We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua
Ranked #283 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 17 November 2012

5pts-Everytime passby reception, they will greet with smile that warms your day.
5pts-Got a room with tub n jacuzzi(not all rooms have). Room are tidy everyday with all towels n sheets changed. Size of room i think is fine with me for what i paid.
5pts-Location is good, cross a very small road, which is the starting for shopping day in Ximending. 5Min walk to Ximen station. Mos burger is just beside it. Behind is a stretch of food stalls..
3pts-Breakfast same everyday, maybe should try different menu everyday.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located at the end of XiMenDing away from the hustle n noise. 5-7mins walk to subway. Food street n shopping is just 3mins walking. I stay at the deluxe twin n really satisfied with the quality of rooms n bathroom. This hotel strictly goes by check in 3pm so if u arrive early be prepared to pay for early check in or wait till that time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

good location with shopping and dining around you. near to metro station. my room is the one without window, quite small. toilet with a bathtub but no curtain, water splash everywhere when you're taking a shower! simple toiletries, better bring your own stuffs. free simple snacks and drinks. my bed is 2 queen combine to form a super big king, but you'll not feel comfortable when you sleep in the middle. friendly front desk staffs. ** big noise always heard when you're inside the room, especially in the middle of the night. and there are 2 speakers on the ceiling directly on top of the bed, it will suddenly play 'ding ding ding' which is really weird! overall it is an average hotel but with a very good location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nudefashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Love this hotel. Excellent value, fantastic location being so near to Ximending but yet located away from the hustle and bustle. Cabs are plentiful outside, the train station is only a 5 min walk away. The walk takes you past the shops so its a nice walk.

Food is readily available all around and theres a 24hour Mcdonalds nearby and a MOS burger just beside it. Staff are extremely friendly as well.

The only negative point would be that the bathroom does not have a floor trap so after you take a shower, the floor is wet to the point of being flooded. A little inconvenient but nothing major. Don't understand why it was designed this way though, doesn't make much sense to me.

Superb value! Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sevenage07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is my first return trip to Taipei after a break of 39 years. Much have changed but the hospitality remains the same excellent standard. The Hotel is relatively small and basic, providing just a hall that serves breakfast to hotel guests. I booked directly with the hotel for their smallest room, as it is the only type that has a large shower cubicle (instead of a bathtub.) These rooms also have the advantage of facing the main road offering a nicer view. No, it's not noisy. The room itself is a tad small. We had a hard time stashing away our shopping trophies. Ximending is just across the road, where you can shop till you drop. There is a taxi stand in across the road but awaiting taxis are right in from too, which makes it easy for us to go elsewhere. The Hotel is also well known enough for you to catch a taxi ride back. Just be sure to mention it's the one in Zhonghua.

On our final night we returned around 6 pm to find our room not cleaned up. A quick call to the front desk and they gave us a clean room on the top floor immediately.

I will probably stay there again but I may try the East Dragon Hotel a few steps away. It's older but cheaper, and has bigger sized rooms. size.

Room Tip: Don't take your breakfast too early or you'll be bombarded by irritating Mainland Chinese Gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HelloAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

day shift reception staff attitude is not great to start with. give one the feeling like you are a bother to her. night shift staff however, is really friendly and always greet you with a smile.

rooms are nice and good. took a deluxe room with a window. do take note that some of the rooms comes with no window. bathroom seems to be better than some other 3 star hotels. comes with the massaging function.

location is the main draw for this hotel. it is like 5 to 7 mins walk from Ximen MRT station. Ximending shopping district is just across the road. there is even a 24hour MOS burger fast food restaurant just next to the hotel.

might go back to the same hotel again. travelers do take note that one can only check in to the hotel after 3pm. i paid TWD390 in-order to check in at 1pm.

Room Tip: always go for deluxe or better rooms that comes with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndrewSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

The location is probably among the best if you'd like to stay at Xi Men Ding (XMD) area. MRT station is within 5-min of walking distance. It's a straight walk along the ZhongHua Road, there's no need to maneuver around the small lanes inside the XMD shopping area which can be confusing.

But the size of the triple room is definitely too small for 3 adults with 3x 25-inch luggage bags!:-) It's more like a small twin room converted to triple room. However this is kinda compensated by an over-sized bathroom which made up about half of the whole room!

The pillow and mattress we had are of sub-optimal quality which affected our quality of sleep somehow. But I hope this is just an individual case and not common across all the rooms.

The thing I like most is you can have a seat inside the cafeteria with complimentary coffee (coffee machine). This is good especially if you've a night flight, already tired of all the shopping and just want to have a rest before going to the airport... :-)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edmund_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Wonstar Hotel - Ximen
Wonstar Hotel - Ximen
#301 of 578 in Taipei
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airline Inn Taipei Zhong Hua
0.0 mi away
Muzik Hotel Ximending - Ximen Station Branch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Orange Hotel - Ximen Taipei
0.0 mi away
Green World Hotel Zhonghua
Green World Hotel Zhonghua
#123 of 578 in Taipei
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
Hotel Puri Ximen Branch
#110 of 578 in Taipei
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua

Address: No.82 Section 1, Zhonghua Road, Wanhua District, Taipei 108, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £58 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wonstar Hotel Zhonghua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing