We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable location and value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shin Shih Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shin Shih Hotel
Ranked #427 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reasonable location and value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel 3 times over the past few years. The reason i returned is because this hotel is about 5 mins walk from Shuanglian MRT station and a Evergreen Airport Shuttle Service bus stop from Taoyuan Airport. Good food around the vicinity, including a morning market.

The con of this hotel is that it is opposite a hospital, with the Emergency Department right in front of hotel entrance. No major disturbance though... The other cons are the hotel is a little run-down and the breakfast is terrible. But you can always find good local food few doors away.

Overall, rooms are clean, front desk polite, housekeeping staff are very friendly too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    72
    26
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
29
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Pretty small hotel but overall am satisfied with the hotel’s cleanliness, amenities and the front desk’s service. Location wise is quite convenient as Shuanglian MRT is just within short walking distance. In fact the MRT station itself is a strategic location which lies between Shilin Night market and Ximending. However, if you are a “light sleeper”, then I won’t recommend it to you! FYI, the Mackay Hospital(马偕医院) is just opposite to Shin Shih, the siren from ambulance could be disturbing at time when there is emergency case. .

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

After bad experience with other hotel nearby, we came across this hotel and went in to ask. They allowed us to view the room before check in. Finally stayed three nights. Friendly staffs.
Simple breakfast provided. Less than 100M from Shuanglian MRT station. Opposite is Mackay Hospital. Next few doors is convinience store and police station. Refer to our pictures for reference.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielJBMY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here and were very satisfied. We would stay again. The breakfast was repetitive and modest, but the location was great, an easy block from a metro stop. The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was modern. There was someone on each shift who spoke some English, but be sure to get them to write where you want to go in Chinese, as many folks on the street (including taxi drivers) do not. We also liked the dumpling shop between the hotel and metro where you order by writing with a grease pencil on the menu. They did have one in English--so ask for it.

We thought we preordered a taxi from the airport through the hotel, but they had no record. (Not sure where the problem was.) There is an ATM at the airport right before passport control and we had cash, so we hailed our own with no problem.

Room Tip: go for the Executive upgrade--larger, has a window, and is on the quiet side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

Value for money and convenient to public transport especially the MRT. Rooms are small but adequate for average sizes (I'm 1.68m tall) and shorter stays ( say up to five days?). Staff always helpful despite my very basic and poor Mandarin.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paddykhaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This hotel is located very near to the ShuangLiang MRT station on the DanShui (red) line. From the Taoyuan Airport, the ChangRong (Evergreen) bus stops very near to the hotel on the same side of the road.

The room is clean and some toiletries and slippers are provided. However, the double bed room is a little small for 2 person. After putting 2 suitcases, walking space is limited. From the hotel webpage, the twin room looks more spacious, albeit more costly.

In the breakfast room, there are 2 computers with internet connection. In the room, I could also tap on high-speed wireless easily.

Hotel staff are quite friendly and helpful with directions to places of interests.

Breakfast is Chinese - porridge, rice and some dishes, or Western - toast, eggs and ham. The dishes are varied every morning, but the eggs, ham and toast are the same. This might be boring for those who do not take Chinese breakfast. Neverthelsss, there are bakeries and a Starbucks, as wells as restaurants nearby. If these are insufficient, a walk away to the next MRT station will find even more choices!

The hotel is also very conveniently located to the Ning Xia night market (about 15min walk) and buses to other parts of the city, eg. bus #260 to YangMingShan.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Shin Shih hotel is a decent stay if you are traveling on a budget. The staff are very polite and accomadating. They were very helpful in directing us to the local bars, restaurants, shopping areas and night markets. The location of the hotel is fantastic. Tons of restaurants and shops nearby. Hotel is located beside a police station (which made us feel quite safe). directly across the street there is a starbucks and a hospital. Hotel is one block from a metro station and approx. 3 blocks from a night market.

However old and somewhat dingy, the hotel is very clean and comfertable. Rooms are relatively small, but include an in room safe, air conditioning, fridge (stocked daily with bottled water), toiletries replenished daily (including: 2 toothbushes, 2 razorz, hand soap, toothepaste and mouthwash), plasma television (with english movie channels), free wifi. Oddly, there was a sign beside our toilet stating that it is prohibited to flush bathroom tissue down the toilet. Having not seen this anywhere else in taipei, we decide to go ahead and do it anyway and there were no issues. Improvement is needed soundproofing the rooms, as it is quite easy to hear what is going on outside, in the hallway and in the parallel hotel rooms.

Tours are available for booking at the front desk (which i highly recommend), free breakfast buffet consisting of eggs, pancakes, coffee and fresh fruits are free daily to hotel patrons. Hotel also has computers in the lobby with free internet and Skype for its patrons.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to those traveling solo or with friends, or those on a budget, but not for those looking for a romantic getaway or those with five star tastes.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jr0we
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Lihao Hotel
Lihao Hotel
#431 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.1 mi away
YoMi Hotel
YoMi Hotel
#43 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wish Hotel
Wish Hotel
#268 of 564 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dahshin Hotel
Dahshin Hotel
#414 of 564 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwo Shiuan Hotel
Gwo Shiuan Hotel
#226 of 564 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
#28 of 564 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shin Shih Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shin Shih Hotel

Property: Shin Shih Hotel
Address: B1-F12, No.8 Minsheng West Road, Chung Shan, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #427 of 564 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shin Shih Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shin Shih Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shin Shih Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing