We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, great place to meet fellow travelers, good facilities including squeaky clean and spacious bathrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #14 of 1,253 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff, great place to meet fellow travelers, good facilities including squeaky clean and spacious bathrooms”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The main objective of our visit in Silom was to visit Sky Bar so Lub D was perfectly situated for that. This was our last stop before the airport so being so close to the Skytrain was ideal especially because we needed to travel during rush hour and no taxi drivers would take us! Lub D is also a short stretch from Patpong night market which is a must see but if you've been to Khao San Road or Bangla Road it will feel very familiar! If it weren't for Sky Bar however, I probably wouldn't have stayed in this area at all though.

Within Lub D itself, there was a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Although I had a travel partner, it would've been easy enough to make new friends in the dorms had we been travelling alone. The room did smell a bit stale but that was the only minor fault.We chose to stay in the Railay twin (cheaper than a double room) which was simple but did the job! I was however very impressed with the shared bathrooms which were spacious and very clean with power showers!

Considering it was a hostel I did feel that it was more expensive than I'd expected as we could have stayed in a guesthouse or hotel with an ensuite bathroom for less. Downstairs we were grateful to have access to the computers and printer to print off our flight information. The downstairs lounge area was a perfect place to meet people and we had to use our key cards to access the dormitories thus showing the importance of safety at Lub D. It was also good to know that even after checking out we could still store our bags and grab a shower until it was time to go. During my whole stay in SE Asia I can honestly say that hands down, the staff here were the most friendly and helpful, giving us advice on taxis, restaurants, the way to the airport, how to get to a meditation class etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxbeth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    267
    44
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
156
300
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely hostel. One of the nicest I've stayed in. Excellent value. Rooms are immaculately clean. Decent power showers!!! Rooms have hair dryers, iPod dock, comfy beds, towels and are cleaned daily. Staff are all really helpful and give you advice on what to do and getting around Bankok. Hostel has a really friendly vibe and would be a good place to stay if travelling alone. Only issue I had was with a newborn baby staying there. Very strange choice for new parents and the baby cried all night not the most obvious reason for being kept awake in Bankok. Overall great value and fantastic hostel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hostel had a really cool feel about it. The bunk bed rooms were really simple and slightly smelly (as it didn't have any windows) but the staff were extremely friendly and they helped us out whenever we had any questions etc. The common area and outside table for smokers were both really easy places to meet people. All in all I think this is a great place to stay and an easy place to meet people. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexiaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Although this is stated as a hostel, it is pretty much a hotel in centre of Bangkok. We booked a double room and this was one of the nicest places I have ever stayed, even in comparison to five star hotels.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the hostel offers themed nights out almost every night, letting you relive moments such as going to the same bars as the characters from the Hang over to riding elephants in the outskirts of Bangkok.

They also have computers with free internet and facilities such as a cinema room with movies and a washing room.

They can't be beat on value, this is a must!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JihunKim25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in, Lub d Decho Road provided more than I expected with great showers, a cinema room and really helpful staff. We were able to use the facilities several hours before and after checking in/out.

It isn't the cheapest but it's worth the extra money, there's a nice buzz about the place and is suited to those travelling as a group or alone. Not especially close to a metro stop but otherwise very decent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed in hotels and hostels over our trip and this was definitely at the top of the pile. The Lub D staff, who are lovely and very helpful, clearly take security seriously - you are given a key card which swipes you into the dorm area and also works for your individual room. We stayed in a 'railway double' aka bunk bed room - the beds were comfy and considerably softer than most in Thailand (!!), and we had plenty of space. We also thought it was a nice touch that they had arranged the room so each person had equal space: their own towel rack, mirror space etc. Mixed and ladies dorms are available, the shared bathrooms are enormous, spotlessly clean and house the best showers we saw in Thailand. What really sets this hostel apart are the little details which show how used to dealing with backpackers they are; for instance, you can leave luggage with them for up to two months, or over a short term like a couple of hours til your flight leaves, and you are given luggage tickets which you have to show to get your bags back. If you check out the day you leave, you can still use the hostel bathrooms to grab a quick shower before you go, and you're welcome to use the common areas. Overall a great hostel which takes care of the little things - would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a private bathroom - the shared ones are more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I used to go for backpackers hostel while traveling around and i must say this is my favourite. I doubt that I could get another hostel better than this in the future :S Their service is really good, for some reasons they wanted to upgrade me from 10 person dorm to a private room. Seriously i did not expect for that!

Okay maybe just read it through my blog for more info and photos!
http://imvienne.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/sleep-well-in-bangkok-2/

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imvienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,253 in Bangkok
1,023 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,253 in Bangkok
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#6 of 1,253 in Bangkok
278 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,253 in Bangkok
711 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#21 of 1,253 in Bangkok
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,253 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and LateRooms so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing