We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jus so perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #11 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Stayed here for a weekend break. TOP ratings for LM service from every levels of hotel employees. All members at the Concierge desk was outstanding especially Mr Tanisorn and Mr Kok . Was also pleased with the very courteous service of a Japanese staff , Ms Hiroko at check in counter . Staff at the restaurant were also very personal and attentive. If not for the staff at Latest Recipe mistake in charging us for the expensive buffet breakfast on two separate occasions, it would have been a oh so perfect stay.Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,740 - 2,746 of 3,703 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

First of all, this review is totally independent. We are a couple in their late 20’s.
We planned to stay 4 nights but finally we stayed 2 nights more. Our first 4 nights were in the 10th floor in a standard vista room. The last two were in a circular bed located in the 22nd floor. Our goal in Bangkok was to seeightseeing and spending good time.
At first we arrived from the airport with a taxi meter who wanted to swindle us. But the guy from the hotel talked to him in thai and gave us back our money. Frankly, we appreciate a lot.
After 4 nights, we changed the room to get a « circular » one (simply the same room but with a circular bed) but the first one had a problem with the electronic locker, the second one had a bad smell in the bathroom and finally the night manager moved us to a corner circular room which was perfect.
Thank to him and the receptionnist we spent a so good time at the Meridien Bangkok.
Its location, near Patpong, is not disturbing at all. There are a lot of taxis in the area and we took the skytrain only once to try (6 min walk). A lot of restaurants in the area – don’t try Mango tree (expensive and only for tourists) and you can reach easily shopping center like MBK or Paragon within 10-15 min taxi drive (B.70-80)
We ate once in the Bamboo Chic (hotel restaurant) and the food was the best we ever had in Thailand (3000B. for two). Be sure that next time in BKK, we’ll eat more there !
What we would like to mention is the very attentionned staff who is always taking care of everything. Thank you all and see you in a near future !!!

Cons
Only 3 computers at the lobby

Pros
Beautiful modern Hall
Special fragrance at the entrance
Friendly and smily staff
Decoration
Large room
Nice view on a pagoda
Large and practical bathroom with a rain shower and a bathtube, which can be open on the room.
Large and comfy Bed
Good choice of international channels
Breakfast Buffet with top quality product (Bonne Maman marmelade, Sirop Monin, Illy coffee) and extensive choice of food.
Swimming pool : very calm with lounge music. Very good service.
Fitness : Excellent training equipment

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigi_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Having previously stayed hundreds of nights in Bangkok at the Peninsula, Sukhothai and less frequently the Oriental I was intigued to see a new kid on the block receiving such high praise on this site. Having a meeting in Bangkok gave me a perfect excuse to check it out.

Firstly they price to sell. The room rates on offer at SPG.com were half those asked by my other preferred hotel choices.

At check in I was allocated a very comfortable suite due to platinum spg status. Room is very contemporary and a bit over styled but I soon worked everything out and came to appreciate the refinements they offer above and beyond their competitors.

Complimentary canapes appeared at turn down time. Housekeeping was excellent although some more towels in the bathroom would be appreciated.

The public areas are very welcoming. I had complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails as part of spg platinum again but didn't take advantage of either.

The location is excellent if you want to be in the Silom area. A stroll outside and you've got shops, cafes, bars etc on the doorstep.

Would prefer a bigger pool as I like to swim laps, the Sukhothai scores well here if a big pool is a deal breaker.

Overall I'd have to say the best value five star hotel in Bangkok and probably my future first choice when in Toon Town.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frenchfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Great central location.
We stayed there for 5 days and everything from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was definitely uber-service. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotless clean, the staff at all levels (housekeeping to concierge) is really Pro and imaginative whenever they have to find a solution to an inconvenience (a booking problem to Chiang Mai which the young concierge handled quickly, very professionally AND to our advantage).
The breakfast was perfect and everytime we saw the man who seemed to be the Food Manager, he did ask us if everything was ok and if there was anything more they could do for us or to improve their service.
As far as the decor is concerned, I see some travelers prefer a more traditional "thai" sort of environment. I think that the modern Meridien decor is perfectly suited to modern Thailand and very tastefully and artfully done.

The only negative point is the loud music in the Bamboo Chic restaurant. The food is superb but the level of the music (there is a bar attached) is almost deafening and caused us to shout over the dinner table. Not very good.

We will definitely go back to Le Meridien when in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Layalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We read the reviews here. Basically, we live in hotels all over the world for nearly three years. We were Starwood Platinum members for three years (not now due to less business travel). So, we decided to try this property for two nights while in Bangkok (we stay in Bangkok a lot.)

Basically, we thought the reviews are very overrated. Maybe people who write reviews do not travel very often? Maybe they don't stay in many hotels in Asia? We are confused :-)

First of all, the lobby is cold and the staff friendly but in an artifical way, not the normal warmth you expect in Thailand? Perhaps this is because the property is located across the street from one of the seediest sex-related streets in Bangkok, Patpong?

Unlike most Starwood properties, we were not escorted to our room when we checked in. The hotel was not busy, but no one even took the time to show us how to operate the (overly) modern room electronics. Nevermind that. But we thought this was really odd.

The shower has modern plumbing that is very hard to turn because it is basically a chrome knob without the normal "finger grips", so it was hard to turn off the shower because the knob was so slippery. Bad design. Ultra modern and impractical.

The room is the same. Ultra modern and impractical. There is so much space occupied by ads, paper, and other useless junk and decorations that where is little space for the guests to use. I ended up putting my bag in the middle of the floor between the couch and the bed.

The room cleaning was bad. The carpet was not cleaned well. The coffee was not replenished. The hairdryer was not put away.

There is an oversized sink in the bathroom, and because it is so big, there was little space for two people to put their normal bath items.

The toilet flushes so loudly that it drowned out the HBO movie. This is really funny.

Also, the shower door doubles as a door in front of the toilet, so when you open the shower door, it closes over the toilet, which is really strange.

The good news :-)

The bed is very nice. The pillows are amazingly soft. The bathtub is big.

We will not stay here again. There are much better properties for the money in Bangkok. Ultra modern and boring. Highly overrated on Trip Advisor. Seasoned travellers beware. OK for occasional tourists and folks who need to be a few seconds from Patpong Road.

PS: Internet access was 625 baht per hour. This is robbery. You can get a month of Internet access in Thailand for less.

Avoid this property.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firestardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Stayed at Le Meridien for 2 nights following a holiday in Phuket. Very modern inside and out with excellent staff and a very knowledgable concierge. We had arranged for limo transfers and this service was faultless.
Something a little strange on check-in - our room wasn't ready despite our travel plans being made available to the staff so we were asked to sit in the reception lounge and asked if we would like coffee, which we agreed to. On being taken to our rooms a short while later we were asked to sign the bill for the coffees (which we presumed were complimentary due to the unavailability of our room).
But this was an extremely minor glitch in an otherwise great stay. Our room was beautifully appointed, an extremely comfortable bed and good bathroom. Getting taxis was effortless and the Patpong markets are just across the road. The breakfast buffet was stunning and the restaurant spacious.
We have previously stayed at the Peninsula and the Banyan Tree and think that Le Meridien compares favourably with both - obviously the location of the Peninsula is more stunning. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Very good new hotel, the best Le Meridien so far I know.
But in my opinion not on the same level than Peninsula (unbeatable) or Sukothei (e.g. breakfast and service much below the Bangkok´s hotel champion league)

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank dwuestn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#20 of 891 in Bangkok
8,741 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £94 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Silom commercial district and just metres from the vibrant Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok is renowned for its outstanding service levels. Easily accessible to both the BTS skytrain and MRT subway station, exploring the city’s cultural sights and shopping malls has never been easier. Featuring 282 chic guestrooms and suites combining modern-day comfort with luxury, each room captures scenic views of Bangkok’s cityscape through floor-to-ceiling windows. An innovative all-day restaurant and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus of stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Take a dip in the outdoor swimming pool, enjoy an energetic workout in the gym or simply unwind with a signature spa treatment designed to achieve total purification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing