We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #15 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was the second hostel we stayed in during our trip in Asia. We really enjoyed staying here. We first stayed in a private room, which was really nice. The other 2 nights we stayed in a mixed dorm, which was also quite nice. The bathroom was really clean and there was a lot of space. Also the lobby was quite spacious and a nice place to hang out. There are computers with internet, which you can use for free! The only disadvantage that this hostel has is that it is not really close to the city centre and you have to take a tuktuk or a taxi to town. But overall, I can really recommend this place to other people!!

Room Tip: The private rooms have A/C and the whole floor is colder than the upper floors with mixed dorms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianned05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    266
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
155
300
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Howth, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

After a couple of months hard slog but fun travel in SE Asia, I fell in love with Lub D the minute I hit the reception desk. The front desk people were really friendly and their English was almost perfect. They were totally helpful about what to do as well. Lub D is away from the crazy party parts of Bangkok but I felt the surrounding areas were authentic. I stayed in a couple of different room types - both great. Transport hub is nearby and is regular.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinForker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We weren't too impressed by Lub d, as it had a sort of fake personal approach, even though it was clearly run as a business with very clean, but very ugly, windowless rooms. Facilities work really well, but are shared. It's the sort of place that's good if you're on your own, because they do organise events, but we weren't appealed by all the fake friendliness at all.
Still, a very comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A very nice clean and friendly place to say, a place that actually cares about the individual travller and doesnt just see you as money, they will help you anyway they can. Only issue is its a litlle way away from things, and without one of their own maps many taxi drivers/tuk tuks wont be able to find it, do not try and travel to here during rush hour, it will take forever!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mac_attackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Hi, this was our first stay in Thailand...it was an excellent experience! The place was really clean, modern and had cool air conditioning. It was very welcoming, with places to sit and write, a bar that serves drinks/continental breakfast in the morning, and computers with free internet! The shared bedrooms were really comfortable, and each bed conveniently has it's own power outlet and shelf for belongings. It was with-in short walking distance of the air train stop! I would recommend this place in a heart beat!

Oh, also...I had left behind my Iphone, plugged in a charger in the lobby. When I realized I was with out my phone, it was too late, as I was on the way to the south already! I called the front desk and politely asked for them to see if it was there, which it was, so they locked it up and set it aside for me for 12 days! Very honest, very polite. So if you do leave something valuable there, they will most likely save it for you. :) Thank you Lub D!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 808Travellauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Really nice hostel to arrive in as our first stop! However a little out of the way, we stayed in the lub d siam square later on in our trip which was much more central, so would recommend staying here to save money on tuk tuks/taxis. Air con super efficient and quick internet...FANTASTIC modern power showers with free shampoo and bodywash too!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

lub d was our first stop when we got to bangkok. All other residents were very friendly, as were the staff. It wasn't central but it was within walking distance from the train station, decent restaurants, markets and shops. The rooms were very clean and the shared bathrooms were excellent. Felt safe there and would happily stay again. Only comment is that there was no window in our room so it was difficult to know what time it was and to get ready, but I wouldn't let that put you off.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,241 in Bangkok
1,012 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,241 in Bangkok
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,241 in Bangkok
708 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#7 of 1,241 in Bangkok
278 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#26 of 1,241 in Bangkok
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing