We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hostel for a couple nights in Bangkok”
Review of Baan Dinso Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baan Dinso Hostel
Ranked #23 of 628 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hostel for a couple nights in Bangkok”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Baan Dinso is located near the Democracy Memorial and the Wat Suthat with its Giant Swing. It's about a 10min walk to Khaosan Road, which makes it's location pretty central. It's quiet and quaint and absolutely beautiful. My favourite part were the shared bathrooms with the cute sinks and little details. I got free breakfast, which was ok although the eggs tasted a little off. I was traveling alone and did not feel that this was the best place to meet other people, better alternatives would have been directly on Khaosan Road, which is backpacker central and where I ended up spending a lof of my short time in Bangkok. The staff at Baan Dinso spoke very little English but were still helpful and attended to any needs I had. My room was equipped with aircon, which is absolutely vital in Bangkok. There is a fridge and a free 'mini bar', which consists of a couple of snacks and water, as well as tea & coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sarahdietz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    67
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
119
68
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have found through booking.com this pleasant hotel, In Munic we had no idea exactly where this accommodation was located. A big surprise was this central location close to major attractions. We found us in a house with a background of beautiful traditional style and and friendly welcome. We will come back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikore2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked Baan Dinso through Booking.com, it wasn't the cheapest room around but still only about $40 per night, I didn't want to stay in a hostel dorm room so it was a good alternative. I arrived very late and the taxi driver thankfully was kind and took me right up to the door. The house itself is very cute with some nice decorations. My room 201 was tiny! A small single bed, 3 coat hangers and not much else. However it felt safe and was clean.

On my first morning I asked receptionist for directions to the temples, it was a painful experience as she spoke minimal English. The hotel is situated down a back-alley and there is very little to help you navigate to anywhere. Not a good start for my first solo-trip abroad. I did eventually get my bearings and actually the location of the hotel is pretty good. 5 minutes to Koh San Road and 10 minutes to the reclining budha and other temples.

Breakfast was a choice of Thai or American style. I was unimpressed with either and they were tiny portions. They offer no lunch or dinner or drinks, so if you want anything you have to go back out onto the main road to the 7Eleven.

The biggest positive was that they let me leave my luggage with them for 3 weeks while I was travelling in Vietnam. Totally free of charge. Very sweet and I had no hesitation leaving it there in a secure room downstairs.

Overall I would recommend Baan Dinso, just be aware of what you get for your money. It is not a luxury hotel, but rather like staying with a young slightly disorganised family!

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest single room (201) try to get a room with en-suite....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Munchkin8it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Absolutely beautifully decorated, clean, nice breakfast (at their lovely terrace).

Also at a great location (about 10 min walk to Ko San Road).

I could think of only 1 negative, and that's that the staff's English could be better. At another hostel the receptionist could give me better tips about excursions and such, because his English was better. But the staff was very nice though.

I would recommend this cute, lovely hostel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inesje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I happen to know the owner, Khun Mam, who started this Baan Dinso from O background in hospitality business. So, it was quite amazing how no standard prototype like international chain hotels could win several awards. All was from her genuinity of service-minded heart and sincerity to customers.

Baan Dinso was right in the middle of Bangkok old area surrounded by local yummy food. Just come out of the hostel, there is this Chinese noodle soup shop at the corner of the alley. Cross over to the other side of the road, it's Krua Absara-home-style cooking.

Value for money and just feels like visiting an old friend's place.

Stayed March 2557, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Janejit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzern
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

with that accommodation i've got a perfect start into my 3 months southeast asia journey. even though i've booked with agoda, when i arrived at baan dinso the got me an upgrade for free into the bigger room 101. the staff is very friendly, the kitchen (breakfast) is deliciouse. the atmosphere around the hostel is quite calm whilst the popular partystreet is only 5 min to reach by walk.

i can recommend this place defintely !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AomLuzern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Had a very good stay for a few nights here (was lucky upgraded to twin room, which ed perfectly clean), very conveniently located, beautiful and clean hostel, nice breakfast and lovely staff, I'll come again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Dancko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
Villa Phra Sumen Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Banglamphu
Feung Nakorn Balcony Rooms & Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Old Capital Bike Inn
Old Capital Bike Inn
#1 of 628 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Dinso @ Ratchadamnoen
Baan Dinso @ Ratchadamnoen
#61 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Banglamphu
Baan Noppawong
Baan Noppawong
#13 of 628 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Dinso Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Dinso Hostel

Property: Baan Dinso Hostel
Address: 113 Trok Sin, Dinso Rd. | Borvornnivate, Pranakorn, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Dinso Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Baan Dinso: Bangkok's beige beauty! 10-minute walk from Khao San Road, Baan Dinso invites guests with beige walls, original copper fittings and endearingly creaky teakwood floors fill this dainty former nobleman's house, the nine rooms with cable TV, snug beds and floral curtains. Unlike most hostels in the vicinity, the service is sweet, staff use your first name, a hearty American breakfast is served on the patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Baan Dinso Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Dinso Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing