We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely the best hostel in Bangkok if not in all of Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Refill Now!

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Refill Now!
Ranked #182 of 1,155 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely the best hostel in Bangkok if not in all of Asia”
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed there several times as a solo traveller, with friends and most recently with my partner. It's a real oasis in the city - all white and calm, great comfy beds, impeccably designed in every way. Ron, the manager is superb, and always a fascinating source of info - either on things to see and do or on Thai politics or life in general. The pool is a great addition. There's also a great coffee shop and restaurant in the area as well as market stalls, and the river taxi is an interesting and quick way to get into the city.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggsy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    39
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
21
42
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Brilliant hostel!! Very stylish, modern, spacious and clean with great facilities and friendly staff. I can't speak highly enough of this place and my photos don't really do it justice. Go to the site and have a look for yourself: http://refillnow.co.th/

The owner is really friendly and an all-round top bloke. He really helped my partner and I out when we arrived (we got drenched after getting caught in a storm) and he was also very patient when I staggered in drunk..... I've also heard first-hand stories of him helping out other travellers.

I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone and will almost definitely stay there again next time I am in Bangkok. The one - albeit slight - downside is the location. The hostel isn't as central as some places but this is a blessing in disguise as it's in a quiet part of town and taxis / tuk-tuks are cheap and there's also a sky-rail station close by.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freo_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2009

The Refill Now! was the best hostel we visited during our three months journey through southeast asia. In fact, it is rather a hotel than a hostel. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. To give you an example: We left some luggage there for six weeks and were not sure whether we could return to Bangkok because of the airport closure in December 2008. The staff at the Refill Now! offered us to send us the luggage – really kind and the best news we got back in those days. However, we made it to Bangkok again and were very happy to stay there and meet Ron, Rohul and all the others again.

The location is really cool, it is a designer hotel completely designed by an architect who partly owns the place, it is spotlessly clean (you could eat from the floors), and just around the corner you have a nice market both at day- and night-time where you can eat the most delicious food. The area is not very touristy but upscale Thai, so you will feel like a local and get your bit of Thai lifestyle – we loved it.

You can get easily to both the Skytrain (Ekamai or Phra Khanong station) or the Klong water taxi to get around the city and to the Grand Palace area (check it out on http://www.refillnow.co.th/). And it is even convenient to get by taxi to the airport, as the highway can be easily reached. The only thing which was smaller than expected is the pool – but we were fine with that. It may appear a little bit expensive, but you get an awful lot for your money. It is really value for money. You should not compare the price to any dodgy Khaosan road guesthouse as it’s a completely different thing. Go there and check it out for yourself if you want to get to know the cool and Thai part of Bangkok rather than the touristy Khaosan road.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the staff, the location and the cleanliness.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Nick013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2008

Refill Now! was a great find in Bangkok. Its not like any hostel I've ever been to. Firstly, yes- it is on the pricey side compared to other hostels in Bangkok, you are practically paying hotel rates in what is effectively a hostel but its so nice you end up not minding at all.

I wasn't sure what to expect from the place - its located out to the east of the city and the only way you can really get to and from the hostel from central Bangkok is using taxis or the ferries on the canals but that is cheap, quick and fun (if smelly). Located right in a real residential area its a great way to stay in Bangkok and a million miles away from the hordes of the Kao San Road.

Once you get there though, its worth the effort because the owner was the friendliest man in existence. He knew exactly who we were as we walked up the drive and helped us in with our little amount of luggage and always enjoyed a chat and did everything he could to help- like all the staff actually. Its very new, clean and shiny and has the feel of a boutique hotel, all chrome finishings, graphics and white surfaces etc.
Myself and my partner forked out a little extra for a private room which was lovely as two of the walls in the room were floor to ceiling windows looking out over the local roof tops, but even the "dorm" rooms are split up by white blinds making self contained "rooms" with 2 bunk beds a piece.
Food and drink was good (if a bit pricey for those used to street prices) and massages could also be booked and performed inhouse as well - most recommended!
We were only there for two days but would certainly recommend it, the owner even looked after our bags free of charge on our final day and let us back upstairs to wash and shower before arranging our taxi to the airport in the evening even though we'd "checked out" about 10 hours before.

Service was faultless, the place itself was fantastic- the only real drawback was the price - but it was a little something special after a long time on the (budget) road.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyPriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chic Hostel
Chic Hostel
#101 of 1,155 in Bangkok
91 reviews
Sivalai Place
#171 of 1,155 in Bangkok
165 reviews
Ari
The Yard Hostel
The Yard Hostel
#1 of 1,155 in Bangkok
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunshine Apartment
#722 of 1,155 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Dusit
UMA Residence
UMA Residence
#135 of 1,155 in Bangkok
111 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#5 of 1,155 in Bangkok
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refill Now!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refill Now!

Property: Refill Now!
Address: 191 Soi 42, Soi Sukhumvit 73, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 1,155 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Refill Now! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Refill Now! Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing