We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money in the heart of busy Sukhumvit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Ranked #404 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my families. Easy access to Nana station, about 800 metres away. If you don't want to walk, can always ask the hotel to send you to the main road using their buggy. The hotel is very clean, and the staff are hospitable. Only that topmost floor seemed to be quite heaty.. since bangkok is very hot in april. Halal food is available at Sukhumvit soi 11 and 13 you can walk there. Breakfast is standard.

Wifi is also free, they will give you username n password.

You can request the hotel to send a pick up van upon your arrival in bangkok.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyrora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

Found this hotel to be great value for money. Had a little bit of a mix up with the pick up from the airport but I was quite happy with how it was handled once I rang the hotel. Had a superior room. Fond the rooms decorated in simple attractive style. Comfrotable beds. No room or street noise. The tuk tuk service to the main road was excellent. The breakfast was simple but well prpared for western taste. Loved hanging out at the street level coffee shop and watching Thai life slide by. This will be the first hotel I check in this area from now on.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed at the Salil hotel in March 2013 for 2 nights.
The hotel is situated on Soi 8 off the main Sukhumvit road - I would say its a good 5 minute walk to the Sukhumivit Road, which is not a bad thing, considering it can be noisy.
We stayed on the 4th floor with a view to the rear of the hotel - I would suggest that this is a better option than the front as there's not much of a view to the front and at the time we were staying there was a lot of building work being carried out in the area.
We booked online when we were in Bangkok and found a room for about 1400bht.
The room was fine, bright and clean, decorated tastefully.
Be careful with the complementary water - the branded Salil water is free but the other stuff isn't.
The hotel offer a tut tut service to the end of the road, however we never used it as the walk was pleasant.
Most hotels in Thailand offer free wifi and this is no different.
For the money this is a good hotel and you wont be disappointed.
I would stay here again when Im next in Bangkok.

Room Tip: We had a good night sleep on the 4th floor - not facing Soi 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stuart d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel is complete with the essential facilities to stay in.
I stayed in the Superior Room for 3 Nights and it caters to my taste for a holiday.
The room is equip with Bathtub, Safe Box as well as a small fridge.
Although it is like 5 mins walk to the main road and Nana BTS, the complimentary tuk tuk service from the hotel is 24hours to take you to the main road.
It is also 10 mins walk to the next station Asok (Shopping Mall that YOU have to go - TERMINAL 21).

Overall it is a lovely place and am definitely staying there again.

P/s: I actually requested for a smoking room.
As most of the rooms are non-smoking room, I was given the room with a small balcony right out my room and smoke there:) You can see the small lane that we have to walk pass to get to the main road.
& dont worry if you dont have small change for your money, there are 2 7-11 nearby the hotel and you can just change into smaller notes there.

Room Tip: -Smokers should really get the room by window or the one with Balcony like mine(I think that's t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SafarinaSalleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Valued guests,

Greetings from Salil Hotel Soi 8,

Thank you very much for kind rate us a very good and happy during staying with us. We are glad to know that our accommandation and all staff services meet your expectations. We wish you to choose us for your next visit with us and we keep going on our best services to you soon.

Best regards,

Surinya P.(Ms.)

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Salil Hotel in 50, 50/1 Soi Sukhumvit 8 | is a very quiet area within walking distance of Sukhumvit Rd near to Terminal 21 and SkY train Nana station! very good and quality breakfast service; room very confortable but cleaning could be better, however, recommend it to all travelers!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Charming comfort hotel with great atmosphere and location. Excellent and friendly service throughout the stay. This is a "5 Star hotel" with a 3 star price that i will recomand to any travelers. I will defently be going back next time i visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olav E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

If like me you're not into multi-star glitz - where you could be anywhere in the world, but prefer the opportunity to experience more of the local atmosphere without sacrificing the essential home comforts, then the Hotel Salil in Soi 8 should suit you down to the ground.
Located almost at the end of a surprisingly quiet street, running off the bustling Sukhumvit Road right at the Skytrain's Nana station, the Salil is a comfortable abode with adequately appointed, good sized (not too small, not too large) rooms. The (included) buffet style breakfasts include Thai dishes as well as the usual cornflakes/toast and jam etc offerings, and eggs (scrambled, omelette, fried) are made to order. The coffee is good and strong, but alas the'fruit juices' are more lke lolly water and mostly best avoided.
All the staff are friendly and very helpful, and the electric buggy is available 24/7 if at any time you don't fancy the 7 minute walk to/from the station. Personally I enjoy the stroll (who wants to rush in the Thai humidity?) and the street has plenty of interest, including many bars and eateries, lots being right on the street and great for just relaxing and people-watching. There are of course the usual tailors, travel agents, ATMs and massage opportunities as well, and two 7/11 convenience stores for cheaper drinks and ice creams, not to mention the mobile local-food stalls complete with tables and chairs which come and go with amazing rapidity.
Following a late arrival on this my second visit I reported some issues with my room the following morning, and I was immediately transferred to another room without drama. I had a fourth floor room by request, these being reported on my first visit as being the more recently refurbished, but in reality found no discernible difference to my second floor room, except it was perhaps a little quieter.
I have no qualms about recommending the Hotel Salil as a good place to stay in Bangkok.
JZ Australia February 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rosebankianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Sawasdee Hotel @ Sukhumvit Soi 8
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 16 Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Legacy Express Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8

Address: 50, 50/1 Soi Sukhumvit 8 | Sukhumvit Rd., Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#133 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £34 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 is a small boutique accommodation with Thai-colonial architecture. The hotel is centrally located in Sukhumvit Soi 8, only 2 minutes by Golf Cart to the Nana BTS Sky Train station. All main business districts, shopping centers, restaurants and tourist attractions are in very close proximity. The Suvarnbhumi international airport is only 30 minutes away. The 30 luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated in Thai-Colonial style which provides you with the ultimate bygone era in Thailand experience. The 25 sqm Superior rooms and 35 sqm Deluxe rooms are fully furnished and equipped with deluxe amenities. The hotel provides free wifi internet and free shuttle service to/from Nana BTS Sky Train Station 24 hours. Thus, Salil Hotel is suitable for both the business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salil Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing