We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At the right price an okay choice for central Bangkok (very close to Patpong)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Bangkok
Ranked #12 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“At the right price an okay choice for central Bangkok (very close to Patpong)”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Le Meridien Bangkok is very modern and centrally located with good Skytrain access. It is yards away from the Patpong area so as other reviewers have mentioned, may not be ideal for families. If it is your first time in Bangkok you might want to go for one of the hotels on the river instead (there are lots).

We had a very cheap deal and as we are members of the loyalty scheme they gave us a room on the 'preferred guests' floor. From the 23 floor (of 24) the city views are good, the room was spacious with a nice bathroom. The room was clean, very modern and well-appointed.

The concierge was very helpful at making restaurant reservations, trip bookings etc but also helpful with the basic non-commission-earning stuff like a map, directions to the SkyTrain, helping us make the Grand Palace journey by public transport ourselves etc. We would not recommend their trips - we booked two and both had problems. Our tour of the canals half-day tour had a surly guide who could not be bothered to talk to us which was a shame and like dragging a hormonal teenager around with us. Separately we had a problem with the concierge selling us tickets to the Thai music show but giving us the wrong times to get there which meant we missed the show (although we did not pay for it it was a wasted night in Bangkok wandering about). Gave some feedback on this and had a really nice email back from the hotel so perhaps we were just unlucky.

Breakfast here is really excellent - great choice, lots of live cook stations and food is all fresh and looks good. Great cappucinos and juices and a nice airy setting. Worth getting up for.

The pool is very small but has nice jacuzzi jets and the loungers are under canvas canopies so you don't fry. There are not really enough loungers for guests around the pool so it's a race after breakfast.

The spa is reasonably priced and the Thai massage was great to shake off jet lag.

If you want a central location and don't mind being away from the river and it not feeling much like you are in Thailand then the Meridien is a reasonably priced option worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,433
    772
    113
    29
    14
See reviews for
308
1,228
544
618
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We spent a long time trying to find the right hotel in Bangkok. Le Meridien is perfect. We arrived early in the morning after an overnight flight and we got our into our room after waiting only a short time. The staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us. The pool is a nice place to relax, there are plenty of towels at the pool so no need to take one from the room. There is free wifi in the public areas. The only thing i would say is don't pay for the breakfast. Its nice but not really worth (35 GBP) when you can eat outside very cheaply.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluejean81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with Le Méridien Bangkok during your visit to Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your compliments.

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed all the elements of the Hotel and that our service team was able to assist you in a helpful way.

When you do decide to return to Le Méridien Bangkok please let us know, as we will be very happy to oversee a reservation for you.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stayed in Le Meridien for 3 nights over the New Year period. The hotel was fully booked but the staff were always attentive and made time for us. Even if we arrived before the check-in time, our room was ready and waiting for us. We had a corner suite on the 22nd floor with a fantastic view of the city. The room had everything you could ask for, and the service staff could quickly bring you anything extra you wanted (for example cable for ipod to listen to the music on the multi-room stereo). Because my luggage had been lost, due to fantastic service of Air China, the front desk managers contacted the airline for us to arrange my bag to be delivered to the hotel and kept us informed about the situation, it was dealt with brilliantly.

The room was very spacious: we had separate lounge and bedroom, two flat screen televisions (that were greeting us permanently alternating between our names), espresso maker, great king size bed where you could lose your partner if sleeping on opposite sides. The bathroom was awesome! And besides the fact that they had high quality stuff, you could also enjoy the view of the city whilst taking a bath, it’s just a matter of opening the mirrored-doors. Next to the bath there is a wet room with two separate rain showers and standard shower units - your choice. The bathroom lighting was really good, and it was equipped with a large standard mirror and a vanity mirror. Everything was tastefully designed. In the morning, no matter what time you would wake up, you’d find a daily Bangkok post paper at your door.

Breakfast was delicious!!! Upon arrival you would be offered a cocktail shot. And they will place you to a free table (we had to wait at the bar for a free table for about 10 minutes only once on NY’s Eve, when the hotel was really full of guests) . The buffet was always stocked well, omelets and other goodies were freshly prepared and the staff worked hard to please everyone.

Impressed by reviews of the hotel restaurant Bamboo Chic we decided to go there the first evening in Bangkok and we never regretted it. Food was excellent, and they also offered us a free appetizer whilst we were having a drink at the restaurant bar. Bamboo chic offers a buffet dinner, but throw out every preconception of the buffet dinner you have. Asian buffet dinners are exceptional! And considering the quality of the food it was reasonably priced. They had a good selection of Asian cuisine (Japanese, Chinese etc) as well as chefs on standby cooking anything you like. It is worth noting that you will get a desert after your meal, so save space for it in your stomach! The staff were attentive and smiley, and when we came there for the second time, they remembered us and our room number (Given it was New Year’s and the hotel was fully booked, wasn’t that impressive?).

Concierge was very sweet! He was greeting us all the time, talking to us, giving us recommendations and arranging the cab for the lowest price wherever we went. They negotiated a good deal for us for return trip to the Floating Market which is located in another city. They gave sound advice for navigating Bangkok and around.

Internet is the hotel is free (wifi in the lobby and cable in the room). Gym and pool were excellent! The gym had everything you need, as well as changing rooms, lockers and showers. At the pool bar you can order any cocktail and get free iced water, they also serve snacks.

Just across the street from the hotel is a night market offering many other eateries and some shady entertainment. It’s also a perfect place to pick up some ‘designer’ labels, and the quality is good. Always negotiate the price.

Overall Le Meridien Bangkok was a sexy hotel, perfect for a romantic trip or for a business stay. You’ll be hard pushed to find something to complain about here unless you want to be very naughty in the middle of the night… and eat cake!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank posh_packers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

On behalf of the entire team at Le Méridien Bangkok, we thank you for taking the time to detail your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Many details and thoughts have gone in to increase the experience of our guest stays.
We are pleased that you were able to enjoy the high service and quality levels that we pride ourselves in delivering.

At Le Méridien Bangkok, we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests personalized services and in satisfying their every need. We are pleased that you were able to experience this first hand.

We would like to share your comments among our service team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Le Méridien Bangkok very soon.

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Could not fault with the Le Meridien Bangkok. The room was well designed, well stocked and clean. The staff helpful and gracious. And the location at the heart of Bangkok itself is flawless.

Would recommend to anyone who wants to experience Bangkok to the fullest.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your detailed experience during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We are glad to hear that our services exceeded your expectation – hence, making your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you once more back to Le Méridien Bangkok.
With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iran
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Indeed it's a 5star hotel with classy environment. I stayed there with my friends for two nights and it was a great experience. The hotel is furnished by the best quality equipments and famous brand. You will have sweet dreams in soft and clean beds. Beside internal perfection, you could not forget about the fancy Bar in the 4th floor (Bamboo Bar). Great swimming pool in 6th floor balcony, but if you need to catch a sun bed, you must be a little early. You feel like a five star by the service offered to you. And if you are tourist and want to over-pass the heavy traffic of Bangkok you can not find a better location than Le Meridien. It is in two minutes walk to the train and located in an area where everything you are looking for is accessed in a blink of an eye.
To sum up I must say it was a perfect hotel comparing to the quality you get.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

I've just checked out of the Le Meridien and I'm writing this review while waiting for a driver to take us to the airport for our flight to Phucket.

The Le Meridien hotel is a stylish, modern hotel in the notorious area that is Patpong. Don't let this put you off. Outside is madness but inside the hotel you won't notice the mayhem outside.

Our room was on the 9th floor. Room 917 and it was well equipped with all mod cons that you would expect. Loved the electric blinds for both day and night. Water pressure was slightly disappointing but that's the only fault.

Breakfast was amazing and the best I've ever had. Lamb curry for breakfast is definately my style!

Bamboo Chic is lso very good for a cocktail.

Staff very friendly. All in all I had a fantastic three night stay at the Le Meridien Bangkok. If your going?

Enjoy...

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boro74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at Le Méridien Bangkok. We truly appreciate your feedback and we are so glad to learn that you had an inspired stay.

We highly appreciate your compliments. It is great to hear you were impressed with the arrival experience and our service culture.

Many details have gone in to the preparation and selection of dishes present in our Breakfast experience. It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed our Le Méridien Signature Breakfast.
All our team at Le Méridien Bangkok will be thrilled to hear your comments and positive feedback.

With all our very best wishes,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2010

Stayed at Le Meridien for 3 nights as part of thailand vacation. The service was impeccable and the concierge was extremely helpful setting up our excursions and recommending a private city tour that was great. Overall fabulous experience and good location

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeMeridienBKK, Director – Sales + Marketing at Le Meridien Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear Reviewer,

May we thank you for your previous stay and for sharing your experiences.

At Le Méridien Bangkok, we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests personalized services and in satisfying their every need. We are pleased that you were able to experience this first hand.

We look forward to welcoming you once more back to Le Méridien Bangkok.

With Kind Regards,

Nick Zilinski
Director – Sales + Marketing
Le Méridien Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 852 in Bangkok
6,011 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bangkok

Property: Le Meridien Bangkok
Address: 40/5 Surawong Road | Silom, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Silom commercial district and just metres from the energetic Patpong Night Market. An innovative restaurants, a bar and a stylish lounge entice guests with menus introducing stimulating cuisine, creative cocktails and an international range of coffee blends. Also available are the intimate meeting rooms, a unique lifestyle floor with Spa, fitness and outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing