We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #12 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
284 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent Budget Accommodation”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

I had long wanted to stay at this hostel, but could never get a room. It might have something to do with the room unavailability, and it is not hard to see why!

I was impressed with their website, but was a little hesitant to believe everything I see online. Often, travelers are conned by the gorgeous room photos, lobby pictures, facilities, etc. Let me assure you, everything is as it seems and what you see is what you get. It was beautifully furnished, albeit in a minimalist kind of way. Whoever designed the hostel is brilliant. It was unlike any hostel I have ever seen.

On the hostel's part, warmth and care was extended to the guests right from the start when I received an email confirming my arrival in the next few days. I have only gotten this personalized touch from business and luxury hotels, so it was nice getting something similar from Lub d Bangkok Silom, again totally unexpected.

Upon registration, clear explanations were given with regard to WiFi access. A printout of the area surrounding the hotel was also handed to me and proofed useful. The hostel is walking distance from Silom Road and its colorful night scene. The BTS (sky train) is a short walk away....very accessible. Also, as Lub d Bangkok Silom is located on a side road, you experience a peaceful night's rest each night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCHSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    262
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
153
299
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Booked a private double room here and it was fantastic. Great bathroom, flat screen tv and modern furniture. The hotel had a very friendly atmosphere and the staff was great. It was 5 minutes from a BTS station which made it easy to get around Bangkok. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoshK_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The design and architecture of Lub D, Silom, are a treat, with inspired decor and a brilliant use of industrial cement. The rooms are a little cramped and there isn't much space for luggage, but they provide a storage locker for each bed, so you can at least stash it away.

The staff were amazing. I used Lud B as a base as I explored SE Asia, so I came and went a number of times. Each time I came back they remembered me by name, even if I hadn't really chatted with them on my previous stay. It always made for a welcome return. I left my laptop cable when I left for the last time, and they were more than happy to send in on to my in Singapore.

As with most backpacker places in Bangkok, it's a little loud and people are partying until all hours of the morning. But up in the dorm rooms the noise faded away and I had no problems sleeping.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salsa_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights during christmas. Personel was really friendly, everything was clean and organised. They organised a christmas party at the Lub D siam hostel in Bangkok. As it was my birthday this was an excellent way to celebrate both christmas and my birthday in Bangkok. Would definitely stay here or in the Siam hostel when I come back to bangkok some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterTuijtelaars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

I read on one blog that if you are traveling alone, book a room in a backpackers' hostel to meet people. And the writer specifically mentioned this place, and she was right! Upon checking in, the staff were very friendly and I became instantly at home with the place.

Room: It was very spacious for a 6-bedroom female dorm with a large window facing Decho street. My bed was very comfortable though it tends to get very chilly at night despite the comfy blankets they provided. I also liked the design and color of our room.

Building: The lounge/reception area is very huge! Since it was sweltering hot during my stay in Bangkok, the cool interiors of Lub d was very welcoming. And it has ample seats, bean bags and tables for everyone to just hang out. If you don't feel like going outside that day, you don't need to lock yourself up in your room because there are lots of things to do around the hostel.

Bathroom: I have no complaints about the cleanliness of their shared bathroom. During my entire stay, I didn't have to wait to use the shower or toilet.

Location: Unlike its Siam counterpart which is literally beside the BTS station, this hostel is still a ten-minute walk from Chong Nonsi BTS station. But I didn't mind. Since it is located on one of the quieter streets, you get to escape the hustle and bustle of the city; and relax in their outdoor lounge where you can just randomly meet and drink with fellow backpackers. Just a few blocks away, there are quaint restaurants you can try out or go to Covenant street to try street food.

I met a lot of great and interesting people there. If I am to go back to Bangkok, I will definitely go back here and allot more days hanging out here than touring the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a female shared room which is located in a seperate area of the building for girls only. The room was spacy, had a sofa and a locker for each person, huge windows and airco as well as a Personal sideboard with essentials like an own reading light and socket at each bed.

The hostel was exceptionally clean and the staff was friendly and really helpful.

The directions on the website work out perfectly as well.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, NM
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

This hostel was a lot of fun and a visual treat.The staff were all really friendly and helpful. Generally, the hostel caters to 20-somethings, although I did see a few older travelers.

I loved staying in Silom as opposed to the Khao San Road area. It felt more like a real neighborhood, although the Patpong area is touristy at night. I enjoyed the restaurants and shops around Silom Road and went to Convent Road several times to eat and get a traditional massage at Ruen-Nuad. The Silom Soi 20 morning food market is just five minutes away and is a good place to get breakfast (I usually got fresh fruit, a sticky rice snack, and an iced coffee). Siam is only a short hop away on the SkyTrain and is fun to explore too.

The onsite washing machines and dryers were handy, although only one washing machine was working at the time I was there, so there was a long wait for it.

I had a railway twin to myself (they don't have true singles), and felt it was a bit expensive for the fact that it didn't have a private bath. It would've been nice to have had a sink in the room, at least. However, the shared bath was often empty when I used it, and the peppermint body wash and shampoo were a nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#44 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,399 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,186 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#11 of 1,186 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,186 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing