We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chic design hostel but lil bit pricey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lub d Bangkok Silom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #16 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“chic design hostel but lil bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

actually we stayed on April 2013 but we only got 1 nite available due to the peak season of songkran festival. I stayed at female dorm. the hostel have chic design, the bed is really big and comfy, but the bed room is too small and looked crowded with 8 bed inside and the guests luggage. the room is also not really clean, when I arrived plenty of water spilled on the floor (maybe it was songkran effect). the shower room has so many rooms, but not really clean, I found so many hair trash inside. but the staffs really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meladewinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    259
    43
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
151
295
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived straight off a flight from London, knackered, hoping our first hostel would be a nice one and yes it was. SO sociable. Everyone just hanging around the front drinking and chatting. The staff held bar crawls and got everyone involved. The cleanliness was not to fault at all and the rooms were more than sufficient. Especially for the price which isn't high at all! Had a theatre room to watch films which I loved. Natalie I recall her being named; a young lady on the information desk, really made us feel at ease. She was very very helpful! I booked again to stay before I fly from Bangkok. Couldn't go anywhere else!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bananaloofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a mixed 8 bed dorm and 4 nights in a railway twin. One of the most comfortable backpackers I've ever stayed at! The rooms and bathrooms were always clean, the staff were really helpful and there's a dedicated person to help out with getting around and organising sightseeing activities!

There's a small bar/food outlet that makes getting a beer or a quick snack really easy and grabbing a quick breakfast from here was one of the most convenient things about staying here. It was really easy to meet people and the sky train is a short 10min walk away! Definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Binula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This hostel is extremely comfortable, perhaps to comfortable, and we stayed a lot longer than we planned. It's one of the cheaper options but everything is perfect. The bathrooms are big enough to park a jumbo jet and the showers are so powerful they will make you weak at the knees. The hostel is über secure, with your electronic key card needed for the front door, the lobby and the rooms, but this is Deginately a good thing in Bangkok. The hostel has a bar but allows you to bring your own booze. There is a large movie room and 6 free computers. It is unfortunately a little tuk tuk ride to KSR but there's plenty of places to eat near, make sure you try the duck house opposite. Staff are extremely fun helpful and friendly, always trying to get you involved in fun games and they give out free rice whiskey !

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gapyear14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed there for one night in a private room. Surprisingly luxurious for a hostel (which is true for a lot of hostels in Bangkok). Comfortable bed, good shower, clean room. Very helpful staff and a travel agent that comes in on the mornings to plan onward trips (Krabi Islands, Laos, Cambodia, etc.)

The only negative I'd say is that it's a bit on the pricey side - considering it's still a hostel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I stayed here a few times in October and November 2013 and each time was the same (albeit different) great experience. I found all the people who worked there were warm, friendly and helpful. The beds and rooms were clean and comfortable with good size lockers were provided in each of the rooms and the shower cubicle were a decent enough size with the showers pumping good hot water through at a decent enough rate to be able to enjoy scrubbing away the grime of the day, or to freshen and wake up in the morning. There are also cleaning facilities there in the form of washing machines and tumble dryers for some same day clean clothes action. In the lobby there is a travel desk open in the day to help you plan any further trips away and the bar is usually well stocked with plenty of beer to get you through an evening either around the large communal table / area inside, or chilling on the steps at the front of the building with other travellers and fantasic and friendly members of staff. Maybe also worth mentioning that I was carrying medical supplies with me at the time that this hostel were more than happy to help me keep in the correct cool environment, for which I will be eternally grateful. The continental breakfast that are available in the morning are good value and provide a good bit of carb loading to get the day started. Awesome place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Lub*d Silom may seem like a pricey hostel to the average budget traveller, but for what you pay you get so much more back

We stayed in a railway twin, which had super thick mattresses, lovely pillows, plugs next to your bed so you can charge your phone/tablet etc or just use it in bed whilst you charge it. The room comes with air conditioning and little lights in all the right places. It also came with a desk which was useful.

Another amazing feature of Lub*d is that the Wifi is astounding, I had a completely clear Skype conversation just on my tablet in the room, it was an interview and there were no technical problems.

The bathrooms are also fantastic, with hot showers 24/7 and shampoo dispensers on the wall. You also get a new towel everyday, although I think if you are in a dorm you have to pay 50 baht for this.

The bar is also brilliant, serving beer at reasonable prices, but the staff are always happy to give you cups if you want to buy your own. It also does simple food, snacks and that sort of thing. Breakfast is also an option, with a croissant, toast, jam, a banana and tea/coffee coming to 80 baht (I think).

There is also a brilliant travel agent, who organised a four day trip to Koh Tao, including our PADI scuba diving open water qualification and accomodation for about 9400 baht. She also organised the transport down there.

What I'm trying to say is that Lub*d is everything you could possibly need in a hostel. I met some great friends and had an absolute blast. Couldn't give it a higher review.

Room Tip: Any rooms will be incredible, the railway twins are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Amara Bangkok
Amara Bangkok
#47 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#4 of 1,131 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#1 of 1,131 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#15 of 1,131 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,131 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing