We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern hotel in good location in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #12 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel in good location in Bangkok”
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We stayed here for just 2 nights on a short trip to Bangkok. We got a reasonable rate of $200/night for the circular bed, but given how empty Bangkok was I'm surprised that the hotels aren't more aggressive in their pricing. On a previous trip we stayed at the Peninsula for an excellent $160/night. Overall i thought the Peninsula was a better and more upmarket hotel with a nicer location on the river, but it is much more expensive now. Le Meridien is very much like a W, very modern and trying a little too hard to be cool (not surprising given it's owned by Starwood). Having said that, it is in a good location, and the service/staff were excellent. The room was very nice and new/modern with a good view although a bit on the small side. The circular bed is kind of cool just for its uniqueness however absolutely no need to do more than once, and not worth paying a premium. The spa is one of the most spectacular i have ever seen (but very modern), I didn't have time for a treatment so can't comment on that but the staff were very nice giving us a tour of the facilities. The pool area is nice although the water was pretty cold. The gym looks very good and modern. The buffet breakfast was also one of the best I have had, an absolutely amazing selection. Overall a very good modern trendy hotel, although a bit same same. If you can get in to one of the classic BKK hotels at the same or slightly more expensive I would do that, but otherwise this is a very good choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,516
    800
    115
    31
    16
See reviews for
324
1,261
564
643
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed at the LM Bangkok for three nights in August on our way back home after a lengthy trip through Thailand. We normally stay at the 5 star Intercontinental and did so at the start of our trip, but decided to try something different on the way back and we are very glad that we did. From the stunning entry foyer to the modern and chic rooms, the super comfy bed, the intriguing bathroom, it was all an experience. The staff were efficient and attentive as well as pleasant throughout our stay. We do have one minor complaint and that is to do with the room cleanliness. Stepping inside the room the entrance way was sticky and obviously had not been washed/cleaned during our stay. You know how it is when you spill something on the kitchen floor and it is not cleaned up, well, that was it. It was there when we moved in and there when we moved out. A small thing, but it does show that with the black mottled effect on the floors the dirt does not show. One can only feel it. That would not stop me from going back again and recommending it to everyone. Next time I would simply ask for it to be cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dainabrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

Stayed here for a weekend break. TOP ratings for LM service from every levels of hotel employees. All members at the Concierge desk was outstanding especially Mr Tanisorn and Mr Kok . Was also pleased with the very courteous service of a Japanese staff , Ms Hiroko at check in counter . Staff at the restaurant were also very personal and attentive. If not for the staff at Latest Recipe mistake in charging us for the expensive buffet breakfast on two separate occasions, it would have been a oh so perfect stay.Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

First of all, this review is totally independent. We are a couple in their late 20’s.
We planned to stay 4 nights but finally we stayed 2 nights more. Our first 4 nights were in the 10th floor in a standard vista room. The last two were in a circular bed located in the 22nd floor. Our goal in Bangkok was to seeightseeing and spending good time.
At first we arrived from the airport with a taxi meter who wanted to swindle us. But the guy from the hotel talked to him in thai and gave us back our money. Frankly, we appreciate a lot.
After 4 nights, we changed the room to get a « circular » one (simply the same room but with a circular bed) but the first one had a problem with the electronic locker, the second one had a bad smell in the bathroom and finally the night manager moved us to a corner circular room which was perfect.
Thank to him and the receptionnist we spent a so good time at the Meridien Bangkok.
Its location, near Patpong, is not disturbing at all. There are a lot of taxis in the area and we took the skytrain only once to try (6 min walk). A lot of restaurants in the area – don’t try Mango tree (expensive and only for tourists) and you can reach easily shopping center like MBK or Paragon within 10-15 min taxi drive (B.70-80)
We ate once in the Bamboo Chic (hotel restaurant) and the food was the best we ever had in Thailand (3000B. for two). Be sure that next time in BKK, we’ll eat more there !
What we would like to mention is the very attentionned staff who is always taking care of everything. Thank you all and see you in a near future !!!

Cons
Only 3 computers at the lobby

Pros
Beautiful modern Hall
Special fragrance at the entrance
Friendly and smily staff
Decoration
Large room
Nice view on a pagoda
Large and practical bathroom with a rain shower and a bathtube, which can be open on the room.
Large and comfy Bed
Good choice of international channels
Breakfast Buffet with top quality product (Bonne Maman marmelade, Sirop Monin, Illy coffee) and extensive choice of food.
Swimming pool : very calm with lounge music. Very good service.
Fitness : Excellent training equipment

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi_gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Having previously stayed hundreds of nights in Bangkok at the Peninsula, Sukhothai and less frequently the Oriental I was intigued to see a new kid on the block receiving such high praise on this site. Having a meeting in Bangkok gave me a perfect excuse to check it out.

Firstly they price to sell. The room rates on offer at SPG.com were half those asked by my other preferred hotel choices.

At check in I was allocated a very comfortable suite due to platinum spg status. Room is very contemporary and a bit over styled but I soon worked everything out and came to appreciate the refinements they offer above and beyond their competitors.

Complimentary canapes appeared at turn down time. Housekeeping was excellent although some more towels in the bathroom would be appreciated.

The public areas are very welcoming. I had complimentary breakfast and evening cocktails as part of spg platinum again but didn't take advantage of either.

The location is excellent if you want to be in the Silom area. A stroll outside and you've got shops, cafes, bars etc on the doorstep.

Would prefer a bigger pool as I like to swim laps, the Sukhothai scores well here if a big pool is a deal breaker.

Overall I'd have to say the best value five star hotel in Bangkok and probably my future first choice when in Toon Town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frenchfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mediterranean
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Great central location.
We stayed there for 5 days and everything from the moment we arrived to the moment we left was definitely uber-service. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and spotless clean, the staff at all levels (housekeeping to concierge) is really Pro and imaginative whenever they have to find a solution to an inconvenience (a booking problem to Chiang Mai which the young concierge handled quickly, very professionally AND to our advantage).
The breakfast was perfect and everytime we saw the man who seemed to be the Food Manager, he did ask us if everything was ok and if there was anything more they could do for us or to improve their service.
As far as the decor is concerned, I see some travelers prefer a more traditional "thai" sort of environment. I think that the modern Meridien decor is perfectly suited to modern Thailand and very tastefully and artfully done.

The only negative point is the loud music in the Bamboo Chic restaurant. The food is superb but the level of the music (there is a bar attached) is almost deafening and caused us to shout over the dinner table. Not very good.

We will definitely go back to Le Meridien when in Bangkok.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We read the reviews here. Basically, we live in hotels all over the world for nearly three years. We were Starwood Platinum members for three years (not now due to less business travel). So, we decided to try this property for two nights while in Bangkok (we stay in Bangkok a lot.)

Basically, we thought the reviews are very overrated. Maybe people who write reviews do not travel very often? Maybe they don't stay in many hotels in Asia? We are confused :-)

First of all, the lobby is cold and the staff friendly but in an artifical way, not the normal warmth you expect in Thailand? Perhaps this is because the property is located across the street from one of the seediest sex-related streets in Bangkok, Patpong?

Unlike most Starwood properties, we were not escorted to our room when we checked in. The hotel was not busy, but no one even took the time to show us how to operate the (overly) modern room electronics. Nevermind that. But we thought this was really odd.

The shower has modern plumbing that is very hard to turn because it is basically a chrome knob without the normal "finger grips", so it was hard to turn off the shower because the knob was so slippery. Bad design. Ultra modern and impractical.

The room is the same. Ultra modern and impractical. There is so much space occupied by ads, paper, and other useless junk and decorations that where is little space for the guests to use. I ended up putting my bag in the middle of the floor between the couch and the bed.

The room cleaning was bad. The carpet was not cleaned well. The coffee was not replenished. The hairdryer was not put away.

There is an oversized sink in the bathroom, and because it is so big, there was little space for two people to put their normal bath items.

The toilet flushes so loudly that it drowned out the HBO movie. This is really funny.

Also, the shower door doubles as a door in front of the toilet, so when you open the shower door, it closes over the toilet, which is really strange.

The good news :-)

The bed is very nice. The pillows are amazingly soft. The bathtub is big.

We will not stay here again. There are much better properties for the money in Bangkok. Ultra modern and boring. Highly overrated on Trip Advisor. Seasoned travellers beware. OK for occasional tourists and folks who need to be a few seconds from Patpong Road.

PS: Internet access was 625 baht per hour. This is robbery. You can get a month of Internet access in Thailand for less.

Avoid this property.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firestardude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 863 in Bangkok
8,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#13 of 863 in Bangkok
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Property: Le Meridien Bangkok
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Silom commercial district and just metres from the vibrant Patpong Night Market, Le Meridien Bangkok is renowned for its outstanding service levels. Easily accessible to both the BTS skytrain and MRT subway station, exploring the city’s cultural sights and shopping malls has never been easier. Featuring 282 chic guestrooms and suites combining modern-day comfort with luxury, each room captures scenic views of Bangkok’s cityscape through floor-to-ceiling windows. An innovative all-day restaurant and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus of stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Take a dip in the hotel’s outdoor swimming pool, enjoy an energetic workout in the gym or simply unwind with a signature spa treatment designed to achieve total purification. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Starwood APAC, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing