We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charlie house a little paradise in bangkok.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlie House Pinklao
Ranked #232 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“charlie house a little paradise in bangkok.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

i came across this little gem on the web. tucked away from the bustling streets of pinklao bangkok you enter a quiet haven ..of thai fauna with good sized very clean rooms at a reasonable rate. A small swimming pool and restaurant serving english style brekkies and thai lunches also very reasonable . The staff are very helpful and smiley friendly . theres a golf buggy ride to and fro the main road , where you can feast on street vendor food of all kinds.!! across the road is tesco lotus and a little further is central mall great for retail therapy. I was initially staying here for 5 nights but ended up staying for 22..very happy and well rested

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clive55_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    87
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
51
92
45
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

When we first arrived at late at night and had to be picked up by a golf cart I was a little worried but to my surprise what a great place. The staff has limited English but able to help you with great service. A beautiful space in the busy city of Bangkok. By the hotel the street vendor food was great! The rooms were clean, large and pleasant surroundings.

Room Tip: Every room has the same layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I found this hotel by accident. Someone had left brochures at the Thai air office in Phuket. While waiting in the queue, I picked up the pamphlet. It looked charming and best of all it's on the Thonburi side of the river. This means it's convenient to the southern bus station and Siriraj hospital which just happens to be the very best hospital in Thailand. It's not far from Khaoson Road, Wat Arun, the Royal Barge museum and other sites on the river as well. Central Pin Klao mall is within walking distance. There are lots of local street stalls selling everything but fake Rolex watches (or at least I haven't found that stall yet) every evening. Besides Central, there is a Major Cinipkex in walking distance as well. Several local spas are situated in the area with one level pricing for Thais and Farang alike.

The hotel is a short walk down either a very narrow street or a wide walkway. Staff from the hotel will come pick you up at the local minibus station at street side in a golf cart. When you walk or ride into Charlie House you feel like you've arrived in an oasis. It's like a personal or secret garden with several fountains, lots of plants, a large sala next to the pool...it's charming. The characteristic I like best - the staffs' smiles are old-fashioned Thai smiles which have nothing to do with how much money you're going to spend.

The rooms are all smoke free (the hotel has earned several green awards), clean and nicely sized. As I've said in other reviews, I like fluffy towels and Charlie's towels aren't fluffy. But I'd rather save a thousand baht or two and forego the fluffy towels.

It does take a bus or taxi ride to access the BTS or MRT. Nevertheless, I've never felt I was spending too much on transportation compared to how much I was saving on lodging.

They have a nice, simple Thai menu (and western breakfast) for room service or you can eat in the garden pavilion/restaurant. I give the restaurant a "very good" because they serve the best patseeyou moo (wide noodles with pork and vegetables) I've had anywhere in Thailand.

If you crave luxury on your holiday, don't stay here. If you want something just slightly old-fashioned in a modern clean, sincerely charming environment and you don't mind the lack of ambiance in the soi you need to traverse to enter this quiet secret garden, then I think you may want to call this hotel a home away from home.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have lots of luggage, ask for a first floor room. Nevertheless, I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajarn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

I and friend's family stay here 1 night on 28 novemer 2012 hotel is good location clean and quiet near central pin kraw easy to go out of city but 1 thing Inconvenient is you can't park your car in hotel there don't have private car park but hotel have public carpark out side and have free transportation when you check out this is good but you will wait fof free transportation . And hotel have indoor swimmingpool it good i like it ... I will back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Found this place through the necessity of being close to my fiance's house and extremely pleased that I did. It's almost like being in Bali, yet hidden up a back 'soi' (alleyway) in Pinklao, which is one of the busiest areas of Bangkok. The main building is 'L' shaped around a carefully tended garden, with a waterfall, which all rooms face. At the end are some artifacts of old Thailand, such as an ox cart and a beautiful open-sided village hall that stands on eight intricately carved pillars. Between it and the main hotel building is a small swimming pool with a shallow section for children and babies. The food is okay and sensibly priced. Excellent, crispy Thai pork omelet (the best I've tasted), Thai food, a variety of Thai and Western breakfasts (mayonnaise in the bacon sandwich, but okay). Lovely, friendly, welcoming staff. Excellent wi-fi Internet connection. Spent three wonderful weeks here at a special rate of 1,400 baht a night. Downsides: the rooms are air-conditioned, but simple. Good idea to buy a kettle for 400 baht if you want to make your own coffee or tea. Huge Tesco Lotus, Pinklao Centre, 12 screen Major Cinema and every kind of cheap food stall imaginable all within 10 minutes walk (and at Thai prices). Khao San Road and the Dusit area of palaces and temples 15 minutes by Taxi.

Room Tip: All rooms face the garden, but obviously best to try to get on on the ground floor from which access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A great location for easy access to central bangkok by bus or taxi. At the same time it like an oasis of calm and quiet. The staff and very, very friendly and helpful. A great place to relax and escape the heat of Bangkok.

Room Tip: The room beside the swimming pool is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toronto520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I had my concerns looking online, It is at the end of a Soi (side street and the taxi cant get all the way upto the front door as there is a small bridge suitable for pedestrians motorbikes etc just before the entrance. They met me at the end of the Soi in a Golf cart to take me to the room. The swimming pool looked massive online, its not very big, but big enough when quiet to have a good swim and a very good kids pool, Food was good and reasonably priced, My son at 2 absolutely loved the place, its enclosed so he could run around and explore, Nice staff and well set out. Near to the Pinklao Tesco Lotus, Imex and Central Plaza only slight downside was the heat when walking back up the oi only a couple of minutes and i am sure the would bring the golf buggie down if asked. I would definetly go back

Room Tip: Opposite Tesco Lotus Pin klao its signposted but not so well known if taking a taxi from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamuay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Royal City Hotel
#638 of 866 in Bangkok
140 reviews
Bangkok 68
#276 of 866 in Bangkok
339 reviews
At Mind Executive Suites
#220 of 866 in Bangkok
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Erawan House
Erawan House
#345 of 866 in Bangkok
446 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#358 of 866 in Bangkok
1,298 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#222 of 866 in Bangkok
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlie House Pinklao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlie House Pinklao

Property: Charlie House Pinklao
Address: 272 Borommarat Chachonnani Road | Bang Bamru, Bang Phlat, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
#110 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlie House Pinklao 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlie House Pinklao is recommended by Tripadvisor guests. Charlie House Pinklao is a nice budget boutique hotel located near Grand Palace Bangkok and Khao San road. If you are looking for an accommodation in Bangkok, Charlie House Pinklao is a place for you. This Bangkok accommodation is a clean, small and budget boutique hotel situated among the peaceful and beautiful garden, thus it is a place for a real relaxation, especially for family. We have a swimming pool, a typical Thai pavilion for relaxing and as mentioned, a beautiful garden where you can sit back and relax in the tranquil and natural surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlie House Pinklao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlie House Pin Klao Hotel Bangkok
Charlie Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing