We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and services”
Review of Royal Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Palace Hotel
Ranked #173 of 574 Hotels in Taipei
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights in early July, took an airport bus there and the stop was only a couple of minutes walk away. Very central location, room tidy and spacious. Free mini bar and fast wifi. The staff were very polite, most impressed me was when I went back to the hotel late at night the staff at the reception all stood up to welcome me. The price was reasonable too, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 8leung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
There are newer reviews for Royal Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is 5 minutes walk from either of 2 MRT stations, Sogo (3 of them), and a wide variety of shops, boutiques and restaurants, so it's extremely convenient. If you can get breakfast included in the room rate, it's taken in the Japanese restaurant next to the lobby and there's a wide choice in the buffet ranging from cranberry juice, French toast, omelettes to salad, congee, a noodle bar and sushi. There's a freshly ground coffee maker also.

The standard rooms are small and they will not put an extra bed in them. If you need one, they have only a few triple rooms or else the deluxe rooms or standard suites can accommodate an extra bed. The top floor rooms look a bit more special and seem to open out onto a private roof garden, although I'm not sure. Rooms facing west or south are brighter.

Service is great but if you can't speak mandarin it may be a bit tricky. The coke, pokka and nestea drinks in your fridge are free and refilled daily as is the fruit. The lobby has coffee and tea making facilities free of charge. Housekeeping is done daily and efficient and you can request that linen is not changed daily to help the environment. Staff are all friendly, diligent and courteous. Umbrellas are provided outside the lobby doors.

The small minus points are: there's no pool, the gym is tiny, and you wouldn't want to have business meetings in the hotel. There's an annoying thing with reservation where they will never commit to 2 adjacent rooms or 2 rooms of any type other than standard size even if you book 6 months in advance. I don't know the reason for this but in the past I've decided to stay elsewhere because they couldn't guarantee 2 adjacent rooms. If they could sort this out it would be much better for families.

All in all I'd highly recommend this hotel for any tourist or family visit to Taipei.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Potato100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

As an avid traveler to Taipei, I have stayed in numerous properties near the center of the city. Royal Palace is so popular that this was the first time I was able to book a room there.

This hotel stands out in its convenient location and values. It's located in a part of Taipei that's known for good shopping and great restaurant options. It's also a 10 min cab ride to 101 and other business areas. The metro is 5 min walk away.

The service is personable. Unlike other new and hip hotels in Taipei, they mostly have older and more courteous staff, who seem to be working there for years.

Considering how many years the hotel has been in service, the room was clean and well-maintained,. This is not usually the case with the other older hotels in Taipei, where most have just started to renovate in meeting the explosive growth in recent years.

For a low to mid price range (below 4,500 TWD) hotel, it offers decent value. I have heard its breakfast buffet is excellent from other locals, but did not sample it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dionysus38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The location of the hotel is very good, with a lot of shops and restaurants around. But it is a bit worn out. The toilet is clean and spacious, but the cutlery found in the room was really dirty. Staying there for two nights, we found the same dirty ones placed at the same place.
The front desk receptionists are very helpful, efficient and polite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leemargaret87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is the hotpot and sushi restaurant in the Royal Palace's lobby. Don't go there. It's overpriced. And the quality is mediocre. They close the kitchen at 21:30, We asked for another beer at 930 and were told we couldn't have it. Other serving gllitches. Folks, there are plenty of good restaurants near this hotel. But not this one.
I put 5 stars here becuase I dont want to hurt the hotel and there's no listing for this restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalCouple123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

4 nights I have stayed here in Royal Palace, and it's a good Hotel. Located in quiet lane , and within 3 minutes walk to MRT Fuxing Station (Bannan Line).
My 4th visit to Taipei, and now I will always return here as it's the best value and location I have had in this nice city.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elliot749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

the hotel is conviniently located in the taipei downtown area with a subway station only about 30 seconds walking distance.(I'm not kidding, it's really right over there.)

They also provide airport transfer with a slightly old mercedez s-class for about $50~70 per way.(can't remember an exact amount. you should check out their website, but it wasn't too expensive.)

The room was cozy with not much of a view, but the location compensated everything for me.

The hotel's breakfast restaurant is a Japanese shabu shabu restaurant for the rest of the day, and I think it's really popular among the locals. And it was good.

If you are looking for a reasonable price hotel with a great location, you def want to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.1 mi away
Eastin Taipei Hotel
Eastin Taipei Hotel
#209 of 574 in Taipei
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deja Vu  Hotel
Deja Vu Hotel
#169 of 574 in Taipei
158 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Want Hotel
San Want Hotel
#100 of 574 in Taipei
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Green World Hotel - Zhongxiao
0.2 mi away
Les Suites Taipei Daan
Les Suites Taipei Daan
#93 of 574 in Taipei
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Home Hotel DaAn
Home Hotel DaAn
#94 of 574 in Taipei
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palace Hotel

Address: No.81-1 Section 1 Da-An Road, Taipei, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £70 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Palace Taipei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing