We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped, no views, no gym, poor breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
THE Tango Taipei NanShi
Ranked #113 of 578 Hotels in Taipei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I was in a standard room on the third floor. The room was tiny. The views are non existent- just 20 feet from the next door building.
THere was one remote controm for all functions in the room, but it only worked occasionally. Very frustrating.
The breakfast was very poor. No information or menu. No western options (no omlette or eggs or bacon). Only one choice of cold cereal- a sort of coco flake. There was a mosquito hovering around the dishes of nuts, so I did not think it wise to try them.
There is no gym at all.
The only good thing is that you can get out of the hotel and have a proper breakfast in the Mall opposite.
I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

My family and I stayed 4 nights at the Tango Nanshi, and were treated to a really amazing stay. The service at the front desk and restaurant was wonderful: the staff was unfailingly courteous and gracious, always ready to assist us in just about everything. They responded to our every request and promptly attended to our needs. In particular, front desk staff Yuna Wu and Cliff (trainee) stood out with their pleasant personality and helpful attitude. At breakfast, waiter Bacika Wu went the extra mile to get us food that we wanted but that had run out at the buffet breakfast. We did not even have to ask him for it because he was attentive and noticed that we did not have much on our plates, and asked if he could get us anything else. The hotel itself is located in a great location: right next to the MRT station and within walking distance to food, (both street stalls and restaurants) and shopping. The rooms were also very comfortable, clean and beautifully furnished. One thing that marred our stay was the poor room cleaning: a few times, our bins were not cleared and drinks not replenished. But the front desk staff immediately remedied that once we alerted them to the issues. On the whole, this is one hotel that we plan to make our regular getaway in Taipei!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel in Feb 2012 and loved every bit of it. It is conveniently located very close to amenities eg. right opposite Shin kuong Mitsukuoshi departmental store, few mins away from Nanshi train station). Room size is a bit small, however with good arrangements of furnitures you won't feel uncomfortable at all. Love the long bath in the bathroom with jacuzzi settings, the heated toilet seat is a plus during cold weather!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank em436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here in Jan 2013 and found the rooms to be very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was delicious as well. But mostly we found the staff to be extremely helpful. We slept really well here, enjoyed the spa-like bathroom and would happily come back.

Room Tip: I'd avoid the front of the hotel, as it's in the middle of vibrant Taipei, which is a 24 hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GFGSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This hotel was selected by a colleague so I had no idea what to expect. The price was right and I was only in Taipei for a night. The front desk staff were all very nice and very helpful throughout my stay. The buffet in the morning seemed a little sparse, but it did the trick. All in all, it is a nice basic hotel. Convenient, quiet, clean, friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countstrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The soundproofing can be improved as neighbors were heard on several occasions. However, this is nothing serious since the volume is quite low. The room is a little small but very well-equipped!

Tango Nanshi is located very near Zhongshan Station Exit 4 and taxis are aplenty. The 7-11 underground offers easy access to food or rather supper in forms such as instant beef noodles and bentos. Breakfast is decent with western and Chinese selections.

The staff are very helpful and ever ready to render their assistance. The experience at this hotel is more than pleasant. I will definitely consider staying here again should I visit Taipei in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lia_ricals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Nice little boutique hotel with clean rooms, great amenities and best of all, excellent service staff. I'm very happy to have chosen here to stay for my trip. The location is great too as close to the subway line as possible. There is no swimming pool, hence the neutral rating.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpenzakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taipei hotels
0.0 mi away
Royal Inn Taipei Nanxi - MRT Zhongshan Station
0.1 mi away
Dandy Hotel - Tianjin Branch
0.2 mi away
amba Taipei Zhongshan
amba Taipei Zhongshan
#74 of 578 in Taipei
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
THE Tango Taipei ChangAn
THE Tango Taipei ChangAn
#162 of 578 in Taipei
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
THE Tango Taipei LinSen
#175 of 578 in Taipei
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chian Huei Business Hotel
Chian Huei Business Hotel
#359 of 578 in Taipei
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THE Tango Taipei NanShi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THE Tango Taipei NanShi

Address: No.3 Nanjing West Road, Zhongshan District, Taipei 10444, Taiwan
Region: Taiwan > Taipei
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Taipei
#52 Romantic Hotel in Taipei
Price Range: £82 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — THE Tango Taipei NanShi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your THE Tango Taipei NanShi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tango Nanshi Taipei Hotel Taipei
Tango Nanshi Hotel Taipei
Taipei Tango Nanshi Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing