We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlie House Pinklao
Ranked #231 of 863 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A great location for easy access to central bangkok by bus or taxi. At the same time it like an oasis of calm and quiet. The staff and very, very friendly and helpful. A great place to relax and escape the heat of Bangkok.

Room Tip: The room beside the swimming pool is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toronto520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    87
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
89
45
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had my concerns looking online, It is at the end of a Soi (side street and the taxi cant get all the way upto the front door as there is a small bridge suitable for pedestrians motorbikes etc just before the entrance. They met me at the end of the Soi in a Golf cart to take me to the room. The swimming pool looked massive online, its not very big, but big enough when quiet to have a good swim and a very good kids pool, Food was good and reasonably priced, My son at 2 absolutely loved the place, its enclosed so he could run around and explore, Nice staff and well set out. Near to the Pinklao Tesco Lotus, Imex and Central Plaza only slight downside was the heat when walking back up the oi only a couple of minutes and i am sure the would bring the golf buggie down if asked. I would definetly go back

Room Tip: Opposite Tesco Lotus Pin klao its signposted but not so well known if taking a taxi from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

we stayed at Charlie house Jan 2- Jan 6 and then Jan 10- Jan 13th. This was my 4th time at Charlie house since visiting Thailand and my travel buddies first time. I really talked this place up and hoped I didn't oversell it. It exceeded both our expectations and I really wanted to Thank them for being so kind and providing such a great experience.The only real point of contention is a very ugly alleyway which leads up to Charlie house that makes you worry that something very Shabby awaits...I mean barbed wire, strange smells, garbage, street dogs etcc... but then when you show up at Charlie house you enter a lush garden courtyard where you are immediately made welcome by the enviroment and the staff.We ate at the restaurant everyday and the food was delicious and fresh(nothjing fancy- simple Thai and western dishes). the pool is so relaxing and even though it is small it is so private- hardly anyone ever uses the pool. We would lay out by the pool for hours and would have meals and drinks delivered to the pavilion. the sounds of the city dissapear here and the only noises I heard from my room were birds.
Our best advice is plan your day really well. You will have a heck of a time finding a cab who will fight traffic at the end of the day to drive you back. we found that we did local things in the morning and then left in the early afternoon and stayed out till late (after rush hour). We would pay 60-100 bhat to get to city area and about 200 bhat to get home(this was the best we could do)Right across the street is the big grocery store and you can pick up anything you need- it is also a great drop off spot and helped alot of taxi drivers find the hotel.
there is an AMAZING night maket about 2 blocks away which really impressed us. This fashion market was unlike anything eles we encountered in Thailand. It was a local market(no need to barter no ridiculous prices for crap goods) and the clothes were so great. If you are petite this could be a shopping mecca for you. The local fashion designers all have stalls and tables where they daily sell their wares. These are very high fashion looks custom made for prices like 200bhat for a sexy top or a great skirt. If you are not small then the bags, sunglasses and makeup(MAC,BOBBIE BROWN etc). Go ready for great deals.
The prices are so cheap and Service here can't be beat. This is not a resort but it is clean, simple and the people are kind. The rooms here are great and we were so happy every night we came home to Charlie House Pin Klou

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dragonflygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Me and my wife visited this place on February 2011. We liked it. We didn't expected much luxury or fanciness from this hotel. We expected tranquility and we've got it. This hotel is less crowded and we had some great romantic time in the pool. Birds woke us up every morning and we loved it. Getting food was little difficult there, but we found a KFC opposite Tesco. I may come back here someday again....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantanuDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

good hotel, hard to find. Be sure that you print out their description and a google maps screenshot showing the area and details.

Room (we had the suite for 2200THB) are great. Very spacious and clean.

Restaurant: Forget it. And there is also no option nearby (just street food and a mall). You will have to go downtown for some good restaurants.

Hotel is very quite as it is in the middle of a residential area - making it hard to find but giving it the "hidden gem" (previous reviewer) and charm.

Staff is a bit too quite and not so helpful but still very nice. TAxi is around 50-100 THB to downtown. Forget the taxi out of down between 5 and 9pm, it will tak 1h.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helveticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I first stayed at Charlie House soon after it opened in 2005 and have been back numerous times by myself, with friends and with family.
Finding Charlie House can be a little difficult. Located a little bit out of the of town, off the main road down a tiny alley way that can not fit any cars. If you stop at the petrol station the staff will come in their little golf buggy to pick you up.
Once you have arrived you are greeted by friendly staff in a beautiful green oasis with water feature.
The rooms are comfortable and spacious with beautiful big clean beds. At the end of a long day of site seeing, it was a pleasure to come back at the end of the day, have a dip in the pool and laze in the garden.
I highly recommend Charlie House to any one going to Bangkok and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladya
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Nothing fancy but the rooms were just perfect for us. We booked a family room which was very spacious, comfortable and clean, what more do you need! Cozy little garden with a little pool, enjoyed a simple breakfast outside. Jam, toast, fried egg, enough to start the day with but for those who like a big buffet...then this is not your thing! Central PIn Klao is on 5 minutes so shops and restaurants and a cinema are within reach. You do have to go through a little soi (very Thai area but fun!) but they provide a free shuttle service with a golf cart. We really enjoyed this simple but nice accommodation!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eefladya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Bangkok 68
#253 of 863 in Bangkok
334 reviews
The Royal City Hotel
#636 of 863 in Bangkok
140 reviews
At Mind Executive Suites
#214 of 863 in Bangkok
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#213 of 863 in Bangkok
200 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie House Pinklao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie House Pinklao

Property: Charlie House Pinklao
Address: 272 Borommarat Chachonnani Road | Bang Bamru, Bang Phlat, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlie House Pinklao 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlie House Pinklao is recommended by Tripadvisor guests. Charlie House Pinklao is a nice budget boutique hotel located near Grand Palace Bangkok and Khao San road. If you are looking for an accommodation in Bangkok, Charlie House Pinklao is a place for you. This Bangkok accommodation is a clean, small and budget boutique hotel situated among the peaceful and beautiful garden, thus it is a place for a real relaxation, especially for family. We have a swimming pool, a typical Thai pavilion for relaxing and as mentioned, a beautiful garden where you can sit back and relax in the tranquil and natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlie House Pinklao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlie House Pin Klao Hotel Bangkok
Charlie Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing