We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boast much delivers less”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #12 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Karachi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boast much delivers less”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Well, I have always been a Le Meridien and always enjoy my stays there when I travel but this time I felt like these guys are using the name to rip people off their money. I mean Meridien offers a lot more than this on all other destinations. I am not talking about the sleep quality or the cleanliness, the service was just allright not as great as I have experienced in other Meridiens across the globe. Guys if you are looking for a spot that values their customer satisfaction to the minutest details this is certainly not your spot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,437
    774
    113
    29
    15
See reviews for
312
1,228
544
620
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
1,450 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 687 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Located close to shopping and dining and easily accessible from downtown. near major shopping malls and restaurants. Clean, spacious rooms with comfortable beds. Pleasant service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Arriving at Le meridien you don't know what to expect you walk in the lobby is the right temperature staff smiling and you already know its going to be good the rooms were fan we had a suite high up and the view was great we actually stayed one night extra instead of traveling to our next destination we were right next to pay pong market which was great the breakfast was lovely and we had drinks every night in the bar which was fab we went to a brilliant restaraurant which the concierge sorted out for us and got us a driver it was the same one that was on the hangover and would defiantly recommend it all in all a brilliant stay couldn't fault one thing

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahbonnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The Le Meridien is a fantastic property that's conveniently located in Bangkok. The location is very convenient because it's pretty close to a lot of delicious restaurants. I had the pleasure of staying in one of the suites and it was comfortable. It was very large and spacious. The service was also another plus. Overall, the Le Meridien offers fantastic service and rooms for a great value.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthursiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Enjoyed Le Meridien. It is well located near both the restaurants and night scene. 10mns can ride to the river where you can go and check all the monuments. Nice rooms. Very comfortable and modern. I do not like hotel breakfast so went in the neighborhood - great street food or coffee shops. Recommend to take limo from airport rather than order from hotel. Very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

Stayed at thie property from July 5-July 10 with family (including 2 teenage girls).
Arrived late and checking was swift, though, as I only speak English, I had a bit of a language barrier with the front desk staff. Throughout our stay the staff was responsive and efficient including special requests for things like pillows, restaurant reservations, assistance with my iPad connecting to the hotel's wifi, etc. There was a small problem at checkout with a single staff member at the front desk and several guests queued. I'd say the staff is very good and that English language skills would be an opportunity they hotel might explore. Housekeeping was very thorough with the rooms in like-new condition every day. The doorman was always very helpful in getting taxis and instructing the driver in where we wanted to go so there was no misunderstanding or issues with the meter.

Both rooms were on the top floor with broad, tall windows along one wall. The beds were comfortable, though a bit hard for my taste- others may prefer this. My only complaint about the rooms is the lack of electrical outlets. There seemed to be only one place in the main part of the room to plug in laptop, camera charger, etc. The VOIP phone was state-of-the-art, as was the audio-visual system (including an A/V input on the console beside the bed) but there was simply a lack of power outlets. The bellman even suggested to my wife that she not plug her hairdryer into the outlet in the bathroom because of the wattage. My recommendation would be to outfit the rooms with more capacity for power. the bathroom was very nice in a simple-elegant sort of way with seperate shower and bathtub and a sliding screen from the main portion of the room. Bathroom ameneties are nice and replenished generously.

The public spaces were not large but seemed stark and almost cavernous. In you are teh type who likes to hang out in the hotel lobby you might find it uninviting and not terribly comfortable.

For me, the most novel thing about this property is its proximity to one of the red light districts. It can be easily avoided but if this is important to you then be aware. We walked abound the entire area at night with two late-teen girls and never felt the slightest bit unsafe... really more bemused. The girls did have fun bargaining for knockoff sunglasses, watches and such, though if I never hear another emphatic request that I watch a free ping pong show it will be too soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

What truly attracted me to this hotel, when I was choosing one for my recent Bangkok business trip, was the price tag of the room. Highly competitive compared to other similar hotels which I was looking at, and then located in an area I am relatively familiar with, I decided to opt for Le Meridien Bangkok. The choice proved a correct one, but then again, there really is nothing to shout about this well-run, well-maintained but somewhat staid outfit.

As I'd mentioned, location near the bars and nightclubs will appeal to some guests, especially those who are in Bangkok for fun as much as they're there for business. The first hotel I'd ever stayed in Bangkok was the (very old) Montien (just two blocks away) and so staying here, near the Patpong area was nothing new to me. I am not interested in the girlie bars but like to cross Patpong's streets to see the night market and also gauge how the Thai economy and tourism industry are doing each time I am in Bangkok. Staying at Le Meridien served this purpose well.

Facilities-wise, Le Meridien is top notch and have all the usual amenities you'd expect from a 5-star hotel, including very fast (but very expensive) WiFi throughout the hotel. The decor is modern and sleek, but bordered on clinical coldness. Although supposedly French-owned, the decor tends to be more modernist, New York style. The front entrance reeks of Brooklyn and the generous use of white and grey with dashes of ebony give an avant garde feel. There are traces of Andy Warhol-esque design, with the occasional Thai tinges in small objets d'art dotting throughout the hotel, including the rooms. So unless you are here looking for ultra-traditional Thai or that exotic Asian look, you'd fall in love with Le Meridien.

The piped-in music throughout the hotel (including within the lifts!) is also supposed to be a piece of art, with an explanation note on the lift button wall. I am generally impressed with this, and squares with the artsy theme in many Le Meridien throughout the world which I'd visited. The room itself was however very quiet, and you cannot and will not hear your neighbour (which I assume my neighbour will not hear me either) so that's a high score for privacy. And in terms of decor and layout, the usual hotel-room style applies, but I'd seen photos of rooms with a round bed (the corner rooms apparently) which seem to be bigger than my standard-sized room. The tacky self in me had asked to be upgraded to that category just to have a feel, using my SPG points but alas the front desk was not willing to do so FOC.

Service-wise, it's generally above par. The front-desk girls speak in a typical Thai service-style tone, and for those men who're suckers for this, can be an adrenaline rush. I was essentially tickled by their accent and tone. The concierge was competent and the restaurant staff were also well-trained. English is widely understood here, very important in the hospitality industry in this part of the world. I also notice that some staff can speak Japanese, Mandarin and French fluently. Kudos to the HR manager who must have done a good job here in terms of recruitment and training.

I ate at the Latest Recipe for the buffet lunch one day, and it was acceptable. Pricey compared to the many cheap outlets so easily found just outside the hotel, I find the food fresh and the drinks well-done. A drink at the lobby bar on the al fresco side of the outlet was also refreshing - try having a cool coconut drink there, or simply a frozen mango margarita amid the warm Bangkok air, and you'll be near cloud nine!

The main qualm, especially to those who looks for efficiency and speed, would be the fact that the walk to the nearest metro or skytrain station would almost certainly involve more effort than in other locations. You basically have to pass through the Patpong bar area and the night market (if by the evening) and thus brave the crowds, before you can reach the station. But note that BOTH the metro station (Silom) and skytrain station (Sala Daeng) are integrated at this location, about a 10-15 minute walk from the doors of Le Meridien. This mitigates the need to brave the crowd to some extent, I suppose.

If Le Meridien continues with this level of service and charges such competitive rates still the next time I am in Bangkok, the likelihood of me staying here again is high. However, I must say Bangkok is one of the most vibrant and service-oriented cities in Asia and good, business hotels are aplenty. So Le Meridien must upkeep itself to stave off the competition which would only intensify as the years progress.

Room Tip: Not so much the room, but note that the locals pronounce Le Meridien as "Lee Maridian" as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,029 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Property: Le Meridien Bangkok
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing