We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meander Taipei Hostel
Ranked #2 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“not bad at all”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

1.There is no elevator, my friends and me had to brought our backpack to 6/f on foot

2. the corridor is quite hot, maybe because our late arrivel

3. The mixed dorm room also hot and we can't adjust the temperature of air conditioner

4.common area is big, but the chair and table is not enough, they're only provide three 8ppl-table in the common area

Caution!!
The ground of 6/f common shower room(I don't know other floor's) is black color, water can clearly showing the reflection of other room, it is a bad design

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VincentLo1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We appreciate your advice for making Meander a better place. We take every guest as our friends and family. Hope to see you once again in Taipei soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    88
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
30
236
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Fantastic hostel with the lobby and rooms kept in wonderful condition. The staff were all super friendly, could speak reasonably good English, and were very patient with residents that were inebriated. In addition, good food and a couple of landmarks were within the vicinity. Only negatives were that the top bunk on the triples got a little warm even with the air conditioning, and that any noise in the halls was noticeable.
Bonus: fresh sheets for your bed and a free locker tied to your card key.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time if you want to stay in a room with your travel companions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank fredleong92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeanderCrew, Ivan at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hello, thank you for the sincere review and support. We're glad to be helpful. Just remember that it's easy to get a cold when sleeping on the ground =P Hope to see you again in the future, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I love meander.Travis is hehe.
This is the best hostel that I have live.It is not just a hostel,it looks like a home.i love there.Really,the staff are kind and friendly,I love them,just like a family.Miss that.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaka0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
HAHAHA, Thanks a lot, my dear hehe friends. I MISS and LOVE you all!!!!!! =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It is a really cosy and comfortable hostel located near one of Taipei's main shopping areas. It is pretty accessible from the Ximen station although it can be quite a walk but that really isn't much of an issue. Travelers MUST pack light when staying at Meander because there are no lifts and the staircases can be rather steep and narrow; especially for those staying near the top floors. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They are always ready to provide you with suggestions on how to improve your itinerary, provide directions or to even call a cab for you. They can speak English so language is not an issue. Rooms are pretty comfortable and the size of the room is alright. Toilets, both en suite and common, are clean. The entirely place is pretty modern with free wifi throughout the entire hostel. Laundry facilities are available as well. I really will consider staying here again if I visit Taipei, if I don't it is not because they are bad but because I want to see how other hostels compare to Meander =)

Room Tip: Avoid one near the stairs if you do not want to be disturbed in the morning by people lugging their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wesley95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers to let them know there's such a wonderful place to relax, chill and make friends. We truly appreciate your help to make Meander more well known. Meander will always welcome your return. Look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I used here for traveling on my own. The staffs are so nice and friendly:)) location,first I lost the way to hostel.but you can find! Not difficult. Room is clean,shower room too.good security.i think want to stay again.

一人旅で利用。スタッフの方々はとてもフレンドリーで親切。片言の英語でも優しく答えてくれる。立地は西門駅から10分ほどで便利。始めはカーブで隠れててわかりにくかったが、覚えたらとてもわかりやすいところ。部屋は清潔感あり、シャワールームもトイレも綺麗。
ぜひ、また利用したい。

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aaaaay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you so much!! We also enjoy the time spent with you while your staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I'd say that the place is quite nice. Design is appealing to the eyes. Facilities are user-friendly (despite the long walk up stair-cases). Love the free water-filling and clean toilets. Beds are reasonably comfortable. Workers have good communication skills (English), energetic and helpful. Would recommend young people to give it a try! :D

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sun H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
There's nothing much better than hearing the encouragement from our guests, which is really heartwarming.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Meander Taipei is a new, clean & modern-designed hostel situated in the heart of Ximending...pretty close to the MRT station. I'm pretty surprised and impressed of the size of the common area/lobby; it is so spacious and comfortable! One downside would be, I got my room at the 6th floor and it's quite a battle to climb all the way up there lol And I stayed in this 6 mix dorm. The room is pretty small and it's equipped with 2 Triple bunk beds. Overall, it's a pretty good experience staying at Meander.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Luo Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeanderCrew, Travis at Meander Taipei Hostel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Every hard work we've done worth once you're satisfied with your choice to stay at Meander. We're grateful for your encouragement. Your any advice and suggestion are what meander crew will be dedicated to for making here a better place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
C U Hotel Taipei Branch
#36 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Songshan District
Ambience Hotel
Ambience Hotel
#6 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Just Sleep Ximending
#21 of 570 in Taipei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uinn Travel Hostel
#3 of 241 in Taipei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Wanhua District
TW Hostel Taipei 1st Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meander Taipei Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meander Taipei Hostel

Property: Meander Taipei Hostel
Address: No.163 Chengdu Road, Ximending, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 241 Speciality Lodging in Taipei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Meander Taipei Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meander Taipei Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing