We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queen's Garden Resort at River View
Ranked #577 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Brisbane
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tiny tired rooms”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

As the Queens garden resort was closed we ended up at the great residance, it was very hard to find, the room we stayed in was tiny and as basic as a prison cell.

The restaurant and food was actualy very good and the staff were ok to deal with, the transfer to the airport went smoothly.

I would not stay here again and would go elsewhere for sure

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BribieDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    135
    96
    40
    16
See reviews for
24
64
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have stayed at the Queens Garden Resort in the past and found it perfectly satisfactory. However the basic fact is that, as you may eventually ascertain to your regret, the real Queens Garden Resort is now closed (not that the website makes this clear). No problemo (for them) as you will be sent on to the "Queens Garden Resort at the Great Residence", quite a different establishment, and frankly this was not such a great experience. The rooms are pretty tatty and worn-out and I am not a huge fan of the "shower sitting above the toilet in a tiny bathroom" concept. To the fair, the restaurant was fine and the transfer to the airport worked well.

However, there is no value here, so look elsewhere as there is lots of competition.

Room Tip: Don't!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brisbanepete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

This place is exactly as advertised. Very basic furnishings and very affordable, less than 5 minutes drive from Suvarnabhumi Airport. We didn't expect much as it was $30 US for airport transfer both ways plus the room. Room was simple but clean.Staff was nice. We ended up spending the morning there and the food was surprisingly good and decently priced considering that it is mostly for travellers. I will definitely stay here again should the situation permit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourtourtour81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Don't Bother - Queen's Garden Resort Is CLOSED But Will Be Happy To Take Your Money Anyway And Redirect You To A Much Inferior Hotel !!

After My Wife And Landed At Suvarnabhumi Airport, We Were Unable To Find The Waiting Area For Queen's Garden. My Wife Made An Enquiry With A Man Who Promptly Made A Phone Call And Assured Us The Shuttle Would Arrive Soon. With This I Was Pleased And Looking Forward To Getting Settled In As I Had Stayed At The Queen's Garden Resort In The Past And Had A Very Good Experience There.
When The Shuttle Van Arrived I Was A Bit Confused And Asked The Man Why The Van Was Marked "The Great Residence". He Informed Us That It Was The Same Place As The Queen's Garden Resort. I Soon Realized That This Was NOT True - We Were Brought To "The Great Residence" Which Was An Entirely Different Hotel And There Certainly Was Nothing Great About This Place. (Room Was NOT Very Clean & Some Of The Staff Were Not So Polite).
My Wife Spoke With The Management And Was Told That We Need To Discuss Our Problem With Queen's Garden And Although They Had Their Direct Phone Number They Would Not Give It To Us Because We Booked Online And Therefore We Would Have To Go Back Online To Contact Them. So Basically We Were Stuck There For At Least Two Nights Unless We Wanted To Forfeit The Money.
To Make Matters Worse - After A Quick Web Search I Realized That The Posted Rate For Our Room Was 617 bhat/night And We Had Paid 1000 bhat/night !! WTF !!
On Our Second Day We Were In The Area Of The Queen's Garden So We Stopped By. My Wife Spoke With One Of The Staff And She Informed Us That They Were In Fact Closed And The Reason We Were Sent To The Great Residence Is Because The Owners Of Each Hotel Are Business Partners !! Nice Little Scam !!
Finally, Day Three Was Here And I Couldn't Climb Into The Taxi Fast Enough !! The Driver Started Chatting With My Wife And The Very First Thing He Asked Was "How Much Did You Pay, 600 bhat ??" "No", My Wife Replied, "1000 bhat." "Wow, Too Much !!" The Driver Said. "No S**T !!" I Thought.

This Type Of Business Practice Can Only Be Classified As Fraud !

Room Tip: Select another hotel !
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Gene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We spent our last night in Thailand in this hotel as we had a 6am flight to catch back home (and had arrived back in Bangkok at 6pm the night prior, from Chiang Mai). The shuttle to the hotel was acceptably prompt (maybe a 15 minute wait, they seem to run every 30 minutes). The room however was less than adequate. The bed was ok, and the sheets were clean, but everything else in the room (floors, walls, bathroom, furniture) could have been replaced 10 years ago. The bathroom was a single room, so when you showered, everything got wet (no curtain or other divider). We requested a wake-up call, which was given on time. Our shuttle back to the airport was only fair. We were booked on the 3:30am shuttle, and at 3:25, we had the bellman knocking on our door yelling that we were delaying the shuttle.. we caught the one at 4:00 instead. Not sure what rooms are photographed on the hotel website, as our room didn't look like them when it was new, and it hadn't been "new" in many, many years.

The real complaint for this hotel was when we requested a taxi to take us into town. It took about 30 minutes for a cab to arrive, which ended up being a friend of one of the bellmen. During the 30 minute wait, we saw several other cabs drive by, and wish we had flagged one of them. The one that eventually arrived refused to use the meter and ended up charging us maybe 200 baht more than the trip should have cost. One of those situations in Thailand that you will certainly encounter, where you know you are being ripped off, but the amount is so small by your home standard that it's not worth the effort to resolve.

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs from the front desk, and it was not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shillong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

had stayed here for 2 different nights during B'kok transit. It's nearer to airport (10 min drive), so you need not to worry more about arrival/departures schedules staying in this hotel. Staff usually does not remain to receive as claimed, instead, there are few people at airport who receives and arrange their ferrying to respective hotels. Once arrived they will ask you to wait a while, and in the meantime they perhaphs inform their hotel clients that theie guests have arrived who then send the vehiche. Once can expect about ~30 min wait in this process.

One can get a double bed room in 1500 baht for a single night. There is attached restaurant, but the food quality is not good. Just walk over the street towards the main road,if you are lucky, some roard side restaurants are reasoanble. you can also buy cheap mineral water/beer in these shops The sky train station is 5 min drive from bike, can hire on 20 baht, catch train and go to main market siam. Rooms are ok, but ask for top floor and on opposite side of their restaurant kitchen, or else it gives smeell of food cooking all the time. There is a river adjacent, can sit and feed fishes. The staff ladies at reception are polite and are in good in spoken english.

Room Tip: ask for top floor and on opposite side of their restaurant kitchen, or else it gives smeell of food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arubkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for one day close to airport pick up/ drop off service ok not allot around the hotel you can get a motorbike taxis to the Train station go into town for shopping that's what did. Found the girl at reception help full when I started to ask lots of question and looked as if I could get lost she gave me a business card.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazdunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.1 mi away
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
The Phoenix Hotel Bangkok
#285 of 858 in Bangkok
579 reviews
0.9 mi away
BS Premier Airport Hotel
BS Premier Airport Hotel
#679 of 858 in Bangkok
134 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siam Place Airport Hotel
Siam Place Airport Hotel
#509 of 858 in Bangkok
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garden Room Hostel
Garden Room Hostel
#373 of 1,194 in Bangkok
1 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panini Residence
Panini Residence
#154 of 1,194 in Bangkok
132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lilac Relax-Residence
Lilac Relax-Residence
#19 of 641 in Bangkok
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen's Garden Resort at River View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen's Garden Resort at River View

Property: Queen's Garden Resort at River View
Address: 22 Soi 7, Lat Krabang Road, Bangkok 10520, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #577 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:2 star — Queen's Garden Resort at River View 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Queen's Garden Resort, one of the few true Bangkok Airport Hotels, conveniently located just five minutes from Suvarnabhumi International Airport and twenty five minutes from Bangkok City Centre. Queen's Garden Resort is two modern four story buildings with a hundred en-suite bedrooms, and, for the comfort and safety of our guests is completely non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Queen's Garden Resort at River View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen`s Garden Resort At River View Hotel Bangkok
Queens Garden Hotel
Queens Garden Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing