on a Monday, or you will have to go back another day...like me.
Go!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant scenery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Well, the maokong gondola was under maintenance for a week when I visited. So I had to take a public bus "15" that cost a few bucks up the mountain.

The whole place is literally filled with tea houses, so you may enjoy a cup of tea, have some lunch and enjoy the peace and surroundings.

Not sure whether this is true though, "Mao Kong" means "no cats", literally means the mountain has no cats? haha..

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pocky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy and fun for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Convenient and quieter than most other Taipei adventures. We were able to meet friends and bring our 10 month old and move all equipment easily. Choose the traditional gondola, if you want to avoid long lines.

Helpful?
1 Thank danoconnell81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3,368 reviews
1,906 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,523 helpful votes
“Locals seem to like it but overall a pretty average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The gondola ride to get to Maokong is by far the most impressive part of the visit. Once there all the paths seem to be along roads, so although there isn't much traffic you still don't really feel that you're escaping the giant metropolis of Taipei. Views are probably better on a clear day when the pollution index is lower.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KGB777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maokong mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing