We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple & Clean Place to hangout”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lub d Bangkok Silom
Ranked #26 of 1,417 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Nice and simple place to stay. Location was a little hard to find at first but manage to caught it after the taxi went one round around. The staff were helpful and nice and helped us to check-in as fast as they could. The rooms were what we see in the pictures and good enough for me. The toliets and bathroom were clean too.

Would love to come back here again

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoranTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

671 - 677 of 847 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

My friends & I stayed at Lub D for 2 nights. The place was surprisingly charming and attractive. I loved the design of the building, it was airy and modern, there were no stuffy furnitures in sight. The staff was really helpful and accommodating, despite that some of them had a hard time expressing themselves in english. Nevertheless, we managed to understand one another through gestures & maps. We slept in the twin bedroom, that houses a bunk bed, a small table & chair, & a safety deposit box. The room itself was quite narrow, smaller than the room depicted in their photos, but the four of us were able to sit comfortably on the available floor space when we decided to hangout for a quick chat. We used the communal bathroom, which was really huge, clean & tastefully designed with high ceilings. There were several H&C showers, toliets, as well as sinks.

What I didn't like about Lub D is the location, although it was supposed to be one of the good points of the place. We flew in late at night from KL, and we haven't had dinner yet. We tried looking for nearby open restaurants; however, there weren't any. The nearest would be 2 blocks away along the main road. The area was quite dark and deserted so we didn't really feel safe walking along the sidewalks at night. Good thing that the train station was quite near, around 10-15min walk.

Overall, as long as you don't mind walking to the restaurants & train stations, I think Lub D is a good place to stay in around the Silom area - it's clean, affordable, attractive and there are a lot of backpackers whom you can befriend. You can always hop into a cab or tuk-tuk anyway.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Lub D was great. I stayed in hostels and hotels all around Thailand, Laos and Vietnam and this was one of the best places I stayed in, even better than the overpriced but posh boutique hotel I spent a few nights in.

The staff are extremely friendly, and it's in a great location. It's about a five minute walk to Chong Nonsi sky train, 10-15 to Sala Dang (15 if you're walking at snail's pace). There's a great atmosphere in the hostel as well and the bar/lounge is fun to relax in.

By taxi it's about 130 baht (under $4) to somewhere like Kao San road, but I took the sky train most of the time, coupled with a few tuk tuk rides. Via Silom road (just a few minutes from the hostel) it's easy to get to Siam and the riverfront.

Rooms and showers are incredibly clean (and cleaned every day, even if you stay in a private room).

I really can't emphasise enough how much I enjoyed staying at Lub D. I stayed in about 10 places during my trip and, aside from a few 500 baht beachfront bungalows, it was my favorite accommodation.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank RFS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Loved this place. Very clean. Very nice people. Lots of personality. The beds could be more comfortable but it was my experience that most beds in Asia were harder than those in the U.S. The on site laundry and movie room were a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wornoutshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Lub d is a very cool hostel. Chic, clean, and modern. The location is good, close to the Skytrain and the subway. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is cheap and filling. Free internet. There's a bar and a cool social area near the reception. All in all, I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a hostel in Bangkok!=)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Stayed at Lub D for 3 nights in a double room. Can see why people rave about it. Boutique hostel + budget boutique hotel in one that delivers real value for money with a fun and relaxed vibe.

My 'flashpacker' double room on the top floor was compact but thoughfully fitted out with polished concrete floor and clean modern lines. No windows, but did have a big skylight that flooded the room with light in the morning. Good comfortable bed, cable tv, air-con, spotlessly clean en-suite shower & toilet, fresh clean linens & towels, fridge, in-room safe, desk and security swipe card lock on the door (Lub D has a good level of security in place that will be reassuring to many travellers used to something less in hostels and cheaper hotels...). Quiet at night for a relaxing sleep. What I saw of the hostel dorm room areas on the lower floors looked superclean as well.

Breakfast downstairs was filling each morning, and there is good free fast internet, and a bar serving up ice cold beers, juices and light snacks 'til late. The porch out the front is a perfect place to drop and sit under a fan with a cold drink after the heat of the streets. There is a laundry on-site or a short walk down the road you can have laundry done fast & inexpensively at a hairdresser.

Location wise the Decho location does not have a skytrain station on the doorstep, but the 10 minute walk is easy up Silom Rd. Tuk-tuks galore outside...just be cautious for the shop touts as others have warned. Pre-agree a price for destination - I had no problems. Plenty of passing taxis if you need one.

Whilst Lub D's clean modern polished concrete and steel lines and fresh open airy feel set it immediately apart from so many dark, cramped and not-very-clean alternatives in Bangkok hotels and hostels, even some more expensive places, it is the fun, helpful and very well-trained staff (not just at the front desk) who make Lub D a standout pick for travellers in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pengembara7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lub_d, Manager at Lub d Bangkok Silom, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Dear Sir,

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. And thanks for going into such detail in explaining your reasons. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again.

Best wishes,
Lub d Hosts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Although a bit expensive compared to other hostels/guesthouse, Lub*D was well worth the cost. Stayed at the shared 6 bed dorm and it was very quiet, spacious and organized. Great infrastructure in the dorms, bathroom and reception area made my stay quite a comfortable one.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank rzouain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siamaze Hostel
#4 of 1,417 in Bangkok
587 reviews
Boxpackers Hostel
#11 of 1,417 in Bangkok
505 reviews
Silom
Smile Society
Smile Society
#5 of 1,417 in Bangkok
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
Everyday Bangkok Hostel
#10 of 1,417 in Bangkok
308 reviews
Siam
Bed Station Hostel
Bed Station Hostel
#3 of 1,417 in Bangkok
1,160 reviews
Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
Lub d Bangkok Siam
#35 of 1,417 in Bangkok
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lub d Bangkok Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lub d Bangkok Silom

Address: 4 Decho Road | Suriyawong, Bangrak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,417 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £13 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lub d Bangkok Silom 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic, trend-setting ‘original Lub d’ is still a ‘Bangkok must’ for many who are aware of its deserved reputation. With a downtown location conveniently places in Silom, Bangkok business district, Lub d - Silom is surrounded by a plethora of shops, coffee shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Silom buzzes from early morning until late night. Travellers are connected via the nearby BTS skytrain and the pier for boat rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Zenrooms, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lub d Bangkok Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lub d Bangkok - Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing