We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Service”
Review of Rido Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rido Hotel
Ranked #86 of 570 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very Average Service”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Squeaks into "very good" only because of decent breakfast and interesting decor.

NO WAY does this place deserve a high rating for service. There is no bell staff to help with bags, for one thing. Front desk staff unsmiling except for one (we stayed four nights), and very little English comprehension.

Location is not bad, with a 6 minute walk to the underground station and very nice view of the Da'an Park opposite. Awesome Shabu-Shabu lunch and dinner joint can be found about 4 doors west of hotel. Easy to catch taxis from the busy street out front.

Atrium design to the hotel means that nonsmoking floors are inundated with the cigarette smoke of the guests who puff away on smoking floors. We had to stuff a towel on the crack under the front door, just to sleep at night. And every time the maid cleaned the room (door wide open, obviously), the place reeked of cigarette smoke. This was a real detraction from the place.

Room decor is semi mind-blowing, with 3 "looks" available... Southeast Asian (we got an amazing Chinese type room with hand painted mural and carved wood everywhere), Victorian type (called "London") and modern (called "New York" I think). Great jacuzzi bath tubs, mini fridge, and if you pay extra for the park view, it's worth it!

But service-wise, this is still basically a three star hotel. I prefer the Brother Hotel which has good service and an equally good breakfast.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view rooms! Southeast Asia themed rooms are the most interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrugalMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidoHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Rido Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Dear FrugalMillionaire,

Thank you for your response and and pleased to know your suggestion of our services.

Your support is the motivation for us to continue trying to be the best.
We sincerely appreciate your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Rido Hotel in the near future.



Yours sincerely,

Daniel Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    129
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
76
102
34
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Very satisfied on the quality of this hotel given the price I paid for. Of course you cannot expect everything 5-stared, but they have the stuffs you need - toiletry items, slippers etc all in the room.

I picked the cheapest room thus I was not expecting any spacious view but this was not my concern. The hotel is roughly a 10 mins short walk from Dongmen MRT station - convenient stores etc all around the station within walking distance including the famous Din Tai Fung restaurant. There is also a hot pot restaurant right next to the hotel but I didn't try.

Very good breakfast with a variety of items to choose from - sausages, ham, scrambled egg, fruits etc. Only concern for this hotel is - it seems that they also provide "hourly rated" type of accommodation (met quite a few "suspects in the lift), but nevertheless I did not experience anything indecent. However this may not sound ideal for family travelers.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidoHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Rido Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Dear Derek K,

Thank you for your response and the positive rating.
We are greatly honored of your positive comments and pleased to know that you were satisfied with our services.

Your support is the motivation for us to continue trying to be the best.
We sincerely appreciate your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Rido Hotel in the near future.



Yours sincerely,

Daniel Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed in Rido in Feb,2013 for four nights. It is a situation at an extremely good location, with Dongmen MRT station 8mins from it. Going forward, the Xinyi line will just be next to the hotel (Da-An forest line)intersecting, Red,Yellow and Brown line.

Numerous shops and excellent eateries around at Dongmen Station, with the original Ding Tai Fung just at the Dongmen Station. To go to Taipei 101, just take a bus infront of the hotel and you will be there in 10mins. I hope there won't be any price increase after the line is up :)

The service in this hotel was excellent, they actually placed a Singapore flag in the room when doing housekeeping and I couldn't stop smiling about it hahaah. Pricing was excellent for this hotel. Huge jacuzzi bath in the washroom, which is excellent after a tiring day out there.

The only feedback was about the breakfast, it could be slightly better tasting.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silentscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidoHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Rido Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Silentscope,

Greeting from the Rido Hotel, Taipei.
We greatly appreciate your review describing your stay in Rido Hotel.
Your marvelous review touched us all and were pleased to hear we were able to provide you both hospitality and comfort during your stay.
We hope to welcome you back again and again for more anniversaries or anytime your travel plans call for a stay in Taipei.
Thank you again for your review.

Beat Regards
Daniel Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Lido Hotel has a good location,close to Da-An park,bus stop and five mins walking distance to MRT station. Even though the lobby is sort of small, but their staff are kind and nice.Our room is clean and comfortable,especially has a beautiful view, looks awesome!! I had a great time when I lived in Lido. It's a friendly hotel and I'll come back again,highly recommended in Taipei.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin-t73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidoHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Rido Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear justin-t73,

Thank you for your review and the positive rating.
We are greatly honored of your positive comments and pleased to know that you were satisfied with our services.
We are very very happy to know that you love us.
Your support is the motivation for us to continue trying to be the best.
We sincerely appreciate your encouragement and look forward to welcome you back Rido Hotel in the near future.



Yours sincerely,

Daniel Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Came back Taipei to visit my parients last year. They booked rido hotel for me. The location was very convenience. It takes 3 minutes walk to MRT station. The price was very reasonable and the quality of this hotel was excellent. This hotel is highly recommended in Taipei.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynthiaChang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidoHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Rido Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear CynthiaChang,

Thank you for your response and the positive rating. We are greatly honored of your positive comments and pleased to know that you were satisfied with our services.

Your support is the motivation for us to continue trying to be the best. We sincerely appreciate your encouragement and look forward to welcome you back to stay at Rido Hotel in the near future.



Happy Chinese New Year!

Daniel Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Visited this hotel several times. I enjoyed this place. People are friendly and helpful. The room is very comfortable and clean. Every time I visit here, the staffs allways say " welcome back". It really maked me fell like home. This hotel is my first choice in Taipei.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankGates1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidoHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Rido Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear FrankGates1953,

Thank you for your response and the positive rating. We are greatly honored of your positive comments and pleased to know that you were satisfied with our services. We are very very happy to know that you love us.
Your support is the motivation for us to continue trying to be the best. We sincerely appreciate your encouragement and look forward to welcome you back Rido Hotel ( your home in Taipei) in the near future.



Yours sincerely,

Daniel Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stay 3 nights and very enjoy it. Staffs are very friendly. Room is very comfortable. Convenient location. Fresh fruits in daily room service breakfast set. Great view from the room. It is a good hotel to visit again

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidoHotel, 客戶關係經理 at Rido Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Dear Kl N,

Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to write a review following your stay.
Your support is the motivation for us to continue trying to be the best. We sincerely appreciate your encouragement and look forward to welcoming you back to stay at Rido Hotel in the near future.
Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rido Hotel soon.

Happy Chinese New Year!

Daniel Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
0.2 mi away
Dolamanco Hotel
Dolamanco Hotel
#468 of 570 in Taipei
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel 73
Hotel 73
#15 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen
Chaiin Hotel - Dongmen
#139 of 570 in Taipei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taipei Fullerton Hotel-Fuxing South
0.6 mi away
Park Taipei Hotel
Park Taipei Hotel
#60 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rido Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rido Hotel

Property: Rido Hotel
Address: No.11 Section 3, Hsin-Yi Road, Da'an District, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Taipei
#47 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
#49 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rido Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rido Hotel is located at the center of Taipei Da-An district and facing towards Daan Park which is of 25.894 ha, Taipei Rido Hotel makes you experience a brilliant view as if staying in a mansion. Rido hotel is near the MRT Orange Line to Dongmen MRT station,go out from Exit 6 or 7,go straight about 350m. Also nearby are the Taipei 101, CKS Memorial Hall, Taipei Botanical Garden and Sun Yat-Sen Memorial Hall.Taipei Rido Hotel provides you a comfy and warm space and makes you feel like at home. Upon entering the lobby, the vintage and priceless hanging lamp immediately gives out a European sentiments and romantic atmosphere of medieval center, adding a sense of elegant to the hotel. A series of unique and creative suites allows every guest enjoys exquisite service quality and the artistically crafted hotel architecture features while in the busy town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rido Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rido Hotel Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing