We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #12 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
87 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Elegant Hotel”
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Stayed at the Le Meridien for 2 nights. Could turn down a great deal at less than $100 a night. When you walk into the lobby, it's dark but elegant. There's access to the bar on the 2nd level and 3rd level is the restaurant. The lobby also has free wireless internet, but you have to get the userid and password from reception.

The room is nicely appointed. Electric window shades, large in-room safe and at least 6 free bottles of water. There's a large flat panel tv. The in thing now-a-days is to have the bathroom open to the living area. There's a large sliding partition, when open allows anyone soaking in the tub to watch TV. There are also TV speakers in the bathroom.

The 6th floor is where the spa, rooftop pool and fitness center is. The fitness center looks nice, but didn't get a chance to use it. The pool is average size, but good enough to do some laps. There are cabana's and only about a dozen lounge chairs.

Definitely a nice place to stay. Even better if you can find a great deal.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrekker728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,494
    789
    114
    31
    15
See reviews for
319
1,253
556
634
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2010

Comfortable stay. Swimming pool was really amazing.

Hotel is located very near to major shopping area. Staff was very nice and cordial.

Food was average.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina_prothera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The only problem i had with this hotel is that upon our arrival they put us in a smoking room, although i definetely remember opting for a non-smoking room. Unfortunately for us, the confirmation for our reservation did not mention the type of the room, so there was no way for us to prove otherwise. Not that it would have made any difference since the hotel was fully booked for the new year's. Anyway, with the exception of the tobacco stench, the room was fine.

For those out there that like to sleep in late, but nevertheless catch the hotel breakfast , keep in mind that in the last hour of the breakfast the line outside the restaurant tends to get quite long.

Also, if you want your luggage to be handled efficiently, a big tip helps a long way.

Overall, i was not particularly impressed with the hotel, but i would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freudestrahlend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We were lucky enough to be upgraded on arrival, and our suite was spacious, stylish and well-appointed. We would have been happy to stay in our room for a week, but alas, we only had two nights. The hotel is located just a block from the Patpong night market, it's an easy 10-minute walk to the Skytrain.

Breakfast is very good with many choices and the setting is lovely - double-height ceilings with copious amounts of natural sunlight streaming in. A great start to the day. The upstairs bar and restaurant are good, although a little quiet. The spa is well-appointed with a good selection of treatments at reasonable prices for such a stylish hotel. But it's busy, so book ahead! The staff are wonderful and courteous. Check-in and check-out were a breeze and the concierge was knowledgeable and good-humoured.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Bangkok, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Making sure you start an inspiring day by providing the best Breakfast experience is one of our key priorities. Knowing that you enjoyed these elements brings us much joy.
We would like to share your comments among our service team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Bangkok very soon.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2010

I read some poor reviews on this place due to its location so close to Patpong Market, but I must admit it was not as in your face as you may read. It also was extremely quiet unlike another review I read. It was my first trip to Bangkok and was nervous about all the "in your face" shows, etc. Sure it was close by, but it wasn't as though you were forced to go down those alleys. It was in prime location to walk to many other locations including Suan Lum Night Bazaar. It was close to Patpong for girl and boy shows which we did walk-by, but cannot rate since we didn't go inside. It is also close to the gay district of bars, which for SE Asia is surprising because it is a true gay district of bars and gays and lesbians hanging out enjoying cocktails... unlike many other cities that the gay district is mostly prostitution. The hotel itself was amazing! The service was exceptional and to add a nice touch they keep tabs on every taxi that comes to pick you up, making sure that you are treated appropriately and given a metered rate (which is difficult to do once you are out touring around). It was a real trip to watch the guys handling each cab driver, getting you in and on your way. Even visiting the Madarin-Oriental they didn't do that for us... they just got us the taxi and sent us off. The spa was okay... it is beautiful, but the massages and treatments weren't anything special... especially for paying four times or more than other spas in the area (it is super clean though). I actually heard Alanis on the spa radio which isn't something that I consider soothing. The pool was nice, but yes... filled with men as described in another review. Oh... and breakfast was fantastic! The fruit, fresh juices, pressed coffee, and the cherry compote stand out. They have fresh juice "shooters" when you walk-in... beware of the chili one!! I am a spicy fan, but that was almost too much to handle at 8AM! Was fun to watch others take the Melon-Chili shooter as they came in though to see the look on their faces! As for the room, we stayed in a suite on the 21st floor which was also AMAZING! The shower had two sides both with rain showers and spray handles. The bed and pillows like comfy marshmallows, we had a pod coffee/expresso maker, and other great amenities. The view was also breath-taking... with automatic day and night shutters next to the bed although it was difficult to put them down and obscure the view. Lastly... they have a nice happy hour they call "Creative Hour" which is really nice complimentary appetizers and a cocktail (which was quite potent).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfranciscotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Bangkok, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.
At Le Le Méridien Bangkok, we aspire to provide the best quality and choice during your Culinary discoveries. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed these features.
We look forward to welcoming you once more back to Le Méridien Bangkok.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Me & my partner spent 3 nights in this hotel, at the start and the end of our 3 week stay in Thailand.

I cannot fault anything. On arrival the amazing design of the glass doors is amazing, along with the concierge service! Friendly & very helpful staff, immaculate hotel & room . . ours was based on the 22nd floor with amazing views over the city, all for around £60 a night. The breakfast was included and without sounding cheesy, it had to be the best breakfast I've ever had! They have 5* chefs who have prepared the menu's . . . it's really gotta be seen to be believed! They have a great restaurant that is quite pricey (for Thailand) but, the food is amazing. Best salmon & fab spicy mojito's . . .

The pics on their site are very similar, if not, exactly the same so there's no disappointment on arrival, well not for us anyway ;)

10mins taxi ride to MBK, very good location for eating our, night market across the road. There's also the best Thai takeaway or sit in similar to McDonalds, excellent food very cheap, it's called 'Tasty Thai'...

Nykky, Dundee, Scotland

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nykky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Stayed one night before leaving for Krabi. The Hotel looks brand new, and has a large marble reception. They have a pool and gym. Beds to lie on outside, and an ultra trendy cocktail bar in the hotel. Our Hotel room had everything you could want in it, with particular attention to detail - not to mention incredible views of Bangkok. The Hotel is situated near Patpong market which is entertainment in itself. I wish we could have stayed here longer as this hotel has got it right believe me ! Everything is brand new, large rain shower in the bathroom, large bathtub, comfortable beds, electric blinds. Staff all speak good english and are friendly, attentive and very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Property: Le Meridien Bangkok
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing