We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #16 of 1,213 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So so clean”
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This hostel was a welcome break from the hustle of Bangkok. Brilliantly designed, so modern feels more like a boutique hotel. All heavily air conditioned, so clean and filled with computers to use. Also a desk for advice and trips - perfect. The bar was also great, and breakfasts in the morning - cheap and nice! It was perfect to sit out on the balcony with a beer and playing chess. Also had a 'cinema room' which was great as on the last night of our travelling we just spent all evening watching dvds on the beanbags and ordered pizza! Bathrooms were amazing! So clean and modern, and the rooms were great. The only thing is its not in the middle of the hustle - so we used to get taxis to khoa san road every night for the action, and then return to the clean, cool rooms of lub d in the evening. Perfect if you are prepared to spend a little more dollar on transport - it is worth it I assure you!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amythebackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    265
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
5
154
300
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Although we weren't enamoured by Bangkok, Lub D was a fab hostel to stay in, with real good value for money (with a promotion!). Not too far from the sky train for getting around, although taxis/tuk tuks back at rush hour were somewhat of a nightmare (but it is Bangkok after all). Stayed in a double room on the top floor - good sized, with a great shower. Fun bar, free internet and games area.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathhhyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2010

We had a double room in the Lub D hostel and I was really impressed. It's more of a hotel than a hostel - quite small rooms but perfect for basing yourself in the centre of Bangkok. Location is a little confusing when you arrive, but you will get your bearings. It's about a 15 minute walk to the skytrain and the ferry terminal. Staff are really helpful and the communal area downstairs is great to catch up with fellow travellers, emails and a few drinks. Great choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l0nd0ntraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This place is spotless and quiet. I only stayed for one night and shared a bunk with a friend. The room was small but perfect for the price and location. We were a short walk away from the Patpong markets and 45 minutes from the airport (I arrived at 2am and it was safe and well lit...and people were still quietly drinking coffee or reading in the lobby cafe). There were towels in the rooms and the beds were pretty comfy.

The bathrooms are the cleanest bathrooms I have ever seen in a hostel. Very modern, fully equipped and amazingly clean. I would definitely stay there again. Also very secure.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sfrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveling
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

My wife and I stayed here during our trip around the world and loved it. There are cheap eats within 5 minutes walking. Half a dozen massage places near by. Tuk-Tuks are easy to get. All of what you need are very close, but the hostel itself is tucked away from all the madness. You can sit outside and have a peaceful beer without getting harassed.

The accommodations were great. My wife and I had the big double room which was cleaned daily. It is the size of your average 4 star hotel room, had a desk, tv and small closet. In addition to that, there's a sink and private toilet and shower...and the shower was nice and hot and not one of those crappy trickling showers, either.

They have a bunch of travel guides and various books that you can borrow. There's a bunch of computers you can use. Most important to me is that they have free wifi and the connection is pretty good...not Japan fast, but it's ok. Never used the TV room, but if you're craving a movie the room looks very comfy.

But the best part of this hostel is the great staff that work there. They were always willing to go out of the way to make your stay great. They have two people from tour companies inside the lobby that can make bookings for you to check out the Palace, the various temples or as far as the Floating Market or even Chang Mai for a few days. The tours are all priced reasonably and the dude who works there is absolutely great - found us a local Thai food/dancing place near by and helped us book accommodations and transportation to Phucket the next week.

They've got a nice cheap breakfast to get you going in the morning and the beers are cheap enough when you buy two at a time. Other than that, the menu is limited, but you've got lots of places to eat near by.

The best compliment I can say is that I would come back....in fact, I am coming back next week for a couple days before we leave Thailand.

Oh, and here's the best prices for the Tuk-Tuk's that we got:
Lub d to Grand Palace - 100 THB
Lub d to Khaosan Rd - 100 THB
Khaosan Rd to Lub d - 150 THB
Thai Boxing Arena / Night Market to Lub d - 50 THB

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank link7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2009

They have the largest bathroom, nice and comfortable! The bathroom have "dry" and "wet" area. I really enjoy it!
The staffs are very helpful and friendly and most of them can speak good English!
I stayed in a 8 persons dorm. The mattress are clean and comfortable.
I will recommend this place if you want to meet a lot of friends.

Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank SoonLye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Everything about this place is fantastic, from the decor to the food to the super friendly staff! Would definatly come back again and again and again....!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandMaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#2 of 1,213 in Bangkok
1,007 reviews
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,213 in Bangkok
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#3 of 1,213 in Bangkok
706 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#25 of 1,213 in Bangkok
1,037 reviews
Silom
Glur Bangkok Hostel
Glur Bangkok Hostel
#17 of 1,213 in Bangkok
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Property: Lub d Bangkok Silom
Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,213 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing