We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Decent Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #15 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really Decent Place to Stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Clean, comfy rooms. Free towel if you stay in the female only 10 bed dorm. Bring a padlock for the locker. Takes about 10/15 mins to walk from the train station, but nice area and easy to get places with public transport. Showers and bathroom are fantastic. Great place for my first night in Bangkok!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    266
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
155
300
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are backpacking and you are on a budget and you are in Bangkok - stay at the Lub D - end of discussion.

With a 24H desk and interior decor that looks like something out of a Dr.Who show - it is built to please. Spacious rooms and dorms, ultra slick toilets and washrooms and the best part - a home theater room with beanbags. Free breaky in the morning, tho you need to pay for bananas which I thought was kinda strange.

Walking distance from Chong Nonsi BTS station and convenience stores and a night market, you cannot go wrong with this place. On sunday evenings the local Tuk Tuk drivers get together for a friendly game of Sepak Takrow in the arena opposite the hostel - trust me its a fun watch. And I had the most amazing game of jenga one night :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockXplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 541 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This is not a hostel, this is a lifestyle ;)

We have really enjoyed staying there for 4 nights! This place is great - the facilities are funky and clean and the staff is helpful and knowledgeable. We were really happy with the comfort and quality of our railway twin room.

The atmosphere of this hostel is great, too. Everyone is your friend. Even if you’re travelling with a 3 year old ;)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysSpeakOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

-room is nice, locker available, bed is comfortable
-the shower is quite spacious, hot water works well

-location is not really close to BTS Chong Nonsi
-i stayed during songkran, in 8 mixed dorm room. locker is available but stuffs are messed up everywhere and the floor is wet. i know it depends on the roommate and since it was water festival, i cant complain anything.
-aircon should be set on 25 degree, in fact with 8 pax inside during April, its quite hot.
-with the rate THB 460, it would be better if we got a simple breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardo_139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I stayed here over Songkran so the hostel was full, I even had to move room from the 8 bed dorm to a double room.
Expensive but worth it for the cleanliness and good location. Staff were helpful and the beds comfortable enough - especially for a backpackers.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DanBaxstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

actually we stayed on April 2013 but we only got 1 nite available due to the peak season of songkran festival. I stayed at female dorm. the hostel have chic design, the bed is really big and comfy, but the bed room is too small and looked crowded with 8 bed inside and the guests luggage. the room is also not really clean, when I arrived plenty of water spilled on the floor (maybe it was songkran effect). the shower room has so many rooms, but not really clean, I found so many hair trash inside. but the staffs really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meladewinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived straight off a flight from London, knackered, hoping our first hostel would be a nice one and yes it was. SO sociable. Everyone just hanging around the front drinking and chatting. The staff held bar crawls and got everyone involved. The cleanliness was not to fault at all and the rooms were more than sufficient. Especially for the price which isn't high at all! Had a theatre room to watch films which I loved. Natalie I recall her being named; a young lady on the information desk, really made us feel at ease. She was very very helpful! I booked again to stay before I fly from Bangkok. Couldn't go anywhere else!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bananaloofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,241 in Bangkok
1,012 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,241 in Bangkok
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,241 in Bangkok
709 reviews
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#7 of 1,241 in Bangkok
277 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#26 of 1,241 in Bangkok
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing