We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice hotel with the best value hotel spa I’ve seen in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #12 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A nice hotel with the best value hotel spa I’ve seen in Bangkok”
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I’m a frequent visitor to Bangkok, and I’ve stayed in this hotel many times. It is contemporary but with an intimate and welcoming feel – which is no doubt down to the excellent staff.

Rooms are light, airy and spacious, and the suites at the end of each floor have floor to ceiling windows on two sides. Breakfast is right up there with the best you can get in this hotel category. And the bar is one of my favourites in Bangkok.

The pool area is nice. It’s not a huge hotel, so pool area reflects this. Mostly, there is enough space but I’ve noticed that it can get tight in the high season – so getting down there reasonably early makes sense.

The spa is particularly nice. There is no shortage of spas and massage parlours in Bangkok, so I seldom use the hotels’ normally relatively expensive offerings. But prices have taken a nosedive in this hotel’s spa. It will still cost you a bit more than something reasonably comparable outside, but you get high-quality service with a boutique feel, without the trouble of leaving the hotel. And the spa is clearly very well run.

I find the location a bit of a mixed bag. Patpong market and nightlife are really only across the road, and the hotel is a short cab ride from the river and of the most spectacular rooftop bars in Bangkok. But Skytain and subway stations are probably a 10 minute walk away – ok if it’s reasonably cool, less good when it’s 36 degrees Celsius!

Benefits for SPG platinum members are good. There is no club lounge but the hotel offers a wide selection of drinks (including cocktails) in the bar each night from 17:30 – 19:30, and there is separate area available for breakfast (complete with a glass of Prosecco if you feel like something a little stronger in the morning!).

The F&B Director is very visible and approachable in this hotel – walking the floor during the day and in the evening. The impact of that shows in the service.

I am happy to recommend the Le Meridien Bangkok

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,464
    779
    113
    29
    15
See reviews for
316
1,236
550
627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

This is located in the heart of Pat Pong. Very easy to get to anywhere. Super great hotel. Stayed here last year, loved it, came back this year & will always stay here for future BKK trips. The rooms are absolutely great &spacious .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zomtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Amazing hotel in the heart of Bangkok, probably a bit close to Patpong for some, but the oasis of the hotel makes you feel a million miles away from Bangkok. From the minute you walk in, with the soft music playing across the foyer, to the attentive service you feel like you're in somewhere special. The rooms is very well appointed, with so many nice little complimentary items that is a great addition to kick start the rest of your stay.
If you want to stay in luxury, with everything you could want and more, eg. amazing breakfast, excellent gym, great bars, plenty of staff, large rooms etc. My only feedback would be the Service number you call for anything on the phone - most of the staff have poor English skills so sometimes it takes a while to get you request across, otherwise can't fault the hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure, I always seem to get a room facing the main street which is good as can see if pool area i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
106 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Just got back from my trip to Thailand where the Le Meridien was one of the hotels we stayed at. Positioned in the Patpong area, it is literally steps away from the night market, which is situated next to alot of strip clubs, bars and restaurants. The skytrain is 10 minutes walk, at night through that market, and if you do mind suggestions/offers to attend various dubious shows, a taxi, which cost nothing is probably a better choice.

When we arrived after a 9 hour flight from Australia, we were immediately greeted by nice staff that took our bags away and showed us to the check-in counter. We received a complimentary shot of some kind of iced coffee when they took our details, very tasty, and a nice touch. A request for a high floor was immediately met with a room on the highest (22nd) floor with a great view over the area.

The room, oh the room. Definitely the hotel's best feature. We had a large flatscreen-tv with a lot of international channels, the bed was fantastic; and as mentioned, great views. The best feature of them all, however, was the deep soaking bath. In front of the bath there is a sliding door, so you can both have a bath in privacy, as well as open it up and either watch TV or the view. Very nice together with a cold Chang after a day of sightseeing. There is also wifi in the room that comes with a charge, however, if you are in the lobby or pool areas you can get a code for three hours of free wifi, that we discovered also worked in the room.

Speaking of the common areas, the pool is a quite small but nice one, there is a few sun loungers and a pool bar that makes good mojitos. It's nice, but I think it might become very crowded during high season. We also tried the hotel restaurant Bamboo Chic the first evening of our arrival. The restaurant looks very modern and trendy, but it's really large, so it felt a bit deserted even though there were a few other people there. We ordered the 'Taste of Thailand' set menu that included about 6 or 7 different Thai dishes. The first dish that arrived was a pomelo, chili and prawn salad, and when the plate was delivered you knew that this was going to be good. It actually was the best meal of the trip, incredibly nice, and not that expensive either.

We had a slight problem in terms of food at the LM however. The last day of our stay we decided to try the 'signature breakfast' by michelin starred chef Jean George Vongerichten. When we ordered I was advised that my dish would take about 15 minutes, and as we had to go the airport, I said that 15 minutes was okay, but not more than that. After 20 minutes, we got another dish complimentary and information that it would take another 15 minutes. I then informed the waitress that we had to go to the airport and had no time to wait another 15 minutes, 2 minutes later our dishes appeared, way under-cooked, and pretty much unedible. I informed one of the staff about this, and he was truly apologetic, and comped our entire breakfast. So all in all, the situation was quite well handled, and I also received a follow-up email with an apology from the F&B manager. This was the only problem we encountered during our stay, quite sadly, as it was our last hour at the LM. But the hotel handled it well, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Except for the 'breakfast-incident', this is one of the best hotels that I've stayed at.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with Le Méridien Bangkok during your visit to Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your compliments.

Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.
It is wonderful to know you had taken the pleasure to enjoy the hotel facilities and our service culture.

We would like to share your comments among our service team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Bangkok very soon.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Le Meridien for our honeymoon. The hotel decoration was beautiful, the room was great but most importantly the SERVICE was impeccable. From the door man to the front desk, they are going above and beyond to fulfill any demand or request you might have.
The location to me was very good, close to the shopping plazas ( MBK, Siem etc) we walked and it took us about 20 min. Its is 5 min cab ride. It is on the night market , so there is shopping good street food and activities.
I would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: be a SPG member ( starwood prefere guest)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liadamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at Le Méridien Bangkok. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to learn that you had an inspired stay.

Creating our guests stay more pleasurable by assisting them in any queries and giving advice is one of our team’s top priorities. We are pleased that you were able to experience this first hand.

All our team at Le Méridien Bangkok will be thrilled to hear your comments and positive feedback.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My fionce and I stayed at Le Meridien Bangkok for 3 nights in June.
We enjoyed ourselves. Special thanks to Taithep Rareongjai at the concierge desk for making our stay amazing. We would gladly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Le Méridien Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your compliments with us.

We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the high service and quality levels that we pride ourselves in delivering.

We will definitely share your kind compliments with our service team. Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit soon.

With Best Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and liked it. The service is really good as you expect it from a 5 Star hotel however there are a few things that could be improved. In our bathroom were a few cracks in the walls (fresh paint needed), you can not use the hairdryer in the bathroom. Internet in the lobby is free but in Wi-Fi in the room is not, which in my oponion should be included in the price though.

However, I can definitely recommend this hotel as it offers great value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nordischboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,079 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Property: Le Meridien Bangkok
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing