We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Enjoyable as Always”
Review of Ambience Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambience Hotel
Ranked #5 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have made several visits to the Ambience in recent years and always enjoyed them. The Elite rooms are spacious, with very comfortable queen-size beds, rain showers and a bath. On my last visit, I was upgraded to a corner room in another category. But I found the noise from the adjoining room very loud (walls too thin, unfortunately) and was glad to be 'downgraded' the follow day. In-room snacks are complimentary, as are tea and cakes in the coffee shop in the afternoon.

For price and friendliness, the Ambience is hard to beat. Unlike some other reviewers, though, I find the breakfast options disappointing. That may be my fault as I usually only arrive around 09:45 before the buffet finishes at 10:00. I also dislike the 'live' violin music which is played on some mornings. The violinist plays well, but with hard surfaces on walls, floor and ceiling, the noise is too loud for what I feel should be a quiet breakfast time. But other guests seem to enjoy it - and it's an easy walk to a nearby Starbucks with its fresh juice and muffins.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Fountainhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineChang0408, Supervisor at Ambience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at Ambience Hotel.

We are so happy to be interacting and communicating with our guests and truly appreciative of the time it take to relate your experience to us and other travelers. Your kindly suggestions would be great motivation for improvements in our business.

Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to service you and We all sincerely looking forward to serving you in the future!


Yours sincerely
Catherine Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Six of us stayed here from August 1-8, 2014. This rates as one of the top hotels in the world in terms of service, in my experience. Even though this is a 3 star property, the service is better than most 5 star properties. I would say, the service is comparable to the 7 star, Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok.
The rooms are comfortable and super clean. Room service and house keeping are very prompt. The staff are simply awesome. The reception and restaurant staff deserve special mention. F and B staff member Candy made our mornings great with her warm smile and hot chocolate milk for everyone. The entire staff were extremely polite and accommodating. All sorts of requests, at all hours were handled with utmost care and professionalism.
One of the members of our group, said that the place felt like home. I guess nothing more needs to be said. I would recommend this place to anyone without second thought.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krishnamurthy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoHuangTaipeiinn, supervisor at Ambience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear krishsubbu,

It was great to receive your highly recommend about Ambience Hotel. We are honored that we not only pleased you by our room facilities and environment but also by breakfast.
Candy were very cheerful to know that you mentioned their service here. I will also let them bring this serving experience to our other staff to ensure that your will feel even better next time you come back. We definitely will keep trying to do better and better.
Thank you for taking your precious time to write this review. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Taipei

Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Ambience about a month ago. As previous reviewers have stated, the staff is hip, polite, caring and efficient.
Just a tip...we took the airport evergreen shuttle to the Evergreen Laurel Hotel and walked to Ambience... No problem!
To top everything off, the found out that I was celebrating my birthday while there. The surprised us with a knock on the door and a beautiful cake from one of the best bakeries in Taipei.
Like I said...they do it well!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoHuangTaipeiinn, supervisor at Ambience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Mr. Melo1,

On behalf of Ambience Hotel, I would like to thank you for such a positive review of our hotel and for sharing your experience with fellow views on TripAdvisor.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Yours Faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

first of all, it is easier to find a hotel to go out entrance 1, zhongxio xinsheng station. weather is too hot, so you need a sunglass or hat. 2nd, room is comfortable and staff is kind. 3rd, i was unsatisfied to be heard to next room's noise. may be my room is too close to next room.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank 유영 진
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineChang0408, Supervisor at Ambience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay at Ambience Hotel.

It is wonderful to hear that you've enjoyed our service and appreciate for the overall positive rating for the hotel. Regarding the room can heard next room voice. We will try to solve the problem.Our aim is to deliver the best possible service to our guests and we are glad that you fully enjoyed your accommodation along with everything else we offered. The staff will be very pleased with your feedback.

Thank you for taking your precious time to write this review. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Taipei


Yours sincerely
Catherine Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Having stayed at the Ambience for a few years now, it is apparent and clear that their service level is very consistent , the rooms are well maintained and the overall experience is very satisfactory.

Ambience is one of those GEMS thats a rare find and once you experience it, you get a WOW experience.

Though its a boutique hotel, it does have all the facilities one would expect from any major establishment.

Lobby : White color theme , looks trendy

Breakfast : Served till 10am with a decent spread from local delicacies to Western choices

Coffee and Juices : Served all day , just go to the bar and help yourself

Rooms : I have tried 3-4 of their rooms, they all are very modern with Grey and White color scheme. Very neat and tidy. All Rooms ending with -01 are the corner rooms and are very spacious with floor to ceiling windows. Washroom in these rooms are also quite large with a huge bathtub along with a rainfall shower option. WiFi is available throughout the hotel at no charge and there is an Entertainment TV system in all rooms at no charge as well.

Housekeeping : Very efficient in maintaining the rooms neat and tidy

Reception : Very helpful , English, Japanese, Chinese speaking. They do go out of the way to help assist with directions. Taxis to airport can be booked in advance too.

What is around : Take the first left from the hotel and the whole street is full of restaurants ranging from local fresh seafood options thats open very late ( even after 2am) and some Japanese restaurants. There is MOS Burger and Pizza Hut not to far away but in another direction. A few convenience stores are also in the area. All in all, there is plenty options to eat and drink available.

How far from airport : Around a 40 mins cab ride , sometimes even less or more depending on traffic.

To sum up , hotel is clean and modern , boutique with very friendly staff , rooms are all well equipped and there is a lot of options to eat and drink in the area. True value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank need2share
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineChang0408, Supervisor at Ambience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow TripAdvisor viewers. your comment is such a great encouragement to us.

It is always delightful to receive compliments from our guests and we are happy to know that you liked the equipment, breakfast and service. Your support and nice experience is the motivation for us to continue trying to be active every day.

Thank you once again for your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit.

Yours sincerely
Catherine Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The room size was a lot bigger than most hotels in Taipei at similar price range. Breakfast was fantastic(both eastern and western) and they also provide a free afternoon tea/snack sandwich. Wifi signal strong, TV very large, huge shower, courteous staff, basically everything for the price(I got a very good deal) was way above what you'd expect.

The only slight negative was that on the day we left, I saw afternoon cafe area staff chatting with a guest and allowing the guest to use their towel to dry dishes and handle food behind the counter. I'm pretty sure this guy was just a guest who had become friendly with the girls because he also stayed at the hotel. Now there are sanitary standards and when you don't know whether the guest washed his hands(he did go to toilet a couple of times) he should not be allowed to handle the dishes and food & go behind the bar while chatting to staff... if not for this I would've rated Ambience 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeoHuangTaipeiinn, supervisor at Ambience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Mr./Ms.Andrew C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are greatly honored of your positive comments and I am pleased to know that you were satisfied with our services.

We sincerely appreciate your encouragements and feedbacks so that we may provide even greater comfort and enjoyment to our guests in the future. The entire team forward to welcoming you back at Ambience Hotel very soon.

Yours faithfully
Leo Huang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Extremely high recommended for stay. Spacious and well maintained rooms makes you feel comfortable. The bed is really comfortable. Breakfast menu and quality also very good. free coffee available at the lobby. The service of staff is prompt and they are friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AliceSandah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineChang0408, Supervisor at Ambience Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing Ambience Hotel and taking your precious time to share a review with us. It is wonderful to hear that you've enjoyed our rooms, breakfast and services . Your feedback is very important to us, it drives us provide better service.

Thank you once again for your compliments and should you have any further suggestion or inquiry, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your future visit.

Yours sincerely
Catherine Chang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
1.0 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Daan Park Branch
1.6 mi away
Taipei Garden Hotel
Taipei Garden Hotel
#23 of 578 in Taipei
1,653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Just Sleep (Lin Sen)
Just Sleep (Lin Sen)
#12 of 578 in Taipei
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CityInn Hotel - Taipei Station Branch II
0.7 mi away
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
Cosmos Hotel Taipei
#35 of 578 in Taipei
3,384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Just Sleep Ximending
Just Sleep Ximending
#16 of 578 in Taipei
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambience Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambience Hotel

Address: No.64 Section 1, Chang'an East Road, Taipei 104, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei > Songshan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £64 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambience Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the most anticipated project combining the visionary talents of famous Taiwanese architect Wei Ming Lee and designer Ted Su, led by an ambitious and dynamic team of hospitality professionals, Ambience Hotel is the first offbeat and contemporary boutique hotel designed to breathe style and excitement into Taiwan's capital city. Ambience Hotel's 60 avant-garde guestrooms and suites feature a unique decor blend of polished steel, glass, white granite and calf-skin leather upholstery. Completed with free high speed wireless internet access, Video-on-Demand movie system, and luxurious Botanicus bath and body products, Ambience Hotel provides the service and amenities of a luxury hotel within a strikingly modern yet intimate environment. Combining comfort, functionality, and cutting edge design, Ambience Hotel is the ideal place to stay for business and pleasure in Taipei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ambience Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing