We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We lub'd it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #14 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We lub'd it!”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This was our first time in Bangkok and our first time backpacking in SE Asia. We wanted to stay somewhere relatively inexpensive but without having to rough it so early in the trip! Lub d jumped out immediately from the positive reviews here and elsewhere and happily both fulfilled and surpassed our expectations.

Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by the friendly staff who instantly made you feel at home. Our room (an 8 bed dorm) was comfortable and modern, with the added blessing of air con- a welcome addition when acclimatising to the Bangkok heat! The showers are excellent and the free wi fi is a great bonus. After our return from a long day out touring the temples, the bar and outside seating area were an ideal place to chill out with a beer and watch the world go by- one night we had the accompaniment of a member of staff strumming a guitar- extremely pleasant. Though we didn't get chance to take part, there were lots of things organised by the hostel during the week such as a walking tour of the area and a trip to a night club which would be ideal for a lone traveller looking to make friends. Location wise though your not exactly in the thick of things in Silom, close proximity to the sky train station at Chong Nonsi means your easily within distance of the main attractions. Pat pong is a short walk away if that's your cup of tea!

Overall, we were extremely impressed with lub d, and they've set the bar pretty high for the rest of our trip! We'll be heading back through Bangkok in a few months and we'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChowderPowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    263
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
4
153
300
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Me and my partner stayed at this hostel for two nights in October. This was our first time in Bangkok and we were recommended to stay there by a travel agency. We stayed in a private double room with en suite. The room was stylish, very clean and the maid came every day to clean and make the beds. The staff at the hostel all speak English and were very helpful from showing us the best places to go to ordering a mc donalds delivery for some others staying there. There's a nice communal area downstairs with tv, games, free internet access, a bar and snacks which is great for meeting other people. Its about 5/10 minute walk from the sky train station and a tuk tuk to khao san is around 100baht. Not too much around the hostel but easy enough to get to other places. However, patpong night market and bars are within walking distance of the hostel.
I would definatley recommend this hostel to others and will be staying there again on my next visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharl03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
langkawi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

this is my 2nd hotel but lub.d hostel is the best so far.all the staff very friendly and helpful,i feel so wellcome here.the place very clean and tidy..also close to pak pong street which is the most happening place in bangkok only walking distand..i will come back,thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khirien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Perfect hostel, in a great area of Bangkok. Huge place, with computers downstairs, very modern. The staff were brilliant, got me checked in really quick, and you can order beers at reception to enjoy outside watching the world go by.

Rooms were immaculate, with individual air con, and reading lights.

I ended up staying longer than expected, and got a private room for the last few nights. Showers were amazing, best I had in SE Asia!

When I was having a drink on the first night I noticed a backpacker arriving, who said he had paid $200 Aus for a taxi from the airport, it was his first time traveling, and don't think he had the conversion rate sussed, so as with traveling anywhere, make sure you know the market rates for taxis!

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Lovely clean, fun place. My partner and I stayed in a private double room. Was super clean, funky and just what we were after. Its not the cheapest place to stay, but its no where near the most expensive either! The staff all speak english and are really helpful with any info you need. Everyone wants to be your friend and you meet so many nice people. Would recommend to any one travelling through bangkok. We stayed for two nights and would say its the best place to stay :)

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank squisherKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Great hostel, I have stayed here the last three times I have been in Bangkok.
Really clean, lovely bathrooms and dorms, laundry room, great staff and sociable atmosphere.
Also really near to the Skytrain.

Room Tip: Ladies dorms are great and have their own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sozl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Lub d hostel - i love this place! The place is very clean. The room (twin bed) that i took is superb - Clean bed sheets and towel, spacious room for two. The showers and toilets are also clean. The peppermint shower gel provided gives a nice touch to the fresh and cool interior design concept.
The coffee and breakfast set is reasonable priced. The coffee is really really good. The hostel's lounge is also spacious and a great place to chill besides the room.
The Lub d staffs are friendly and have been really helpful and very informative. On our last day, the staff helped us flagged down taxi to go to the airport and spoke to taxi driver to make sure that the taxi use their meter. We cant thank you enough.
Will definitely come back again to Bangkok and Lub d!

Room Tip: Try to get the twin room with window with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LinaMahirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,442 reviews
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#48 of 858 in Bangkok
1,035 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,194 in Bangkok
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,194 in Bangkok
702 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,194 in Bangkok
531 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#17 of 1,194 in Bangkok
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing