We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for excellent value! Enjoyable stay too!!”
Review of Dong Wu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dong Wu Hotel
Ranked #140 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My spouse and I liked the "home" feeling once we checked in to Dong Wu Hotel. This was the reason for choosing the same hotel for our second visit to Taipei in March 2014. Again, we had an enjoyable stay!

Location:
The hotel is next to the Family Mart and the 7-Eleven store is just a few steps away. Infront of 7-Eleven store, there is a bus-stop where we took the public buses (274 and 699) to Taipei Main Station within 10 mins. Also, it is convenient for us to travel around on our own by metro line from Daqiaotou MRT Station.

Cleaniness, Room & Service:
We are impressed of the upkeep of its hotel facilities in high standard. The guest room without window (Economic SGL type) we stayed for 3 nights, is very clean, cozy and comfortable
The hotel management is thoughtful to provide a heater in the guest room when comes useful during winter season. Guests are provided with the in-house printed copies of Taipei metro train route map and its location map around the vicinity for our handy guide.
Hotel staff are polite and helpful. Overall, their service level is prompt and reliable.

Value:
Direct online booking with the hotel, can enjoy 30% discount rate. Moreover, the discounted room rate includes daily buffet breakfast. Best is the check-in time at 12PM. Highly recommended for the excellent value!

All the best to Dong Wu Hotel in Taipei!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Owlnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 79 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

Traveled from March 20 to March 25, 2014 with husband and parents. Very nice location as it is very near Daqiatao MRT station, around 10 to 15 minutes walk. Reasonable price, at around 90 SGD a night which includes buffet breakfast! Very clean, quiet and staff are very accommodating!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enialra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I was in Taiwan for a business trip, and I spent a few days at the "Dong Wu Hotel".
Very clean, central location, extremely friendly staff. Breakfast of good quality, although not extremely wide choice of products.
Overall: absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarmerSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Dong Wu is not located in the centre of Taipei. However, its location felt safe and there is plenty of street food just seconds away. The hotel is also only a 5 minute walk from the metro station and there is a convenience store next door. A 5 minute walk away is also a big carrefore, as well as a fantastic tea shop where the multilingual owner really knows his tea. Cab to the centre costs 150-200 TWD and takes 10 minutes. Cab to the airport costs about 1000 TWD and takes about half hr. Hotel staff were friendly and speak good English. Room was very good value and size, clean and comfortable for most people- I found the pillows a bit too squishy for my liking. Having good quality oolong tea and a beautiful teapot and teacups to serve it from in the room was a bonus! There was a good selection available for breakfast, although definitely more catered for the oriental. Was nice to have fresh soya milk for breakfast, mind you. The only Western foods seemed to be sliced bread and jam! Our only problem with the hotel was the music in the corridors of our floor could be clearly heard, annoying us and keeping us up!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I have already stayed this hotel before and I felt so comfortable,therefore I decided to stay this hotel.The room is so clean and luxury the same as before.The restaurant is clean.They have really good services!i would live to stay this hotel next time!

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank Miragro4415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I booked this hotel over the internet to have a night before and after my tour. I was very happy and Kimberly at the reception will amaze you with her English. The room has a wide screen tv with full cable, a modern bathroom, and a small fridge. They supply coffee and tea to make in the room. The free wifi is excellent. The location is great and the night market is a short walk away. I don't know if there is a gym or pool.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williamd_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Dong Wu is a nice hotel. We stayed there for 5 nights for CNY and paid approximate US$100 for a room for 3 people including breakfast, I thought it should be a good deal. Everything was fine and adequate. The location is good also, just 5-10 minutes walk from the subway station.
Overall, our stay was pleasant and satisfactory.
Some minor drawbacks : our room was like a rectangle. You can just watch the TV on the sofa but not in the bed. The wifi signal is not strong enough. For breakfast, it will be much better if the bacon and scrambled eggs can be hotter.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kennethchan121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.4 mi away
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
CU Hotel Taipei Branch
#74 of 585 in Taipei
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taipei Morning Hotel
Taipei Morning Hotel
#44 of 585 in Taipei
423 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ark Hotel - Chang'an Fuxing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
IF Inn
IF Inn
#257 of 585 in Taipei
42 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sunroute Taipei
Hotel Sunroute Taipei
#108 of 585 in Taipei
411 reviews
2.2 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#100 of 585 in Taipei
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dong Wu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dong Wu Hotel

Address: No.258 Section 2, Yanping North Road, Datong District, Taipei 103, Taiwan
Phone Number:
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 585 Hotels in Taipei
Price Range: £44 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dong Wu Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Dong Wu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing