We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and quite stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri
Ranked #107 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2008

My wife and I are frequent visitors to Bangkok for holidays and normally choose 4 to 5 star hotel there such as Intercontinental and Holiday Inn. We both love this hotel and will definitely come back again. The upsides of this hotel are many

1. Excellent location – I totally agree the previous review that you should not underestimate the importance of good location. The hotel is within 5 min walk to the nearest BTS and within accessible distance to central world, Big C and other good shopping areas. This avoids a lot of bad experience to deal with some cunning taxi drivers in Bangkok.
2. Spacious and clean room – the rooms are very modern furnished. I lived in Grand Deluxe room for 3 nights and later moved to Suite room for 2 nights. Both rooms are very spacious, which are well equipped with some fine facilities such as microwave ovens, washing machine, mini hi-fi set, umbrellas and so on.
3. Spectacular view in high floor – can see a huge golf field. This reduces much tension of the trip.
4. The facility floor is interesting – it has a quite reading room and a big theatre room.
5. The spa is excellent – very professional and friendly staff. The price is on the high side but still reasonable when comparing to other spa in most 5 star hotels. Of course you can easily find better deal if you are willing to go out the hotel.

The downside is that the restaurant for breakfast is a bit crowded for some days. But it is acceptable to me, since the staff is very efficient in general. Regarding other bad comments, luckily I did’t have such encounters. The bell staff was very friendly and helpful. The check-out was very smooth. The taxi driver they arranged for me was OK except the one to the airport the driver didn’t want to use meters but bargained a higher amount. I must say this is not the first time I had this and got a similar bad experience when I lived in Holiday Inn. So I think those poor taxi drivers should be the ones to be blamed.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Thailover08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2008

This was truly one of the best hotels i've stayed in! I booked one Bedroom executive suite which was huge!!We had an office room(used it to put our luggage), one bedroom with LCD and DVD player, one living room with LCD and DVD player and one kitchen with a big fridge, microwave and a washing-drayer machine(so convenient!!). Everything was spotlees, modern and NEW!!The batheroom was huge also! You could have danced under the shower!The hotel is very central, right next to the biggest shopping malls.Ok, the staff did not speak a very good english, but they were very nice and helpful!We had a problem with the toilet and it took them less then 10 minutes to fix it!I would DEFINITELY stay again at the Grande Centre point Ratchadamri!!

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Metaphore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2008

I stayed for several months at this hotel.

In a nutshell, this hotel is a 5 star property with a consistently zero star staff.

The Good
The rooms are new, modern and ready to function as an apartment for long or short stays. Each room has its own temperature control with a very efficient air con system that can get as cold as you can imagine. The views are spectacular, especially from the very high floors that overlook the Royal Bangkok Sports Club (http://www.rbsc.org) which is a golf course surrounded by a horse racing track. The apartment has a washer-dryer combination that is quite good and a fully stocked set of dishes and cooking essentials.

The location is very good. It is a 5 minute walk to the Bangkok Transport System (BTS) elevated train at Ratchadamri station. Do not underestimate the importance of being close to the train as you can get many places in the city in less than 20 minutes or less; Siam Paragon mall or the popular night spot of Saladeng in 5 minutes. The trains run from early morning until midnight and the cost is very inexpensive.

The "facilities" floor is outstanding with a very large and tropical pool, reading room, media (big screen TV) room, kids play area and a room for tea (mostly used for watching TV and reading the newspaper). There is also a small convenience store on this floor for water, drinks (no alcohol) snacks and toiletries, -extremely convenient if you are staying more than a day at this hotel as there are no grocery stores close by foot.


The Bad
The problem with the hotel is the bad service. The staff are simply incompetent. Check in and check out can be a nightmare (I did both several times during my stays). The staff seem incapable of doing the most simple tasks. In one event the staff charged someone else's credit card for part of my bill, and a week later asked me to come down with my credit card statement and help them straighten in out (I did not). They later figured it out on their own but then handed me someone else's credit card receipt, with the full credit card number and all on it. I handed it back to them and told them it was the wrong receipt and it had someone else's credit card number on it, but they smiled and told me "you can keep it, no problem". I shredded it for them. There were also at least three large billing errors where I was charged for things I did not purchase, room service I did not have, etc. Review your billing carefully before you leave. I strongly suggest you ask them to prepare your bill two hours before you want to check out. You will still be delayed, but you will wait less.

The bell staff downstairs are useless as they actually seem to avoid work, and sometimes hide behind their desk in the far corner and sleep in the lobby at night. One note about the bell staff, do NOT take a taxi from the hotel unless you are familiar with Thailand, speak some Thai or are with a Thai national. The taxis "provided" by the hotel seem to be in "cooperation" with the staff and offer to take you to places you don't want to go such as jewelry shopping, clothing tailors, and special massage parlors. The bell staff will even offer to get you a taxi to the airport with no meter, which is illegal in Thailand. Skip the taxi from the hotel and walk one minute to the end of the street and hail a taxi there.

The cleaning staff is nearly good, but they fall short of good because their supervisor likes to come into your room, sometimes without knocking, following your cleaning to check to see if your room was cleaned correctly. I was walked in on 3 times by the same supervisor, over three days, no knock, nothing.

The breakfast staff is also nearly good. It appears to be run by an efficient English-speaking Thai national (I'm actually not sure about this so my apologies to her if I am incorrect) but the staff seem to be flustered by simple requests. The staff who make french toast, eggs and dim sum (out on the patio) have a difficult time keeping up with more than one request and often tell you to come back in 5 or 10 minutes to get your request, even if there is no one waiting, and 40% of the time the order is wrong. One more thing to keep in mind about breakfast, --go early, the hotel is sometimes booked by Chinese and Korean tours and many times the group floods the breakfast area at one time. Go early and avoid the crowd.


The Result
If you are tolerant and patient, and if a superior room is more important than bad or inept service, then this hotel/serviced long-term stay apartment is the property for you. Discounts for long stays are substantial over the daily rate with a minimum of one month for long stay rates. The hotel has an on-site sales staff to negotiate longer terms and special situations. Lower floors are for the two bedroom apartments, while higher floors (with the very best views) are one bedroom units. The exception to this are the 3 bedroom units which occupy the very top floors of the building.

  • Stayed: December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank davevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank 진훈 정
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unser Zimmer war im 40 Stock , schön ruhig .
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank remosreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Verakappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANON K, Resident Manager at Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ANON K, Resident Manager at Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grande Centre Point Terminal 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri

Address: 153 / 2 Soi Mahatlek Luang 1, Ratchadamri Road, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#69 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#78 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#97 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £88 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri 5*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri. Paradise amid the City of Angels Savour a heavenly stay in an urban paradise where sophisticated, world-class facilities meet heartfelt service. Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri is a refined oasis in the heart of Bangkok. The hotel is just minutes away from the central shopping district of Ratchadamri. Its location offers easy access to local landmarks, diverse entertainment and fine dining options – from the upscale Siam Paragon and CentralWorld designer malls to inexpensive bargains at the ManeeyaCenter, Amarin Plaza and President Tower Arcade. The city’s pulse beats just moments from Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grande Centre Point Hotel Ratchadamri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Centre Point Hotel And Residence Ratchadamri
Grande Centre Point Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing