We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #17 of 1,210 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Place”
Reviewed 22 October 2009

I always travel to Bangkok and I always stay here at Lub D. It is so perfect for me. Very nice backpacker, very clean, very friendly staff, perfect location, with lockers, personal socket, sturdy and comfy beds...ohhh...I love Lub D! Perfect for me!...and oops, did I tell you that they do promos...?

Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Borgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    265
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
153
300
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Just came back from a 5 days stay in Lub D Bangkok. As a frequent traveller to Bangkok, I must say I am impressed with the hostel.
Pros:
Very friendly staff
cozy environment with free internet access
food available 24hrs in the donut counter, try the pizza.. it is good.
Rainy season, the staff happily lent out umbrellas
Me and my friend bought too much things at the end of the trip and had to use carton boxes to pack the stuff. The staff were very helpful in giving us carton boxes and also tapes. I requested for boxes in hotels previously and was just flatly rejected, so much for 4 stars hotel.
laundry machines are ready available at cheap rates
stayed in the twin room with bathroom, must say the decor and the layout of the room totally no complaints! checked out the common bathroom on the lower floors too, very clean as compared to other hostel.
Location is pretty centralised, took cab from Chinatown back did not cost too much (about 60baht during the peak traffic hours)

Cons:
abit far from the BTS station, Near station will be Chongnosi but there is no food / night market along that stretch. The next station will be sala dang which is the famous patpong stretch. Tons of food and drinks and partying. It will take about 15-20 mins to walk from there back to the hostel. Not much roadside stalls along the same stretch as the hostel but it seems that the number of stalls are much lesser in general all around bangkok itself.
Probably if you are shopaholic like me, you will run into the problem of having to carry your bags of shopping to walk a distance from BTS back. Can consider taking a cab back if bags really get too heavy but insist on a metered taxi if taking from Patpong. Had a very friendly pharmcist from Boots to request the cab driver to use meter. =) Cost less than 40 and we are back to the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

If you need a modern, clean hotel with a good service don't hesitate to book there! The only thing we didn't liked was that it is in a small street a bit away from everything and we had to walk at least 1/2 an hour to find a decent place to eat - to be fair the hotel offers simple breakfast, but we wanted something different. It's 1/2 an hour walking from a more lively street with restaurants or shops. There is a sky train station 10 minutes walking which leads you to the main shopping area where are MBK and the other big malls. There are tuk-tuks everywhere, taxis as well, so whatever your budget is you can move around the city easily.
The room is very nice and modern, the bathroom as well, there is a huge air conditioner so if you want you can make the room really cold! It's not big but good size and it's got own safe which is very convenient! The staff is very friendly and helpful, there is a free internet too. Overall - great place to stay if you don't want to be in the middle of the noisy Bangkok!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daizysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I had a really pleasant stay at Lub D! The design of the hostel was chic, modern and the place was also really clean.

The night staff reception staff were really really helpful! Gave us good directions and tips :)

Would definitely go back if I'm back in Bangkok!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmin2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

This is a great hostel and has everything you could ever need. A DVD commonroom, free wifi and computers downstairs, fantastic security and very helpful staff.

The only downside of the whole stay was that the room (a double) didnt have any windows and was a little small. It was on the top floor which also got very hot.. but for a hostel you couldn't ask for much more!

The location is perfect for backpackers who want the fun of Bangkok away from chaotic Kao Sahn rd. Right near Patpong and the skytrain you can easily make your way around town.

There is a really helpful tour desk which arranges cheap and fun adventures and a great bar!

The staff however are the best part, even after we checked out in the morning they let us come back to the hostel after a sweaty day of shopping and shower and use the internet while we were killing time before our train left!

We'll be returning before the end of the trip!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Just checked out from Lub D. Stayed for 4 nights with my mom, uncle, his wife and cousin. Stayed at double rooms and lady dorm. The hotel is very clean and staff are friendly and helpful. The only problem is location, it is far from anywhere. Need to walk 10 minutes to get nearest 7-eleven, 15-20 minutes to nearest BTS. I was told by email that Patpong market is only 10 minutes walk, found out it is 20 minutes. The hotel has no elevator, it was my fault though since I didnt check before I book this hotel. The double room and lady dorm are located on 4th floor, we had so much trouble carrying our luggages to our rooms and must climb to 4th floor everyday...found it very unconvenience since I traveled with my mom...I felt at the stair when I carried my luggage down this morning. If you look for clean hotel, you may want to consider this one, but if you want good location I dont think this one is a good choice. If you travel with family just consider other hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Silom, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Lub d. We are sorry that you found the hostel to be inconvenience due to the location and the fact that we don’t have elevator at our facility.

Normally, our staffs will help our guests out with luggage since we understood that, for elderly, carrying luggage to the fourth floor could be difficult. We apologize that we missed providing this help to your group that day. As for the distance to BTS station, the closest station is Chong Non Sri which is about one and a half block from our hostel, or roughly 10 minutes walk. We understood that for a larger group of people, with elderly, this could take longer (in your case, 20 minutes). We are sorry that you found it a little too far off.

We thank you for your comment. It is very useful to us and we are using your review to improve our service to people who travel as a big family. We need to do better job in providing support to family traveling, and we will. Thank you again for your review.

Wasin Hanthanupong
Hostel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the world
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2009

We stayed in a private double room. Basic rooms but very clean, quiet and spacious. Free wifi internet connection in all rooms and downstairs. Computers, travel guides and board games available in the common area downstairs. Great location, walking distance from Patpong. Staff are friendly, however not always very helpful. The travel desk is very good - they can also arrange visas for ongoing travelers. Great stay if you are looking for basic and safe accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HippieWorldTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,210 in Bangkok
1,005 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,210 in Bangkok
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,210 in Bangkok
705 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#18 of 1,210 in Bangkok
893 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#27 of 1,210 in Bangkok
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,210 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing