We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad and Very Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
Ranked #391 of 880 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Good - The room was great. Nice comfortable bed. Very Clean Bathroom. Very clean room. Also a great bonus to have transport up and down the soi to the main road.

The Bad - I arrived at the hotel to be told my credit card didn't work in their payment system, so I needed to pay on the spot, ok, that was easy and I did that. BUT I had no idea whether the payment had or hadn't been charged to my account. Everything I had said confirmed, so I was a little annoyed about this. I looked through their paperwork and their paper records had all the correct details on it, even my CCV number.

At Check-in, I was advised of a 1000 baht deposit for the room especially as I had just paid for the room. In no prior correspondence had I been advised of this. It is also not written on their website either.

Internet would not connect, router issue. BUT there was no one who could fix it when I called. This is inexcusable, you should train all staff to be able to reset routers, this is one of the reasons I chose this hotel.

The Very Bad - The last annoying thing was my credit card details(including CCV) were all printed out in hard copy, which means they have my credit card details available and insecure. I suspect they are being held electronically also.

I had booked direct with the hotel because the rate was actually cheaper than with Agoda or Booking.com but now they have all my personal details and credit card and they wouldn't even give me the sheet so I could destroy those details.

At least Agoda and Booking.com do not keep these records.

I might stay again, but these things need to be addressed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Shayne R ,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. My associates and I are happy that you have found our entire staff friendly.

But we are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

At Salil Hotel, we do try to strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We apologize you about your wondering insecure of credit card. We are guarantee that hotel system secure for guest credit card enough. However, we will training our staff for this situation cause to explain clearly.

Please let us know when you intend to visit Bangkok next time and we will personally see to it that everything will be well. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you better in the near future, Please do not hesitate to email at info@salilhotel.com

Best Regards,
K. A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
There are newer reviews for Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 174 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel was recommended one the receptionists in nearby hotel when I checked out to explore the other hotels in the area. At the first seconds you step in the hotel you are feeling like almost coming home. The staff was very friendly and helpful and not too formal yet very polite. The hotel is quite small at the end of Soi 8 in a very quiet area. The golf car shuttle service will deliver you at Sukhumvit street near the Nana BTS in no time, also walking down the soi where you find 7/11 and wide variety of restaurants and bars won’t take much time.

Only downside I found was the somewhat loud A/C which I had to keep off in the night time. The temperature was still tolerable in the morning and was compensated by the smoothing silence of the hotel.

Thanks to Pat, Cathelaine and all other staff for pleasant stay... and especially not forgetting Pitta:)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markuskk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi markuskk1,

Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments .We hope to welcome you back again soon to experience yet another memorable stay with us.

Sincerely,
w.sirikul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I travel to Bangkok very often on business. I'm not yet paying for an apartment here so I normally stay in a selection of 3 to 4 hotels in the Sukhumvit Soi 8 - Soi 10 area.

Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 is my preferred hotel when I am on a budget and do not want to pay for a swimming pool. The location is perfect, towards the end of Soi 8. Meaning it's near to the BTS sky train, yet in a very quiet location. There is a free 24 hour tuktuk to the BTS station at the top of the road.

In summary, the hotel is small, clean, quiet and friendly. Nice rooms, free WiFi with decent speed and normally a free breakfast. Many people come off the street to pay for the breakfast. Strangely I always get a good sleep here. This is not always the case in the more expensive hotels I stay in. The peace and quiet you can get here really makes this hotel a winner.

What separates this place from the rest of the offerings on Soi 8 is the friendly staff, especially on the reception. They are fun and happy in their work. Always smiling and sharing jokes. It's the main reason I keep coming back here time after time. Miss Pitta is extremely efficient and also fun to deal with. She has a great sense of humour. With her adorable smile, cheeky quips yet very efficient service she really helps to give the Salil hotel a home from home appeal which many other hotels I stay at simply cannot achieve. The housekeeping staff are also very good.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I prefer a room at the front, although the rooms at the back are even quieter, not that noise is a p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello LeoNeil,

Your wonderful compliments made my day and my associates and I are truly happy to have given you a great experience here at Salil Hotel Bangkok. We would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at “Salil bangkok, sukhumvit 8”.
Sincerely,
w.sirikul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I find that this hotel is situated in a very good location, it's walking distance to one of the BTS station and there are a couple of good bars/restaurant around the area with two 7-11 stores that we could get anything we needed from.

Room wise, it's small and cosy. Exactly what we needed for a short trip, we weren't in the room much but it was kept very clean nonetheless and the bed was comfortable.

The staffs were very helpful as our visit there clashed with the protest that just started in Bangkok and they were great to guide us on how to get around to the airport through the fastest route.

I would go back if I was going to stay in the same area again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarletFey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear ScarletFey,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. So happy to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality and We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely
w.sirikul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

we spend 1 week at Salil.
Hotel itself is small but valuable for the price.

The best part is staff who make hotel feel like home.During our week one of our friend was sick and left alone in hotel while we went out to work.
Khun Wan head of house keeper help to look after her and when my friend not feel well she helps to drop my friends at hospital.

Clean hotel, safety for woman or family who travel.
Right in the middle of City but end of the road make it quiet and peaceful for sleeping in the night.

Highly recommended.


  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hello Whan501,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service. I will certainly share your kind words with all our team. We all look forward to welcoming you back to “Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8” soon.

Sincerely
w.sirikul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Room was a bit cramped, but comfortable. Staff are quite friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was good. Wifi works well (a bit slow) but you have to keep re-connecting to it (their set up requires you to re-enter your username and p/w each and every time you reconnect to it - PAINFUL!) Soi 8 is a good location, close to shops and restaurants and the sky train is right there, but the hotel is at the end of the street, so a 5-10 minute walk. They have a shuttle to take you there and back - it's almost always available to take you from the hotel to the intersection but not when you come back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalilManagement, General Manager at Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear travla67,

a big “Thank you” for your wonderful compliments and we sincerely hope to welcome you back again soon.
Sincerely
w.sirikul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Salil Hotel is in a great location in fabulous Bangkok, rooms are clean and comfortable ideal location and excellent value, food at the restaurant is also worth checking out. Staff are friendly and helpful especially Ad the bellman and golf car driver.

Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prayoonsirimek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 11
Sukhumvit
Sawasdee Hotel @ Sukhumvit Soi 8
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 8 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit - Soi Thonglor 1
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8

Address: 50, 50/1 Soi Sukhumvit 8 | Sukhumvit Rd., Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#133 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £27 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 is a small boutique accommodation with Thai-colonial architecture. The hotel is centrally located in Sukhumvit Soi 8, only 2 minutes by Golf Cart to the Nana BTS Sky Train station. All main business districts, shopping centers, restaurants and tourist attractions are in very close proximity. The Suvarnbhumi international airport is only 30 minutes away. The 30 luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated in Thai-Colonial style which provides you with the ultimate bygone era in Thailand experience. The 25 sqm Superior rooms and 35 sqm Deluxe rooms are fully furnished and equipped with deluxe amenities. The hotel provides free wifi internet and free shuttle service to/from Nana BTS Sky Train Station 24 hours. Thus, Salil Hotel is suitable for both the business and leisure travelers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salil Hotel Sukhumvit Soi 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salil Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing